Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
1st Semester Oct 1, 2009 Jan 31, 2010
2nd Semester Mar 1, 2010 Jun 15, 2010
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione straordinaria Feb 1, 2010 Feb 28, 2010
Sessione estiva Jun 16, 2010 Jul 31, 2010
Sessione autunnale Sep 1, 2010 Sep 30, 2010
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale Oct 1, 2009 Oct 1, 2009
Sessione straordinaria Dec 3, 2009 Dec 3, 2009
Sessione invernale Mar 24, 2010 Mar 24, 2010
Sessione estiva Jul 19, 2010 Jul 19, 2010
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2009 Nov 1, 2009
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2009 Dec 8, 2009
Vacanze Natalizie Dec 21, 2009 Jan 6, 2010
Vacanze Pasquali Apr 2, 2010 Apr 6, 2010
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2010 Apr 25, 2010
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2010 May 1, 2010
Festa del Santo Patrono di Verona S. Zeno May 21, 2010 May 21, 2010
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2010 Jun 2, 2010
Vacanze Estive Aug 9, 2010 Aug 15, 2010

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M Q T U V Z

Bettinelli Marco Giovanni

symbol email marco.bettinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7902

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Bombieri Cristina

symbol email cristina.bombieri@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8027284

Bonacina Maria Paola

symbol email mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7046

Capaldi Stefano

symbol email stefano.capaldi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7907

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7985

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Drago Nicola

symbol email nicola.drago@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7081

Farinelli Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.farinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7842

Fiorini Paolo

symbol email paolo.fiorini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7963

Franco Giuditta

symbol email giuditta.franco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Fusiello Andrea

symbol email nome.cognome[at]uniud.it

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Guerriero Massimo

symbol email massimo.guerriero@univr.it

Manca Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.manca@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7981

Mariotto Gino

symbol email gino.mariotto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027031

Menegaz Gloria

symbol email gloria.menegaz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7024

Molinari Henriette

symbol email henriette.molinari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7901; Lab: 045 802 7906

Morato Laura Maria

symbol email laura.morato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7904

Quaglia Davide

symbol email davide.quaglia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7811

Tapparo Francesco

Todorov Velitchko

symbol email velitchko.todorov@univr.it

Trabetti Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8027209

Ulas Mehmet Aydin

symbol email mehmetaydin.ulas@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7049

Vigano' Luca

symbol email luca.vigano@univr.it

Villa Tiziano

symbol email tiziano.villa@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7034

Zorzan Simone

symbol email simone.zorzan@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027644

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

activated in the A.Y. 2010/2011
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
12
C
BIO/10
6
C
BIO/18

2° Year activated in the A.Y. 2010/2011

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
12
C
BIO/10
6
C
BIO/18

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02709

Credits

12

Coordinatore

Maria Paola Bonacina

Language

Italian

The teaching is organized as follows:

ALGORITMI PER BIOINFORMATICA

Credits

6

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

Maria Paola Bonacina

LABORATORIO DI PROGRAMMAZIONE II

Credits

6

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

Alessandro Farinelli

Learning outcomes

Module: LABORATORIO DI PROGRAMMAZIONE II
-------
Objective of the course is to provide the basic knowledge to develop algorithms and use applications relevant to bioinformatics.


Module: ALGORITMI PER BIOINFORMATICA
-------
Objective of the course is to teach the basics in design and analysis of algorithms with emphasis on problems of interests for bioinformatics.

Program

Module: LABORATORIO DI PROGRAMMAZIONE II
-------
Java implementation of dynamic data structures and relevant algorithms. Recursion. Interfaces and packages. The student will acquire the necessary knowledge through assisted software development and realizing specific projects. Basic and advanced functionalities of spreadsheets targeted towards data visualization and statistical analysis. Basic functionalities for numerical data processing and statistics (MATLAB, R). Basic aspects to bioinformatic scripting languages.


Module: ALGORITMI PER BIOINFORMATICA
-------
Algorithms and complexity: big-O notation. Iterative vs. recursive algorithms. Sorting algorithms. Data structures. Exhaustive search. Greedy algorithms. Dynamic programming algorithms. Divide-and-conquer algorithms. Graph algorithms.
Introduction to NP-completeness.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Neil C. Jones, Pavel A. Pevzner An introduction to bioinformatics algorithms (Edizione 1) MIT Press 2004 0-262-10106-8
Thomas H. Cormen, Charles E. Leiserson, Ronald L. Rivest, Clifford Stein Introduction to Algorithms (Edizione 3) MIT Press 2009 978-0-262-53305-8

Examination Methods

Module: LABORATORIO DI PROGRAMMAZIONE II
-------
The grade in Programming Lab II (PB) is worth 50% of the grade in the Algorithms class.

PB via Partial tests mode: it applies only to the exam sessions of February 2011. The exam consists of two partial tests P and L, where P is a programming project and L is a programming test that takes place in the Laboratory. The final grade is given by 50% P + 50% L.

PB via Single-test mode: the exam consists of a single programming test that takes place in the laboratory, whose difficulty is equivalent to that of the two partial tests, and whose grade determines alone the final grade for PB. This mode applies to all sessions.


Module: ALGORITMI PER BIOINFORMATICA
-------
The grade in Algorithms for Bioinformatics (AB) is worth 50% of the grade in the Algorithms class.

AB via multiple tests (only for the exams at the end of the course (February)): AB = 35% C1 + 40% C2 + 25% CC, where C1 and C2 are written tests in class and CC are the homeworks.

AB via single test: AB = 100% E, where E is a written test, whose difficulty equals that of C1 + C2 + CC.

If a student hands in E, the vote determined by C1 + C2 is cancelled. There is no choosing of grades.

In order to withdraw it is sufficient not to hand-in the test.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2022/2023, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.


Career management


Student login and resources