Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sep 30, 2002 Nov 29, 2002
Jan 13, 2003 Mar 14, 2003
Apr 7, 2003 Jun 13, 2003
Exam sessions
Session From To
First term Dec 9, 2002 Dec 20, 2002
Second term Mar 24, 2003 Apr 4, 2003
Third term Jun 23, 2003 Jul 4, 2003
First extra term Jul 7, 2003 Jul 18, 2003
Second extra term Sep 1, 2003 Sep 12, 2003
Third extra term Sep 15, 2003 Sep 26, 2003
Degree sessions
Session From To
1 Mar 17, 2004 Mar 17, 2004
Holidays
Period From To
Easter Holidays Apr 18, 2003 Apr 27, 2003

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M O P Q R S

Bellin Gianluigi

gianluigi.bellin@univr.it +39 045 802 7969

Belussi Alberto

alberto.belussi@univr.it +39 045 802 7980

Bonacina Maria Paola

mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it +39 045 802 7046

Botturi Debora

debora.botturi@univr.it +39 045 802 7073

Burattini Emilio

emilio.burattini@univr.it

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Cristani Matteo

matteo.cristani@univr.it 045 802 7983

Della Libera Chiara

chiara.dellalibera@univr.it +39 0458027219

De Marchi Stefano

stefano.demarchi@univr.it 045 8027978

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Fontana Federico

federico.fontana@univr.it +39 045 802 7032

Fummi Franco

franco.fummi@univr.it 045 802 7994

Fusiello Andrea

nome.cognome[at]uniud.it

Giacobazzi Roberto

roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7995

Manca Vincenzo

vincenzo.manca@univr.it 045 802 7981

Mantese Francesca

francesca.mantese@univr.it +39 045 802 7978
Maurizio Martignano,  July 27, 2004

Martignano Maurizio

maurizio.martignano@esa.int +31715656749

Mastroeni Isabella

isabella.mastroeni@univr.it +39 045 802 7089

Monti Francesca

francesca.monti@univr.it 045 802 7910

Morato Laura Maria

laura.morato@univr.it 045 802 7904

Murino Vittorio

vittorio.murino@univr.it 045 802 7996

Oliboni Barbara

barbara.oliboni@univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Orlandi Giandomenico

giandomenico.orlandi at univr.it 045 802 7986

Pica Angelo

angelo.pica@univr.it

Piccinini Nicola

piccinini@sci.univr.it +39 349 7461319

Posenato Roberto

roberto.posenato@univr.it +39 045 802 7967

Pravadelli Graziano

graziano.pravadelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7081

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Rocchesso Davide

davide.rocchesso@univr.it
Foto,  March 21, 2006

Rossato Rosalba

rossato@sci.univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Roveda Alberto

alberto.roveda@univr.it Dip. Sc. Ec. 045 802 8096 C.I.D.E. 045 8028084
Giuseppe Scollo in Waddenzee 1987,  February 18, 2005

Scollo Giuseppe

giuseppe . scollo at univr . it 045 802 7940

Segala Roberto

roberto.segala@univr.it 045 802 7997

Spoto Nicola Fausto

fausto.spoto@univr.it +39 045 8027940

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Un insegnamento affine dell'area fisica a scelta dello studente
Due insegnamenti affini (area matematica) a scelta per complessivi 10 crediti
4 insegnamenti caratterizzanti a scelta per un totale di 20 crediti (la scelta di 4 insegn. al 4° anno è un suggerimento, il vincolo è: 7 insegn. tra N.6 e N.8)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
3 insegnamenti caratterizzanti a scelta per un totale di 15 crediti (la scelta di 3 insegn. al 5° anno è un suggerimento, il vincolo è: 7 insegn. tra N.6 e N.8)
Laboratorio di sistemi Intelligenti e Multimediali
10
E
-
Altre attività formative
6
F
-
Prova finale
24
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Un insegnamento affine dell'area fisica a scelta dello studente
Due insegnamenti affini (area matematica) a scelta per complessivi 10 crediti
4 insegnamenti caratterizzanti a scelta per un totale di 20 crediti (la scelta di 4 insegn. al 4° anno è un suggerimento, il vincolo è: 7 insegn. tra N.6 e N.8)

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
3 insegnamenti caratterizzanti a scelta per un totale di 15 crediti (la scelta di 3 insegn. al 5° anno è un suggerimento, il vincolo è: 7 insegn. tra N.6 e N.8)
Laboratorio di sistemi Intelligenti e Multimediali
10
E
-
Altre attività formative
6
F
-
Prova finale
24
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00076

Credits

5

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

ING-INF/05 - INFORMATION PROCESSING SYSTEMS

Period

First four month term for the second and later years dal Oct 3, 2005 al Dec 2, 2005.

Learning outcomes

L'insegnamento “Sistemi informativi geografici” ha lo scopo di fornire allo studente le conoscenze necessarie per la progettazione concettuale e logica di una base di dati contenente informazioni geografiche. In particolare, si illustrerà in dettaglio una metodologia per la progettazione concettuale di una base di dati geografica basata su un'estensione del modelle ER (e UML) e per la successiva realizzazione della stessa sui sistemi geo-relazionali. Verranno inoltre illustrati alcuni argomenti avanzati inerenti le basi di dati tradizionali quali: le dipendenze funzionali e la normalizzazione, la gestione dei guasti in un DBMS, il calcolo relazionale, le basi di dati attive e il data warehausing.

Program

* Linguaggi e modelli per basi di dati: Vincoli di integrità. Il concetto di dipendenza funzionale. Proprietà delle decomposizioni. Teoria della normalizzazione di uno schema relazionale. Calcolo relazionale sui domini e sulle tuple. Equivalenza tra algebra e calcolo. Cenni a Datalog.
* Sistemi transazionali: Rilevanza dei sistemi transazionali. Concetto di transazione. Proprietà di una transazione. Controllo della concorrenza. Il gestore della concorrenza e il deadlock. Affidabilità di un sistema transazionale: il gestore dell’affidabilità, il file di LOG, ripresa a caldo e a freddo.
* Evoluzione delle basi di dati: Basi di dati attive. Data Warehousing and Data Mining.
* Basi di dati geografiche: Introduzione ai sistemi informativi geografici, modelli dei dati per l'informazione geografica. Linguaggi di interrogazione per una base di dati geografica: la selezione basata sulle relazioni topologiche, il join spaziale e altri operatori. Metodi di accesso ai dati geografici: R-tree

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
P. ATZENI, S. CERI, S. PARABOSCHI, R. TORLONE Basi di dati- Modelli e linguaggi di interrogazione (Edizione 3) McGraw-Hill 2009 9788838666001
M. F. Worboys GIS: A Computing Perspective (Edizione 1) Taylor & Francis 1995 0748400656
P. Rigaux, M. Scholl and A. Voisard Spatial Databases with Application to GIS Morgan Kaufmann  

Examination Methods

L'esame di Sistemi informativi geografici è orale. Per l'ammissione all'esame orale lo studente deve superare una prova scritta di 2 ore circa che consiste di alcuni esercizi sulle tecniche di progettazione, interrogazione di una base di dati relazionale e geografica, di alcuni esercizi sulle tecniche di realizzazione dei moduli di un DBMS e di alcune domande sulla parte di teoria.

Alla prova orale lo studente può decidere di verbalizzare il voto della prova scritta o di essere riesaminato mediante colloquio. In tal caso il voto finale dell'esame sarà basato puramente sul colloquio senza tenere in alcun conto l'esito della prova scritta.

Bibliography

Teaching materials

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.