Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2016/2017

Academic calendar

Il calendario accademico riporta le scadenze, gli adempimenti e i periodi rilevanti per la componente studentesca, personale docente e personale dell'Università. Sono inoltre indicate le festività e le chiusure ufficiali dell'Ateneo.
L’anno accademico inizia il 1° ottobre e termina il 30 settembre dell'anno successivo.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates. For further information, please get in touch with Operational unit: Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 3, 2016 Jan 31, 2017
II sem. Mar 1, 2017 Jun 9, 2017
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale Appelli d'esame Feb 1, 2017 Feb 28, 2017
Sessione estiva Appelli d'esame Jun 12, 2017 Jul 31, 2017
Sessione autunnale Appelli d'esame Sep 1, 2017 Sep 29, 2017
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Appelli di Laurea Jul 19, 2017 Jul 19, 2017
Sessione autunnale Appelli di laurea Oct 18, 2017 Oct 18, 2017
Sessione invernale Appelli di laurea Mar 21, 2018 Mar 21, 2018
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2016 Nov 1, 2016
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2016 Dec 8, 2016
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2016 Jan 8, 2017
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 14, 2017 Apr 18, 2017
Anniversario della Liberazione Apr 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2017 May 1, 2017
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2017 Jun 2, 2017
Vacanze estive Aug 8, 2017 Aug 20, 2017

Exam calendar

The exam roll calls are centrally administered by the operational unit  Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit
Exam Session Calendar and Roll call enrolment sistema ESSE3 .If you forget your password to the online services, please contact the technical office in your Faculty.

Exam calendar

Per dubbi o domande Read the answers to the more serious and frequent questions - F.A.Q. Examination enrolment

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M P S

Accordini Simone

simone.accordini@univr.it +39 045 8027657

Belussi Alberto

alberto.belussi@univr.it +39 045 802 7980

Bicego Manuele

manuele.bicego@univr.it +39 045 802 7072

Bombieri Cristina

cristina.bombieri@univr.it 045-8027209

Bombieri Nicola

nicola.bombieri@univr.it +39 045 802 7094

Cicalese Ferdinando

ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it +39 045 802 7969

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Constantin Gabriela

gabriela.constantin@univr.it 045-8027102

Cristani Marco

marco.cristani@univr.it +39 045 802 7841

Daducci Alessandro

alessandro.daducci@univr.it +39 045 8027025

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Franco Giuditta

giuditta.franco@univr.it +39 045 802 7045

Giugno Rosalba

rosalba.giugno@univr.it 0458027066

Laudanna Carlo

carlo.laudanna@univr.it 045-8027689

Liptak Zsuzsanna

zsuzsanna.liptak@univr.it +39 045 802 7032

Malerba Giovanni

giovanni.malerba@univr.it 045/8027685

Marcon Alessandro

alessandro.marcon@univr.it +39 045 802 7668

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Perduca Massimiliano

massimiliano.perduca@univr.it +39 045 802 7984

Sala Pietro

pietro.sala@univr.it 0458027850

Salvagno Gian Luca

gianluca.salvagno@univr.it 045 8124308-0456449264

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S004554

Coordinatore

Alessandro Daducci

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

INF/01 - INFORMATICS

Language of instruction

English en

Period

II sem. dal Mar 1, 2017 al Jun 9, 2017.

Learning outcomes

The course deals with the major sources of medical imaging data (X-rays, CT, MRI, PET and US) and provides the students with a flavour of the current methods used to process medical images, enhance their quality and extract useful information from them. A particular focus will be given to diffusion MRI, as it represents a very rich imaging modality that will allow us to investigate several analysis techniques starting from the same data, at increasing levels of complexity.

These concepts are also illustrated in hands-on sessions where these techniques are applied to practical situations and problems that often arise when analyzing real medical images. The laboratory activities will be based on the Python language.

Program

(1) Basic concepts
- Image properties: pixel vs voxel, spatial resolution, orientation, data type etc
- File formats: DICOM, NIFTI, MINC etc
- Signal-to-noise (SNR) vs Contrast-to-noise (CNR) ratio
- Noise, blurring and modality-specific artifacts
- Signal representation: frequency domain, spherical harmonics, sparse bases

(2) Overview of major medical imaging modalities
- Radiography: X-rays projection, fluoroscopy and computed tomography (CT)
- Nuclear medicine: SPECT and PET
- Ultrasound imaging (US)
- Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)

(3) Basic image processing
- Recall of elementary tools: filtering, edge detection and image enhancement
- Registration: features, similarity measures, transformations (linear vs non-linear)

(4) Connectivity analysis with diffusion MRI
- Principles and main applications
- Local reconstruction: DTI, DSI, CSD etc
- Tissue microstructure estimation: axon diameter mapping, AxCaliber, ActiveAx, CHARMED, NODDI etc
- Tractography: local vs global methods, probabilistic, recent advances

(5) Laboratory
- Introduction to Python
- Hands-on activities on the topics covered throughout the course

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Ravishankar Chityala Image processing and acquisition using Python (Edizione 1) Chapman and Hall/CRC 2014 9781466583757
Andrew Webb Introduction to biomedical imaging Wiley-IEEE Press 2003 978-0-471-23766-2
Jerrold T. Bushberg The Essential Physics of Medical Imaging (Edizione 3) Lippincott Williams & Wilkins 2011 0781780578

Examination Methods

The grade will be based on a discussion about the final project assigned during the course. The final project is a very important part of the course, as it allows students to synthesize the concepts learned throughout the course, understand the motivation behind each modality, experiment typical problems that arise in daily-life medical images and apply the appropriate techniques to improve image quality and extract useful information.

Teaching materials

Tipologia di Attività formativa D e F

Academic year

Course not yet included

Career prospects


Avvisi degli insegnamenti e del corso di studio

Per la comunità studentesca

Se sei già iscritta/o a un corso di studio, puoi consultare tutti gli avvisi relativi al tuo corso di studi nella tua area riservata MyUnivr.
In questo portale potrai visualizzare informazioni, risorse e servizi utili che riguardano la tua carriera universitaria (libretto online, gestione della carriera Esse3, corsi e-learning, email istituzionale, modulistica di segreteria, procedure amministrative, ecc.).
Entra in MyUnivr con le tue credenziali GIA.

University Language Centre - CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

Nessuna proposta di tesi o stage attualmente disponibile


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.