Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
primo semestre Sep 15, 2014 Jan 9, 2015
secondo semestre Feb 19, 2015 May 29, 2015
Exam sessions
Session From To
prove intermedie (primo semestre) Nov 3, 2014 Nov 7, 2014
sessione invernale Jan 12, 2015 Feb 18, 2015
prove intermedie (secondo semestre) Apr 13, 2015 Apr 17, 2015
sessione estiva Jun 4, 2015 Jul 11, 2015
sessione autunnale Aug 24, 2015 Sep 9, 2015
Degree sessions
Session From To
sessione autunnale Dec 12, 2014 Dec 19, 2014
sessione invernale Apr 8, 2015 Apr 10, 2015
sessione estiva Sep 10, 2015 Sep 11, 2015
Holidays
Period From To
festività natalizie Dec 22, 2014 Jan 5, 2015
festività pasquali Apr 3, 2015 Apr 7, 2015
vacanze estive Aug 10, 2015 Aug 22, 2015

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M P R S

Cipriani Giam Pietro

symbol email giampietro.cipriani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8271

Corbella Silvano

symbol email silvano.corbella@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8217

Demo Edoardo

symbol email edoardo.demo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

Faccincani Lorenzo

symbol email lorenzo.faccincani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8610

Ferrari Maria Luisa

symbol email marialuisa.ferrari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8532

Fioroni Tamara

symbol email tamara.fioroni@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028489

Giaretta Elena

symbol email elena.giaretta@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8051

Guerrini Andrea

symbol email andrea.guerrini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8028690

Guiglia Giovanni

symbol email giovanni.guiglia@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8225

Lanzoni Lisa

symbol email lisa.lanzoni@univr.it; lisalanzoni@virgilio.it symbol phone-number 045 8028225

Lubian Diego

symbol email diego.lubian@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8419

Malachini Luigi

symbol email luigi.malachini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8054933

Mariutti Gianpaolo

symbol email gianpaolo.mariutti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8241

Menon Martina

symbol email martina.menon@univr.it

Minozzo Marco

symbol email marco.minozzo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8234

Mion Giorgio

symbol email giorgio.mion@univr.it symbol phone-number 045.802 8172

Mussini Mauro

symbol email mauro.mussini@univr.it

Pasquariello Federica

symbol email federica.pasquariello@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8233

Perali Federico

symbol email federico.perali@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8486

Pertile Paolo

symbol email paolo.pertile@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8438

Pilati Andrea

symbol email andrea.pilati@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8444 (VR) - 0444 393938 (VI)

Pizzamiglio Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.pizzamiglio@univr.it

Rossato Chiara

symbol email chiara.rossato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8620

Roveda Alberto

symbol email alberto.roveda@univr.it symbol phone-number Dip. Sc. Ec. 045 802 8096 C.I.D.E. 045 8028084

Rutigliano Michele

symbol email michele.rutigliano@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028610

Salomoni Alessandra

symbol email alessandra.salomoni@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8443

Sartori Fabio

symbol email fabio.sartori@univr.it

Sommacal Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.sommacal@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8716

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
B
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
9
A
SECS-S/06
activated in the A.Y. 2015/2016
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01
activated in the A.Y. 2016/2017
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
IUS/07
9
B
SECS-P/02
9
C
SECS-P/12
Prova finale
3
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
B
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
9
A
SECS-S/06

2° Year activated in the A.Y. 2015/2016

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01

3° Year activated in the A.Y. 2016/2017

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
IUS/07
9
B
SECS-P/02
9
C
SECS-P/12
Prova finale
3
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00311

Credits

9

Coordinatore

Paolo Pertile

Language

Italian

Location

VERONA

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

SECS-P/03 - PUBLIC ECONOMICS

The teaching is organized as follows:

lezione

Credits

8

Period

secondo semestre triennali

esercitazione [A-K]

Credits

1

Period

secondo semestre triennali

Academic staff

Alessandro Sommacal

esercitazione [L-Z]

Credits

1

Period

secondo semestre triennali

Academic staff

Alessandro Sommacal

Learning outcomes

The course covers the main topics related to the motivation and the organization of the public sector intervention in modern economies. It mainly consists of three parts: 1. Motivation and organization of public sector intervention; 2. Main expenditure programmes; 3. Main taxation programmes: theory and implementation in modern economies.

Program

Part I:
-Market failures.
-Decentralization: theory and the implementation in Italy

Part II:
-Social security: pensions, health care, poverty and unemployment insurance
-Pension systems: the rationale for public intervention; characteristics of different pensions systems; pension reforms in Italy since the 1990s.

Part III:
-Alternative financing tools: taxes and debt;
-General principles of taxation: equity and efficiency considerations;
-What characterizes taxes: tax bases and tax rates;
-The economic impact of taxation
-The main characteristics of the Italian tax system: personal income tax, corporate taxation, taxation of returns on capital, indirect taxes, local taxes.
-Taxation in open economies.


Main textbook:
- Harvey S. Rosen e Ted Gayer (2010): Scienza delle Finanze. McGraw-Hill (quarta edizione).


Further reading (suggested for selected topics):
Paolo Bosi (2012): Corso di scienza delle finanze (6a edizione). Il Mulino.

Additional resources may be made available on the e-learning site during the course.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
lezione Paolo Bosi (a cura di) Corso di Scienza delle Finanze (Edizione 7) il Mulino 2015 978-88-15-25907-3 Testo integrativo (parti selezionate indicate durante il corso)
lezione H.S. Rosen e T. Gayer Scienza delle Finanze (Edizione 5) McGraw-Hill 2018 9788838694707

Examination Methods

The exam is split into two parts:
- a preliminary multiple choice test (weight: 1/3)
- a written exam with exercises and theoretical questions (weight: 2/3)
Admission to the second part is conditioned on the achievement of a minimum score in the first part (14/30).

The exam may (optionally) be split into two parts: the first will be scheduled during the course, with questions of topics covered until that point; the second, scheduled for the same date date as the whole entire exam, with questions on the remaining part of the programme. The weight of the two parts in determining the final grade is the same.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Tesi di laurea - Il credit scoring Statistics - Foundational and philosophical topics
La performance delle imprese che adottano politiche di Corporate Social responsibility Various topics
La previsione della qualita' dei vini: Il caso dell'Amarone Various topics
Proposte di tesi Various topics
Tesi in Macroeconomia Various topics
tesi triennali Various topics

Internships


Student mentoring


Linguistic training CLA


Gestione carriere


Student login and resources