Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2017/2018

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 2, 2017 Jan 31, 2018
II sem. Mar 1, 2018 Jun 15, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2018 Feb 28, 2018
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 18, 2018 Jul 31, 2018
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 3, 2018 Sep 28, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione Estiva Lauree Magistrali Jul 19, 2018 Jul 19, 2018
Sessione Autunnale Lauree Magistrali Oct 18, 2018 Oct 18, 2018
Sessione Invernale Lauree Magistrali Mar 21, 2019 Mar 21, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Vacanze estive Aug 6, 2018 Aug 19, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M O P Q R S V

Belussi Alberto

alberto.belussi@univr.it +39 045 802 7980
Foto,  February 9, 2017

Bloisi Domenico Daniele

domenico.bloisi@univr.it

Bombieri Nicola

nicola.bombieri@univr.it +39 045 802 7094

Bonacina Maria Paola

mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it +39 045 802 7046

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Busato Federico

federico.busato@univr.it

Calanca Andrea

andrea.calanca@univr.it +39 045 802 7847

Carra Damiano

damiano.carra@univr.it +39 045 802 7059

Castellani Umberto

umberto.castellani@univr.it +39 045 802 7988

Cicalese Ferdinando

ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it +39 045 802 7969

Cristani Matteo

matteo.cristani@univr.it 045 802 7983

Cristani Marco

marco.cristani@univr.it +39 045 802 7841

Cubico Serena

serena.cubico@univr.it 045 802 8132

Dalla Preda Mila

mila.dallapreda@univr.it

Farinelli Alessandro

alessandro.farinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7842

Favretto Giuseppe

giuseppe.favretto@univr.it +39 045 802 8749 - 8748

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Franco Giuditta

giuditta.franco@univr.it +39 045 802 7045

Fummi Franco

franco.fummi@univr.it 045 802 7994

Giachetti Andrea

andrea.giachetti@univr.it +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7995

Maris Bogdan Mihai

bogdan.maris@univr.it +39 045 802 7074

Masini Andrea

andrea.masini@univr.it 045 802 7922

Mastroeni Isabella

isabella.mastroeni@univr.it +39 045 802 7089

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Merro Massimo

massimo.merro@univr.it 045 802 7992

Muradore Riccardo

riccardo.muradore@univr.it +39 045 802 7835

Oliboni Barbara

barbara.oliboni@univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Pravadelli Graziano

graziano.pravadelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7081

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Rizzi Romeo

romeo.rizzi@univr.it +39 045 8027088

Romeo Alessandro

alessandro.romeo@univr.it +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Segala Roberto

roberto.segala@univr.it 045 802 7997

Villa Tiziano

tiziano.villa@univr.it +39 045 802 7034

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
(INF/01)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
Other activitites
4
F
-
Final exam
24
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
(INF/01)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
Other activitites
4
F
-
Final exam
24
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°2 courses to be chosen among the following
6
C
(INF/01)
6
C
(INF/01)
6
C
(SECS-P/10)
6
C
(INF/01)
Between the years: 1°- 2°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00034

Coordinatore

Alessandro Romeo

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

FIS/01 - EXPERIMENTAL PHYSICS

Language

Italian

Period

I sem. dal Oct 2, 2017 al Jan 31, 2018.

Learning outcomes

The course provides the physical working principles of semiconductor devices, p / n junctions, FETs, MOSFETs, LEDs and of the logic gates fabricated through the planar technology of integrated circuits.

 At the end of the course the student must demonstrate to have assimilated the physical principles of operation of a semiconductor, a p / n junction and electronic devices such as transistors.

This knowledge will enable the student to: i) assemble different types of transistors in circuits by making electronic devices; ii) construct a simple integrated circuit system with the ability to choose between the different devices to be inserted in the circuit; iii) to master the physical phenomena linked to basic devices of integrated circuits in order to know and understand the different behaviours of each circuit based on the set electrical parameters.

At the end of the course the student will be able to: i) interface the software structure with the hardware devices knowing the basic methods of operation of the electronic circuits; ii) understand the programming of hardware systems with greater depth.

Program

In order to properly follow the lectures it is strongly recommended to have already acquired knowledge on classical physics (laws of motion, work, energy, electric field, electric potential).

The course consists of theoretical section and two different experimental sections in the lab (simulation and hardware).

Topics:

Elements of Classical Physics and Atomic Physics: work and energy, electric field and potential, electric current, Ohm's law, linear circuits resistivity and temperature dependence in metals and semiconductors, the Bohr model, the periodic table of the elements

Crystal structure and electrical properties of metals, semiconductors and doped semiconductors: gas model of electrons in metals as a link model in semiconductors, concept of gap, doped semiconductors, nods to the band theory, conduction current and dissemination

P-n junction: non-polarized and polarized junction, ddp contact, voltage-current characteristic in forward and reverse bias, junction diode, Zener diode, OR / AND gates to diodes, switching times

Bipolar junction transistor BJT, input curves and in common emitter configuration output, common base, inverter, transfer rates characteristic and noise margins, switching times

Transitor in the field of JFET and MOSFET effect, manufacturing techniques, output and transfer curves, MOSFET and CMOS inverters, transfer characteristics, noise margins, switching times

Elementary digital circuits in MOS technology, CMOS, bipolar, ECL: NOR and NAND MOSFET and CMOS, NAND DTL, HTL, TTL, OR / NOR ECL

Comparison of logic families: propagation delay, power dissipation, fan-out, noise margins

-Laboratory (software) with circuit simulation with Micro Cap (12 hours).
-Laboratory (hardware) with circuit fabrication on pre-prepared electronic cards (12 hours).

The complete teaching material is available on the e-learning portal.

Examination Methods

The final test will be an oral exams on the topics covered in the lectures.
Specifically the exam will consists of questions on the basic physics principles of semiconductors and of electronic devices taken in consideration. Moreover at the end of the laboratory course, the students will make a lab test with the electronic card.

Examination methods are differentiated between attending and not-attending students.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Gestione carriere


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Analisi ed identificazione automatica del tono/volume della voce AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Computing Methodologies - ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE
Sviluppo sistemi di scansione 3D Computing Methodologies - COMPUTER GRAPHICS
Sviluppo sistemi di scansione 3D Computing Methodologies - IMAGE PROCESSING AND COMPUTER VISION
Dati geografici Information Systems - INFORMATION SYSTEMS APPLICATIONS
Analisi ed identificazione automatica del tono/volume della voce Robotics - Robotics
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot Robotics - Robotics
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift Robotics - Robotics
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Logic
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Semantics and reasoning
Proposte di tesi/collaborazione/stage in Intelligenza Artificiale Applicata Various topics
Proposte di Tesi/Stage/Progetto nell'ambito delle basi di dati/sistemi informativi Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.