Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
First semester Sep 26, 2011 Dec 22, 2011
Second semester Feb 27, 2012 May 25, 2012
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale Jan 9, 2012 Feb 24, 2012
Sessione saperi minimi logico-matematici (aprile) Apr 1, 2012 Apr 30, 2012
Sessione estiva May 28, 2012 Jul 6, 2012
Sessione autunnale Aug 27, 2012 Sep 21, 2012
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale Nov 24, 2011 Nov 25, 2012
Sessione invernale Apr 11, 2012 Apr 13, 2012
Sessione estiva Jul 26, 2012 Dec 27, 2012
Holidays
Period From To
Liberazione Apr 25, 2011 Apr 25, 2011
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2011 Nov 1, 2011
Immacolata Dec 8, 2011 Dec 8, 2011
Vacanze natalizie Dec 23, 2011 Jan 6, 2012
Vacanze Pasquali Apr 5, 2012 Apr 10, 2012
Festa dei Lavoratori May 1, 2012 May 1, 2012
Ricorrenza del Santo Patrono May 21, 2012 May 21, 2012
Vacanze estive Aug 8, 2012 Aug 15, 2012

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M P R S

Bombieri Nicola

symbol email nicola.bombieri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7094

Cipriani Giam Pietro

symbol email giampietro.cipriani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8271

Corbella Silvano

symbol email silvano.corbella@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8217

Duret Paolo

symbol email paolo.duret@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028873

Faccincani Lorenzo

symbol email lorenzo.faccincani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8610

Ferrari Maria Luisa

symbol email marialuisa.ferrari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8532

Fioroni Tamara

symbol email tamara.fioroni@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028489

Florio Cristina

symbol email cristina.florio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8296

Giaretta Elena

symbol email elena.giaretta@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8051

Guerrini Andrea

symbol email andrea.guerrini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8028690

Guiglia Giovanni

symbol email giovanni.guiglia@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8225

Lanzoni Lisa

symbol email lisa.lanzoni@univr.it; lisalanzoni@virgilio.it symbol phone-number 045 8028225

Lubian Diego

symbol email diego.lubian@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8419

Magazzini Laura

symbol email laura.magazzini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028525

Mariutti Gianpaolo

symbol email gianpaolo.mariutti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8241

Menon Martina

symbol email martina.menon@univr.it

Minozzo Marco

symbol email marco.minozzo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8234

Mion Giorgio

symbol email giorgio.mion@univr.it symbol phone-number 045.802 8172

Paglietti Paola

symbol email paola.paglietti@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028734

Pasquariello Federica

symbol email federica.pasquariello@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8233

Pellegrini Letizia

symbol email letizia.pellegrini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8345

Perali Federico

symbol email federico.perali@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8486

Pilati Andrea

symbol email andrea.pilati@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8444 (VR) - 0444 393938 (VI)

Pizzamiglio Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.pizzamiglio@univr.it

Polin Veronica

symbol email veronica.polin@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8267

Roveda Alberto

symbol email alberto.roveda@univr.it symbol phone-number Dip. Sc. Ec. 045 802 8096 C.I.D.E. 045 8028084

Rutigliano Michele

symbol email michele.rutigliano@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028610

Salomoni Alessandra

symbol email alessandra.salomoni@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8443

Sartor Nicola

symbol email nicola.sartor@univr.it

Sartori Fabio

symbol email fabio.sartori@univr.it

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
A
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-S/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
IUS/07
9
C
SECS-P/12
9
B
SECS-P/02
Prova finale
3
E
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
A
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-S/01
9
B
SECS-P/03

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
IUS/07
9
C
SECS-P/12
9
B
SECS-P/02
Prova finale
3
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00121

Credits

9

Coordinatore

Marco Minozzo

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

SECS-S/01 - STATISTICS

The teaching is organized as follows:

lezione

Credits

7

Period

primo semestre

Academic staff

Marco Minozzo

esercitazione

Credits

2

Period

primo semestre

Academic staff

Giovanna Caramia

Learning outcomes

The course provides to students in economic and business sciences an introduction to probability and to descriptive and inferential statistics.
Prerequisite to the course is the mastering of a few basic mathematical concepts such as limit, derivative and integration at the level of an undergraduate first year introductory course in calculus.

Program

Descriptive Statistics: data collection and classification; data types; frequency distributions; histograms and charts; measures of central tendency; arithmetic mean, geometric mean and harmonic mean; median; quartiles and percentiles; fixed and varying base indices; Laspayres and Paasche indices; variability and measures of dispersion; variance and standard deviation; coefficient of variation; moments; indices of skewness and kurtosis; multivariate distributions; scatterplots; covariance; variance of the sum of more variables; method of least squares; least-squares regression line; Pearson’s coefficient of linear correlation r; Cauchy-Schwarz inequality; R-square coefficiente; deviance residual and deviance explained; multivariate frequency distributions; conditional distributions; chi-squared index of dependence; index of association C; Simpson’s paradox.

Probability: events, probability spaces and event trees; combinatorics; conditional probability; independence; Bayes theorem; discrete and continuous random variables; distribution function; expectation and variance; Markov and Tchebycheff inequalities; discrete uniform distribution; Bernoulli distribution; binomial distribution; Poisson distribution; geometric distribution; continuous uniform distribution; normal distribution; exponential distribution; multivariate discrete random variables; joint probability distribution; marginal and conditional probability distributions; independence; covariance; correlation coefficient; linear combinations of random variables; average of random variables; weak law of large numbers; Bernoulli’s law of large numbers for relative frequencies; central limit theorem.

Inferential Statistics: sample statistics and sampling distributions; chi-square distribution; Student-t distribution; Snedecors-F distribution; point estimates and estimators; unbiasedness; efficiency; consistency; estimate of the mean, of a proportion and of a variance; confidence intervals for a mean, for a proportion (large samples) and for a variance; hypothesis testing; one and two tails tests for a mean, for a proportion (large samples) and for a variance; hypothesis testing for differences in two means, two proportions (large samples) and two variances.

The course consists of a series of lectures (56 hours) and of twelve exercise classes (24 hours).
All classes are essential to a proper understanding of the topics of the course.
The working language is Italian.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
lezione M. R. Middleton Analisi statistica con Excel Apogeo, Milano 2004
lezione F. P. Borazzo, P. Perchinunno Analisi statistiche con Excel Pearson, Education 2007
lezione S. Bernstein, R. Bernstein Calcolo delle Probabilita', Collana Schaum's, numero 110. McGraw-Hill, Milano 2003
lezione E. Battistini Probabilità e statistica: un approccio interattivo con Excel McGraw-Hill, Milano 2004
lezione D. Piccolo Statistica Il Mulino 2000 8815075968
lezione S. Bernstein, R. Bernstein Statistica descrittiva, Collana Schaum's, numero 109 McGraw-Hill, Milano 2003
lezione S. Bernstein, R. Bernstein Statistica inferenziale, Collana Schaum's, numero 111. McGraw-Hill, Milano 2003
lezione D. Piccolo Statistica per le decisioni Il Mulino 2004 8815097708
lezione G. Cicchitelli Statistica: principi e metodi (Edizione 2) Pearson Italia, Milano 2012 Libro di testo

Examination Methods

The course is considered completed if the candidate has passed the two parts of the written test.
Students must receive at least 15 out of 30 in both parts of the written test.

Teaching materials

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Tesi di laurea - Il credit scoring Statistics - Foundational and philosophical topics
La performance delle imprese che adottano politiche di Corporate Social responsibility Various topics
La previsione della qualita' dei vini: Il caso dell'Amarone Various topics
Proposte di tesi Various topics
Tesi in Macroeconomia Various topics
tesi triennali Various topics

Internships


Student mentoring


Linguistic training CLA


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti