Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
1st Semester Oct 1, 2009 Jan 31, 2010
2nd Semester Mar 1, 2010 Jun 15, 2010
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione straordinaria Feb 1, 2010 Feb 28, 2010
Sessione estiva Jun 16, 2010 Jul 31, 2010
Sessione autunnale Sep 1, 2010 Sep 30, 2010
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale Oct 1, 2009 Oct 1, 2009
Sessione straordinaria Dec 3, 2009 Dec 3, 2009
Sessione invernale Mar 24, 2010 Mar 24, 2010
Sessione estiva Jul 19, 2010 Jul 19, 2010
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2009 Nov 1, 2009
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2009 Dec 8, 2009
Vacanze Natalizie Dec 21, 2009 Jan 6, 2010
Vacanze Pasquali Apr 2, 2010 Apr 6, 2010
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2010 Apr 25, 2010
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2010 May 1, 2010
Festa del Santo Patrono di Verona S. Zeno May 21, 2010 May 21, 2010
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2010 Jun 2, 2010
Vacanze Estive Aug 9, 2010 Aug 15, 2010

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D E F G M P Q T V Z

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Bicego Manuele

manuele.bicego@univr.it +39 045 802 7072

Bonacina Maria Paola

mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it +39 045 802 7046

Bresolin Davide

davide.bresolin@univr.it +39 045 802 7908

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Capaldi Stefano

stefano.capaldi@univr.it +39 045 802 7907

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Cristani Marco

marco.cristani@univr.it +39 045 802 7841

Daffara Claudia

claudia.daffara@univr.it +39 045 802 7942

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dell'Orco Daniele

daniele.dellorco@univr.it +39 045 802 7637

Di Persio Luca

luca.dipersio@univr.it +39 045 802 7968

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Drioli Carlo

carlo.drioli@univr.it +39 045 802 7968

Eleuteri Michela

Farinelli Alessandro

alessandro.farinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7842

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Franco Giuditta

giuditta.franco@univr.it +39 045 802 7045

Giachetti Andrea

andrea.giachetti@univr.it +39 045 8027998

Giorgetti Alejandro

alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Guerriero Massimo

massimo.guerriero@univr.it

Manca Vincenzo

vincenzo.manca@univr.it 045 802 7981

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Piccinelli Fabio

fabio.piccinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7097

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Trabetti Elisabetta

elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it 045/8027209

Vigano' Luca

luca.vigano@univr.it

Villa Tiziano

tiziano.villa@univr.it +39 045 802 7034

Zorzan Simone

simone.zorzan@univr.it +39 0458027644

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S01908

Coordinatore

Giuditta Franco

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

INF/01 - INFORMATICS

Period

I semestre dal Oct 3, 2011 al Jan 31, 2012.

Learning outcomes

The course is designed to introduce several methodologies to model phenomena occurring in nature, by means of discrete mathematical tools and computational systems. The goal is to develop the ability of the student to master different approaches of discrete biological modeling, by means of the presentation of the state of the art and of the most recent problematics. Basic concepts (of mathematics, computer science, biology) are recalled, to better understand both traditional mathematical models and computational models of cellular and molecular processes, proposed along with a few case studies.

Program

Part I (traditional mathematical models)
Introduction to different classes of models, and to discrete models
Discrete mathematics fundamentals - induction and recurrence
Fibonacci numbers and golden section in nature
Iterative biological models
Malthusian biological population growth models
Dynamical systems, and logistic map
Lotka-Volterra model and cobweb model of supply/demand interaction
Discrete SIR model of epidemics

Part II (non-conventional bioinformatics models)
Formal languages and biological grammars
Computational models of bio-molecular processes, NP-completeness
Informational structure of DNA molecule, operations, experimental techniques, and bio-algorithms
XPCR for string recombination and concatenation
DNA algorithms solving SAT
Membrane models, and minimal cell
Discrete models of metabolism
Procedures based on bacterial growth, and related experimental techniques

Examination Methods

Oral exam, or a couple of written midterm exams

Teaching materials

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti