Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

For the year 2008/2009 No calendar yet available

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G M P Q T V

Assfalg Michael

symbol email michael.assfalg@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7949

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Bombieri Cristina

symbol email cristina.bombieri@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8027284

Bonacina Maria Paola

symbol email mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7046

Bos Leonard Peter

symbol email leonardpeter.bos@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7987

Buffelli Mario Rosario

symbol email mario.buffelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027268

Capaldi Stefano

symbol email stefano.capaldi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7907

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7985

Cristani Matteo

symbol email matteo.cristani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7983

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Drioli Carlo

symbol email carlo.drioli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7968

Farinelli Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.farinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7842

Franco Giuditta

symbol email giuditta.franco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Fusiello Andrea

symbol email nome.cognome[at]uniud.it

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Manca Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.manca@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7981

Mariotto Gino

symbol email gino.mariotto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027031

Mastrogiacomo Elisa

Menegaz Gloria

symbol email gloria.menegaz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7024

Piccinelli Fabio

symbol email fabio.piccinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7097

Quaglia Davide

symbol email davide.quaglia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7811

Todorov Velitchko

symbol email velitchko.todorov@univr.it

Trabetti Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8027209

Vigano' Luca

symbol email luca.vigano@univr.it

Villa Tiziano

symbol email tiziano.villa@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7034

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

Training offer to be defined

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02709

Credits

12

Coordinatore

Maria Paola Bonacina

Language

Italian

Also offered in courses:

The teaching is organized as follows:

ALGORITMI PER BIOINFORMATICA

Credits

6

Period

1st Semester

Academic staff

Maria Paola Bonacina

LABORATORIO DI PROGRAMMAZIONE II

Credits

6

Period

2nd Semester

Academic staff

Alessandro Farinelli

Learning outcomes

Module: ALGORITMI PER BIOINFORMATICA
-------
Objective of the course is to teach the basics in design and analysis of algorithms with emphasis on problems of interests for bioinformatics.


Module: LABORATORIO DI PROGRAMMAZIONE II
-------
Objective of the course is to provide the basic knowledge to develop algorithms and use applications relevant to bioinformatics.

Program

Module: ALGORITMI PER BIOINFORMATICA
-------
Algorithms and complexity: big-O notation. Iterative vs. recursive algorithms. Sorting algorithms. Data structures. Exhaustive search. Greedy algorithms. Dynamic programming algorithms. Divide-and-conquer algorithms. Graph algorithms.
Introduction to NP-completeness.


Module: LABORATORIO DI PROGRAMMAZIONE II
-------
Java implementation of dynamic data structures and relevant algorithms. Recursion. Interfaces and packages. The student will acquire the necessary knowledge through assisted software development and realizing specific projects. Basic and advanced functionalities of spreadsheets targeted towards data visualization and statistical analysis. Basic functionalities for numerical data processing and statistics (MATLAB, R). Basic aspects to bioinformatic scripting languages.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Neil C. Jones, Pavel A. Pevzner An introduction to bioinformatics algorithms (Edizione 1) MIT Press 2004 0-262-10106-8 Testo adottato
Thomas H. Cormen, Charles E. Leiserson, Ronald L. Rivest, Clifford Stein Introduction to Algorithms (Edizione 3) MIT Press 2009 978-0-262-53305-8 Testo complementare
T. Cormen, C. Leiserson, R. Rivest, C. Stein Introduzione agli Algoritmi e Strutture Dati (Edizione 2) McGraw-Hill 2005 88-386-6251-7 Traduzione italiana della II edizione del testo complementare

Examination Methods

Module: ALGORITMI PER BIOINFORMATICA
-------
The grade in Algorithms for Bioinformatics (AB) is worth 50% of the grade in the Algorithms class.

AB via multiple tests (only for the instance of the exam at the end of the course): AB = 50% C1 + 50% C2, where C1 and C2 are written tests in class.

AB via single test (for all instances of the exam): AB = 100% E, where E is a written test, whose difficulty equals that of C1+C2.

If a student tries both C1+C2 and E, the vote determined by C1+C2 is cancelled as soon as E is handed in for grading. There is no choosing of grades.


Module: LABORATORIO DI PROGRAMMAZIONE II
-------
The grade in Programming Lab II (PB) is worth 50% of the grade in the Algorithms class.

PB via Partial tests mode: it applies only to the exam sessions right at the end of the class. The exam consists of two partial tests. The final grade is given by 50% partial test 1 + 50% partial test 2.

PB via Single-test mode: the exam consists of a single test, whose difficulty is equivalent to that of the two partial tests, and whose grade determines alone the final grade for PB. This mode applies to all sessions.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

Training offer to be defined

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2022/2023, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.


Career management


Student login and resources