Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
primo semestre Sep 14, 2015 Jan 8, 2016
secondo semestre triennali Feb 15, 2016 Jun 1, 2016
Exam sessions
Session From To
appelli sessione invernale Jan 11, 2016 Feb 13, 2016
prove intermedie secondo semestre Apr 11, 2016 Apr 15, 2016
appelli sessione estiva Jun 6, 2016 Jul 9, 2016
Appelli sessione autunnale Aug 29, 2016 Sep 16, 2016
prove intermedie primo semestre Nov 2, 2016 Nov 6, 2016
Degree sessions
Session From To
sessione autunnale Dec 11, 2015 Dec 18, 2015
sessione invernale Apr 6, 2016 Apr 8, 2016
sessione estiva Sep 13, 2016 Sep 14, 2016
Holidays
Period From To
vacanze natalizie Dec 23, 2015 Jan 5, 2016
vacanze pasquali Mar 25, 2016 Mar 29, 2016
vacanze estive Aug 8, 2016 Aug 27, 2016

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M N O P R S T Z

Baccarani Claudio

claudio.baccarani@univr.it

Bonfanti Angelo

angelo.bonfanti@univr.it 045 802 8292

Borello Giuliana

giuliana.borello@univr.it 045 802 8273

Broglia Angela

angela.broglia@univr.it 045 802 8240

Campedelli Bettina

bettina.campedelli@univr.it 045 802 8416

Campolmi Alessia

alessia.campolmi@univr.it 045 802 8071

Cantele Silvia

silvia.cantele@univr.it 045 802 8220 (VR) - 0444 393943 (VI)

Caprara Andrea

andrea.caprara@univr.it 39 045 8028819

Colombo Valentina

valentina.colombo@univr.it +39 0458028768

De Crescenzo Veronica

veronica.decrescenzo@univr.it 045 802 8163

De Mari Michele

michele.demari@univr.it 045 802 8226

Faccincani Lorenzo

lorenzo.faccincani@univr.it 045 802 8610

Gaudenzi Barbara

barbara.gaudenzi@univr.it 045 802 8623

Guiglia Giovanni

giovanni.guiglia@univr.it 045 802 8225

Lai Alessandro

alessandro.lai@univr.it 045 802 8574

Levati Maria Vittoria

vittoria.levati@univr.it 045 802 8640

Marangoni Giandemetrio

giandemetrio.marangoni@univr.it 045 8028193

Minozzo Marco

marco.minozzo@univr.it 045 802 8234

Mion Giorgio

giorgio.mion@univr.it 045.802 8172

Nardi Chiara

chiara.nardi@univr.it +39 045 8028768

Noto Sergio

elefante@univr.it 045 802 8008

Omodei Sale' Riccardo

riccardo.omodeisale@univr.it 045 802 8855

Ortoleva Maria Grazia

mariagrazia.ortoleva@univr.it 045 802 8052

Pellegrini Letizia

letizia.pellegrini@univr.it 045 802 8345

Rodean Neliana Ramona

neliana.rodean@univr.it +39 045/8028225

Rossi Francesco

francesco.rossi@univr.it 045 8028067

Rossignoli Cecilia

cecilia.rossignoli@univr.it 045 802 8173

Scricciolo Catia

catia.scricciolo@univr.it 045 802 8341

Stacchezzini Riccardo

riccardo.stacchezzini@univr.it 045 802 8186

Tondini Giovanni

giovanni.tondini@univr.it Verona: 045 8425449, Vicenza: 0444 393930

Torsello Marco

marco.torsello@univr.it +39 045 8028881

Zoli Claudio

claudio.zoli@univr.it 045 802 8479

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
C
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
9
A
SECS-S/06
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
C
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
9
A
SECS-S/06

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02835

Coordinatore

Francesco Rossi

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MAT/09 - OPERATIONS RESEARCH

Period

Primo Semestre Triennali dal Sep 18, 2017 al Jan 12, 2018.

Learning outcomes

The teaching aims to provide knowledge of basic quantitative tools and classic mathematical models
for the analysis and evaluation of the main economic-financial operations, of the financing contracts
and investment projects, tools and models that can be used for an efficient business management.
At the end of the lessons, the student must be able to correctly represent an economic and financial problem in a mathematical model, evaluating it so it takes into account the right hypotheses, the correct choice of the mathematical expressions and the correct methodology for solving the problem; therefore, the teaching aims to develop the capacity for autonomous reasoning in the analysis and interpretation of concrete problems.

Prerequisites
While there will be no formal prerequisites to make profitable learning, you should have already passed the exam of Mathematics, the first year, and of Statistics, in the second year.

Program

1. Read and financial regimes
Financial transactions: capitalization and discounting. Financial laws: upright, present value, interest, discount, interest rate and discount rate. Regime of simple interest, capitalization several times a year, compound, the discount trade. Interest rates equivalent to periods other than the year. Financial arbitrage, severability of financial laws, spot rate, forward rates. Force of interest. Currency transactions. Nominal interest rates, inflation, real interest rates.

2. Compound Financial transactions
Financial transactions and their classification. Current value and upright of a set of financial movements. Net present value (NPV or NPV). Evaluation of the installment, the number of installments, the implicit rate (IRR). Consumer credit, TAN and APR. Amortization schedules and closing conditions. Straight-capital basis, in equal installments on a straight interest paid in advance, with shares of accumulation. The pre-amortization. Early repayment of a mortgage. Rate mortgages indexed. Financial leasing. Savings plans.
Bonds and evaluation of the price of a bond, estimates of the term structure of interest rates. Control / hedging of interest rate risk: duration and convexity.
Criteria for choosing between operations / financial projects: NPV, IRR, TRM, WACC.

3. Select Portfolio with two risky assets
Recall of probability theory: the mean, variance, correlation. Investment in assets yielding haphazard. Expected return and volatility / risk of a portfolio of assets. Risk aversion and Markowitz model. Return and risk of a portfolio: a random and activities in return for a certain yield, two activities to yield uncertain, two activities to yield randomly and a certain return. Capital Allocation Line. Capital Market Line.

Textbooks
➢ G. Scandolo, Matematica Finanziaria, Amon, Padova, 2013 (for the chapters concerned by the themes of points of the program) and Matematica Finanziaria: esercizi, Amon, Padova, 2013.
In addition:
➢ for the synthesis and theoretical exercises about steps 1 and 2 is recommended:
A. Basso, P. Pianca, Introduzione alla Matematica Finanziaria, Cedam, Padova, 2010.
➢ as in Step 3 can also be seen:
F. Rossi, F. Mantovani, Teoria del portafoglio (diversificazione degli investimenti e controllo del profilo rendimento-rischio), Monduzzi Publisher, 2010, pages 1-46 and 75-86.


Teaching material is available online by accessing the web page of the course.


The conduct of the lessons
The course consists of 48 hours of lectures. There are also the hours of tutoring.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Basso A., Pianca P. Introduzione alla Matematica Finanziaria CEDAM 2010
Scandolo Giacomo Matematica Finanziaria Amon 2013
Scandolo Giacomo Matematica finanziaria - Esercizi Amon 2013

Examination Methods

There is no intermediate assessment test.
At the end of the lessons, a final two-hour written exam is scheduled. The final written test covers all the topics in the program, it is divided into several questions inspired by the examples presented in the classroom as well as those contained in the material available online. The student must be provided with a calculator and the formula sheet, available online, formula sheet that, of course, must not contain additional information, otherwise there will be exclusion from the test.
The tests are aimed at ascertaining:
- knowledge of the topics in the program
- the ability to apply methods and models to the various economic-financial problems

The Commission may request an oral integration aimed at verifying:
- the depth and breadth of the acquired knowledge;
- the property of language;
- the ability to connect knowledge in a systemic way.

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Proposte di tesi triennali Various topics

Student mentoring


Linguistic training CLA


Gestione carriere


Internships


Area riservata studenti