Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

For the year 2007/2008 No calendar yet available

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G M P Q T V

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Bicego Manuele

manuele.bicego@univr.it +39 045 802 7072

Bombieri Cristina

cristina.bombieri@univr.it 045-8027284

Bonacina Maria Paola

mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it +39 045 802 7046

Bos Leonard Peter

leonardpeter.bos@univr.it +39 045 802 7987

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Capaldi Stefano

stefano.capaldi@univr.it +39 045 802 7907

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Cristani Matteo

matteo.cristani@univr.it 045 802 7983

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Drioli Carlo

carlo.drioli@univr.it +39 045 802 7968

Farinelli Alessandro

alessandro.farinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7842

Franco Giuditta

giuditta.franco@univr.it +39 045 802 7045

Fusiello Andrea

nome.cognome[at]uniud.it

Giorgetti Alejandro

alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Manca Vincenzo

vincenzo.manca@univr.it 045 802 7981

Mariotto Gino

gino.mariotto@univr.it +39 045 8027031

Mastrogiacomo Elisa

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Piccinelli Fabio

fabio.piccinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7097

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Todorov Velitchko

velitchko.todorov@univr.it

Trabetti Elisabetta

elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it 045/8027209

Vigano' Luca

luca.vigano@univr.it

Villa Tiziano

tiziano.villa@univr.it +39 045 802 7034

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

Training offer to be defined

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S01910

Coordinatore

Davide Quaglia

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

ING-INF/05 - INFORMATION PROCESSING SYSTEMS

Period

2nd Semester dal Mar 1, 2010 al Jun 15, 2010.

Learning outcomes

This class aims at providing the fundamental knowledge for the design, implementation, development, management, and maintenance of hardware and software systems in biotechnological labs, both for research and production, and clinical labs. Starting from actual case studies, the main related topics are highlighted; then, each of them is addresses in detail from a theoretical and practical perspective. Finally, workshops with external speakers allow to meet companies and institutions which use this knowledge.

Program

Theory
------

32 hours on the following topics:

Communications among systems
- Networks
- Protocols
- Machine-to-machine
Methods and devices for data acquisition, storage, and visualization
- Acquisition, calibration and errors
- Storage formats
- Storage devices
- Data visualization
Process management
- Concurrent and sequential processes
- Synchronization
- Deadlock
- Concurrent models: pipeline and farm
- Temporal constraints
- Queue networks
- Job scheduling
High performance computing
- Parallel architectures
- Digital Signal Processors (DSP)
- Cluster
- Programming techniques
Management of laboratory hardware
- Maintenance
- Supply chain management: inputs and outputs
- Overview of job risk management
Tracking methods
- Application scenarios
- Methods: bar codes, RFID, Active wireless tags
- EPCGlobal
- Architecture of a tracking system

Laboratory
----------

- Tools for network analysis
- Communications through Java
- Connection of services through a middleware layer.
- Visualization tools
- Example of biotech process automation (E-Wine Project)
- Example of biotech lab automation
- Machine virtualization and Linux setup.

Examination Methods

The examination consists of:

1) written test with questions about the theory and practice part of the class
2) project
- Bibliographic research (max 2 points, max 2 people)
- Implementation (max 3 points, max 3 people)

Updated list of titles on the teacher's web page

For the project, synergies are possibles with other classes, stage and thesis.

The final result (over 30 points) is computed by summing the result of both the written test and the project.

Teaching materials

Type D and Type F activities

Training offer to be defined

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti