Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

For the year 2016/2017 No calendar yet available

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D E F G L M N P R S T V Z

Bertani Michele

michele.bertani@univr.it

Bettale Fernanda

fernanda.bettale@ulssvicenza.it 0444 753218

Bombieri Cristina

cristina.bombieri@univr.it 045-8027284

Bortolotti Federica

federica.bortolotti@univr.it 045 8124618

Cantalupo Gaetano

gaetano.cantalupo@univr.it +39 045 812 7123

Cecchetto Simone

simone.cek@libero.it 0444/431354

Cecchin Enrica

enrica.cecchin@aulss8.veneto.it 0444753218

Cerruto Maria Angela

mariaangela.cerruto@univr.it +39 045 812 7728

Conte Davide

davideconte.bioeng@gmail.com

Cunico Laura

laura.cunico@univr.it

Cuzzolin Laura

laura.cuzzolin@univr.it 0458027609

Dall'Oca Carlo

carlo.dalloca@univr.it +39 045 812 3553-3549-3575

Della Libera Chiara

chiara.dellalibera@univr.it +39 0458027219

De Marchi Sergio

sergio.demarchi@univr.it +39 045 8126813-4

Eccher Claudio

cleccher@fbk.eu 0461 314161

Fumene Feruglio Paolo

paolo.fumeneferuglio@univr.it +39 0458027680

Gabbrielli Armando

armando.gabbrielli@univr.it +39 045 812 4153

Galie' Mirco

mirco.galie@univr.it +39.045.8027681

Giacomuzzi Renata

Goracci Giada

giada.goracci@univr.it giada.goracci@libero.it

Gotte Giovanni

giovanni.gotte@univr.it 0458027694

Locatelli Francesca

francesca.locatelli@univr.it 045 8027655

Mansueto Giancarlo

giancarlo.mansueto@univr.it 0458124301

Mariotti Raffaella

raffaella.mariotti@univr.it 0458027164

Mazzariol Annarita

annarita.mazzariol@univr.it 045 8027690

Moro Valentina

Valentina.Moro@univr.it +39 045 802 8370

Nai Fovino Federica

fnajf@yahoo.it 0444/753603

Negrin Rolando

segreteria.pneumo@ulssvicenza.it 0444/753634

Pilotto Franco

francopilotto@libero.it 049/5594050

Polanco Fernandez Rocio

rocio.polancofernandez@ulss4.veneto.it

Poltronieri Roberto

roberto.poltronieri@univr.it +39 0458027146

Princivalle Andrea

andrea.princivalle@univr.it 045 8124805

Prior Manlio

manlio.prior@univr.it +39 045 812 6812

Ramondo Angelo Bruno

Randon Fabio Mario

Rigoni Sergio

Sergiorigoni@hotmail.com 0424604326

Rizzello Carla

carizzello@libero.it 0445 599757

Sartori Riccardo

riccardo.sartori@univr.it +39 045 802 8140

Scapin Mario

Scarton Cinzia

Scuma' Cristina

cristina.scuma@univr.it 045 8027240

Sorio Claudio

claudio.sorio@univr.it 045 8027688

Tamburin Stefano

stefano.tamburin@univr.it +39 0458124285 (segreteria)

Tardivo Stefano

stefano.tardivo@univr.it +39 045 802 7660

Tinazzi Michele

michele.tinazzi@univr.it +39 045 8122601

Varalta Valentina

valentina.varalta@univr.it +39 045 812 4956

Viapiana Ombretta

ombretta.viapiana@univr.it +39 045 812 4049

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A/B
BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/48
6
A/B
BIO/09 ,MED/48
6
A/B
BIO/09 ,M-PSI/01
3
E/F
L-LIN/12
5
A/B
M-DEA/01 ,MED/36 ,MED/42 ,MED/48
5
A/B
MED/34 ,MED/48 ,M-PED/01
8
A/B
BIO/10 ,BIO/13 ,FIS/07 ,MED/01

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A/B
BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/48
6
A/B
BIO/09 ,MED/48
6
A/B
BIO/09 ,M-PSI/01
3
E/F
L-LIN/12
5
A/B
M-DEA/01 ,MED/36 ,MED/42 ,MED/48
5
A/B
MED/34 ,MED/48 ,M-PED/01
8
A/B
BIO/10 ,BIO/13 ,FIS/07 ,MED/01

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02742

Credits

4

Coordinatore

Claudio Sorio

The teaching is organized as follows:

Patologia generale

Credits

2

Period

FISIO VI 2^ ANNO - 1^ SEMESTRE

Academic staff

Claudio Sorio

Microbiologia

Credits

1

Period

FISIO VI 2^ ANNO - 1^ SEMESTRE

Academic staff

Annarita Mazzariol

Farmacologia

Credits

1

Period

FISIO VI 2^ ANNO - 1^ SEMESTRE

Academic staff

Laura Cuzzolin

Learning outcomes

The Course consists of three modules (Pharmacology, General Pathology, Microbiology) integrated to reach the objective of basic theoretical knowledge required for physiotherapist practice. The learning outcomes are specified inside the different modules.
------------------------
MM: PHARMACOLOGY
------------------------
The Course is targeted to give to the student basic knowledge and methodological instruments required to understand the role covered by drugs in therapy, how they act to modify health status of the patient, risks related to their use, factors that could modify the answer to a pharmacological treatment.
------------------------
MM: GENERAL PATHOLOGY
------------------------
At the end of the Course the student is expected to address the following subjects: etiopathogenesis of cell damage, causes of alteration of cell function (chemical, physical and biological), etiopathogenesis of disease. Concept of homeostasis and its regulation. Acute and chronic inflammation. Immune system: cell components, their function and interaction. Homeostasis of the immune response, transfusions and transplants. Molecular and cellular basis of neoplastic transformation.
------------------------
MM: MICROBIOLOGY
------------------------
Essential knowledge about bacterial and viral infectious diseases, growth and spread of microrganisms, prevention of diffusion. This knowledge is basic for any health worker to save itself and the patients.

Program

TThe Course program consists of the programs of the individual teaching modules.
------------------------
MM: PHARMACOLOGY
------------------------
GENERAL PRINCIPLES OF PHARMACOLOGY. Definition of drug, medicinal product, generic drug, biosimilar, galenic and magistral preparations. Origin of drugs and the process of drug development. Difference between symptomatic, curative, preventive and substitutive drugs. Different actions of drugs: systemic or local, direct or indirect, primary or secondary, collateral, early or late onset. Pharmacokinetics: absorption (mechanisms, routes of administration), distribution (plasma protein binding, tissue vascularization, blood-brain barrier and placental transfer of drugs), metabolism of drugs (biotransformation reactions, enzymatic induction and inhibition), excretion of drugs. Pharmacodynamics: general mechanisms of action, receptor definition, drug-receptor interaction, agonism and antagonism, affinity and intrinsic activity of drugs. Adverse drug reactions. GENERAL PRINCIPLES OF PHARMACOTHERAPY. “Placebo” and “Compliance” definitions. Dosage, maximum dose, effective dose, posology, therapeutic index. Therapeutic plasma levels of drugs, peak concentrations, therapeutic range, accumulation, toxic concentrations. Drug interactions. Variability in drug response. SPECIAL PHARMACOLOGY. Non-steroidal and steroidal antiinflammatory drugs: mechanisms of action, pharmacological properties, modality of use, main adverse reactions. Opioids and non opioids analgesics (NSAIDs and paracetamol): mechanisms of action, pharmacological properties, therapeutic uses, tolerability. Antiparkinson drugs.
------------------------
MM: GENERAL PATHOLOGY
------------------------
Introduction to pathology:
• Cell homeostasis and alterations at the cell and organism levels.
• The concept of biochemical lesion and subcellular localization.
• Alteration of cell homeostasis: adaptation, necrosis, apoptosis, restoration of cell damage.
• Examples of cell adaptation: alterations of cells status and differentiation.
Causes of disease and mechanisms of cell damage:
• General classification of the causes of disease: genetic (example: cystic fibrosis), environmental, multifactorial (example: atherosclerosis), chemical (example: alcohol), radiation, free radicals.
• Mechanisms of healing.
Oedema: pathogenesis and classification.
Introduction to immunology and immunological damage:
• Innate and acquired immunity: description of leukocytes involved and general mechanisms.
• General features: antigen presentation, lymphocyte subclasses, complement.
• MHC ad transplants.
• Blood groups.
• Mechanisms of immuological damage: anafilaxis, complement activation, role of antibodies and Fc receptor, cell-dependent cytotoxicity.
Inflammation:
• Role of blood vessels in inflammation.
• Cells involved in inflammation.
• Classification of inflammatory response based on prevalent features: erithematous, serous, fibrinous, purulent, necrotic-haemorragic.
• Differences among acute and chronic inflammation.
• Cytokines and their role in the regulation of the inflammatory response.
Neoplasia:
• Differences among benign and malign neoplasms.
• Properties of neoplastic cells: growth, invasion and differentiation.
• General classification: epithelial, mesenchimal, neuroectodermal and germinal, hemopoietc cells neoplasms.
• Natural history of neoplasia: precancerous lesions, carcinoma in situ, metastasis. Preferential localization. TNM score.
• Molecular basis of neoplastic transformation: oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes. Mechanisms of activation/inhibition.
• Cancer etiology: physical, chemical and biological.
• Mechanism of damage: compression, paraneoplastic syndromes, cachexia.
• Cancer biomarkers and their clinical relevance.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Pontieri GM Patologia e Fisiopatologia Generale Piccin Editore, Padova 2002
PONTIERI-RUSSO-FRATI PATOLOGIA GENERALE (Edizione 3) PICCIN 2005
Giovanni M. Pontieri Patologia generale & fisiopatologia generale. Per i corsi di laurea in professioni sanitarie (Edizione 3) Piccin 2018 8829921424
Conforti A., Cuzzolin L., Leone R., Moretti U., Pignataro G., Taglialatela M., Vanzetta M. Farmacologia per le professioni sanitarie Idelson-Gnocchi Sorbona 2015 978-88-7947-592-1

Examination Methods

The exam takes place with multiple choice quiz format. The task includes 45 questions with multiple-choice answers (1-2 correct between 4-5) referred to the programs of all modules: 15 for each of the three modules. The exam is passed when the sufficiency (18 votes) is reached in all modules. In some cases, an oral integration will be possible.

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf Guida per la stesura della tesi 87 KB, 02/11/21 

Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti