Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
primo semestre triennali Sep 19, 2016 Jan 13, 2017
secondo semestre triennali Feb 20, 2017 Jun 1, 2017
Exam sessions
Session From To
Prove intermedie primo semestre Nov 7, 2016 Nov 11, 2016
Appelli esami sessione invernale Jan 16, 2017 Feb 17, 2017
Prove intermedie secondo semestre Apr 10, 2017 Apr 13, 2017
Appelli esami sessione estiva Jun 5, 2017 Jul 7, 2017
Appelli esami sessione autunnale Aug 28, 2017 Sep 15, 2017
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale Nov 30, 2016 Dec 1, 2016
Sessione invernale Apr 5, 2017 Apr 7, 2017
Sessione estiva Sep 11, 2017 Sep 13, 2017
Holidays
Period From To
Vacanze natalizie Dec 23, 2016 Jan 5, 2017
Vacanze pasquali Apr 14, 2017 Apr 18, 2017
Vacanze estive Aug 7, 2017 Aug 25, 2017

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N O P Q R S Z

Andreoli Francesco

francesco.andreoli@univr.it 045 802 8102

Bonfanti Angelo

angelo.bonfanti@univr.it 045 802 8292

Borello Giuliana

giuliana.borello@univr.it 045 802 8273

Bracco Emanuele

emanuele.bracco@univr.it 045 802 8293

Broglia Angela

angela.broglia@univr.it 045 802 8240

Brunetti Federico

federico.brunetti@univr.it 045 802 8494

Campedelli Bettina

bettina.campedelli@univr.it 045 802 8416

Cantele Silvia

silvia.cantele@univr.it 045 802 8220 (VR) - 0444 393943 (VI)

Castellani Paola

paola.castellani@univr.it 045 802 8127

Confente Ilenia

ilenia.confente@univr.it 045 802 8174

De Crescenzo Veronica

veronica.decrescenzo@univr.it 045 802 8163

De Mari Michele

michele.demari@univr.it 045 802 8226

Faccincani Lorenzo

lorenzo.faccincani@univr.it 045 802 8610

Faccioli Mirko

mirko.faccioli@univr.it +39 045 8028879

Fiorentini Riccardo

riccardo.fiorentini@univr.it 0444 393934 (VI) - 045 802 8335(VR)

Gaudenzi Barbara

barbara.gaudenzi@univr.it 045 802 8623

Guiglia Giovanni

giovanni.guiglia@univr.it 045 802 8225

Lai Alessandro

alessandro.lai@univr.it 045 802 8574

Levati Maria Vittoria

vittoria.levati@univr.it 045 802 8640

Messina Sebastiano Maurizio

sebastianomaurizio.messina@univr.it 045 802 8052

Minozzo Marco

marco.minozzo@univr.it 045 802 8234

Mion Giorgio

giorgio.mion@univr.it 045.802 8172

Nardi Chiara

chiara.nardi@univr.it +39 045 8028768

Omodei Sale' Riccardo

riccardo.omodeisale@univr.it 045 802 8855

Ortoleva Maria Grazia

mariagrazia.ortoleva@univr.it 045 802 8052

Pellegrini Letizia

letizia.pellegrini@univr.it 045 802 8345

Pichler Flavio

flavio.pichler@univr.it 045 802 8273

Quercia Simone

simone.quercia@univr.it 045 802 8237

Renò Roberto

roberto.reno@univr.it 045 802 8526

Rodean Neliana Ramona

neliana.rodean@univr.it +39 045/8028225

Rossi Francesco

francesco.rossi@univr.it 045 8028067

Rossignoli Cecilia

cecilia.rossignoli@univr.it 045 802 8173

Scricciolo Catia

catia.scricciolo@univr.it 045 802 8341

Signori Paola

paola.signori@univr.it 0444 393942 (VI) 045 802 8492 (VR)

Stacchezzini Riccardo

riccardo.stacchezzini@univr.it 045 802 8186

Zago Angelo

angelo.zago@univr.it 045 802 8414

Zoli Claudio

claudio.zoli@univr.it 045 802 8479

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
9
A
SECS-S/06
6
C
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
9
A
SECS-S/06
6
C
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02835

Coordinatore

Francesco Rossi

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MAT/09 - OPERATIONS RESEARCH

Period

primo semestre lauree triennali dal Sep 17, 2018 al Jan 11, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The teaching aims to provide knowledge of basic quantitative tools and classic mathematical models
for the analysis and evaluation of the main economic-financial operations, of the financing contracts
and investment projects, tools and models that can be used for an efficient business management.
At the end of the lessons, the student must be able to correctly represent an economic and financial problem in a mathematical model, evaluating it so it takes into account the right hypotheses, the correct choice of the mathematical expressions and the correct methodology for solving the problem; therefore, the teaching aims to develop the capacity for autonomous reasoning in the analysis and interpretation of concrete problems.

Program

1. Recalls of Mathematics and Statistics
2. Laws and financial regimes. Financial transactions: capitalization and discounting. Financial laws: amount, current value, interest, discount, interest rate and discount rate. Simple interest regime, capitalization several times a year, compound interest, commercial discount. Equivalent interest rates on periods other than the year. Financial arbitrage, the splitting of financial laws, spot rates, forward rates. Force of interest. Foreign currency transactions. Nominal rates, inflation, real rates.
3. Composite financial transactions. Composite financial transactions and their classification. Present value and upside of a set of financial movements. Net present value (NPV or NPV). Evaluation of the installment, the number of installments, the implied rate (IRR or IRR). Consumer credit, TAN and TAEG. Depreciation plans and closing conditions. Depreciation to constant capital shares, in constant installments, in advance interest installments, with accumulation shares. The pre-depreciation. Early repayment of a mortgage. Indexed rate mortgages. Financial leasing. Accumulation plans.
Bond loans and valuation of the price of a bond, estimate of the term structure of the rates.
Control / immunization of interest rate risk: duration and convexity.
Criteria for choosing between financial operations / projects: NPV, IRR, TRM, WACC.
4. Linear Programming (PL) and Operational Research (RO). The formulation of the problem of PL, the mathematical structure, the graphic solution, the properties of the model, the typical applications, the method (the algorithm) of the simplex. Introduction to RO techniques: graphs and their applications, inventory theory, queue theory, Markov processes.
5. Portfolio selection. Investments in activities with a random return. Expected return and volatility / risk of a portfolio of assets. Risk aversion and the Markowitz model. Yield and risk of a portfolio with: a business with a random return and a reliable return, two assets with a random return, two assets with a random return and one with a certain return. Capital Allocation Line. Capital Market Line.

Textbooks
Teaching material is available online by accessing the course web page.
Furthermore, you can consult:
➢ as regards points 2, 3 and 5: Giacomo Scandolo, matematica Finanziaria, Amon, Padova, 2013 and, of the same Author, Matematica Finanziaria: esercizi, Amon, Padova, 2013.
➢ for the theoretical synthesis and exercises about points 2 and 3 we recommend: A. Basso, P. Pianca, Introduzione alla Matematica Finanziaria, Cedam, Padova, 2010.
➢ as regards point 5, we can also see: F. Rossi, F. Mantovani, Teoria di Portafoglio (diversificazione degli investimenti e controllo del profilo rendimento-rischio), Monduzzi Editore, 2010, pages 1-46 and 75-86.
➢ as regards point 4, refer to the online material or the volume of R.E. Markland, Topics in Management Science, J. Wiley & Sons, ed. 1989 or later.

Methods of carrying out the lessons
The course consists of 48 hours of lessons. Tutoring hours are also provided.

Prerequisites
While there will be no formal prerequisites to make profitable learning, you should have already passed the exam of Mathematics, the first year, and of Statistics, in the second year.

Examination Methods

There is no intermediate assessment test.
At the end of the lessons, a final two-hour written exam is scheduled. The final written test covers all the topics in the program, it is divided into several questions inspired by the examples presented in the classroom as well as those contained in the material available online. The student must be provided with a calculator and the formula sheet, available online, formula sheet that, of course, must not contain additional information, otherwise there will be exclusion from the test.
The tests are aimed at ascertaining:
- knowledge of the topics in the program
- the ability to apply methods and models to the various economic-financial problems

The Commission may request an oral integration aimed at verifying:
- the depth and breadth of the acquired knowledge;
- the property of language;
- the ability to connect knowledge in a systemic way.

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
Advanced Excel Laboratory (Verona) D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
Excel Laboratory (Verona) D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Proposte di tesi triennali Various topics

Internships


Student mentoring


Linguistic training CLA


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti