Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2018/2019

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
primo semestre lauree triennali Sep 17, 2018 Jan 11, 2019
secondo semestre lauree triennali Feb 18, 2019 May 31, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
prove intermedie - sessione autunnale Nov 5, 2018 Nov 9, 2018
sessione invernale lauree triennali Jan 14, 2019 Feb 15, 2019
prove intermedie - sessione primaverile Apr 15, 2019 Apr 18, 2019
sessione estiva lauree triennali Jun 3, 2019 Jul 5, 2019
Sessione autunnale Aug 26, 2019 Sep 13, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale (validità a.a. 2017/18) Dec 6, 2018 Dec 7, 2018
Sessione invernale (validità a.a. 2017/18) Apr 3, 2019 Apr 5, 2019
Sessione estiva (validità a.a. 2018/19) Sep 10, 2019 Sep 11, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2018 Nov 1, 2018
Festa dell’Immacolata Dec 8, 2018 Dec 8, 2018
Vacanze di Natale Dec 22, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 19, 2019 Apr 23, 2019
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2019 Apr 25, 2019
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2019 May 1, 2019
Festa del Santo Patrono - S. Zeno May 21, 2019 May 21, 2019
Attività sospese (vacanze estive) Aug 5, 2019 Aug 23, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M O P R S T Z

Brunetti Federico

federico.brunetti@univr.it 045 802 8494

Bucciol Alessandro

alessandro.bucciol@univr.it 045 802 8278

Cantele Silvia

silvia.cantele@univr.it 045 802 8220 (VR) - 0444 393943 (VI)

Carlotto Ilaria

ilaria.carlotto@univr.it 045 802 8264

Castellani Paola

paola.castellani@univr.it 045 802 8127

Chiarini Andrea

andrea.chiarini@univr.it 045 802 8223

Cicogna Veronica

veronica.cicogna@univr.it 045 802 8246

Confente Ilenia

ilenia.confente@univr.it 045 802 8174

Demo Edoardo

edoardo.demo@univr.it 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

Durastante Paolo

paolo.durastante@univr.it 0444962826

Fiorentini Riccardo

riccardo.fiorentini@univr.it 0444 393934 (VI) - 045 802 8335(VR)

Fioroni Tamara

tamara.fioroni@univr.it 0458028489

Giacomello Bruno

bruno.giacomello@univr.it 0444 393933 (VI)

Giaretta Elisa

elisa.giaretta@univr.it 0444393938

Messina Sebastiano Maurizio

sebastianomaurizio.messina@univr.it 045 802 8052

Minozzo Marco

marco.minozzo@univr.it 045 802 8234

Mion Giorgio

giorgio.mion@univr.it 045.802 8172

Moggi Sara

sara.moggi@univr.it 045 802 8290

Ortoleva Maria Grazia

mariagrazia.ortoleva@univr.it 045 802 8052

Peretti Alberto

alberto.peretti@univr.it 0444 393936 (VI) 045 802 8238 (VR)

Pertile Paolo

paolo.pertile@univr.it 045 802 8438

Pilati Andrea

andrea.pilati@univr.it 045 802 8444 (VR) - 0444 393938 (VI)

Renò Roberto

roberto.reno@univr.it 045 802 8526

Ricciuti Roberto

roberto.ricciuti@univr.it 0458028417

Rossi Francesca

francesca.rossi_02@univr.it 045 802 8098

Rossignoli Francesca

francesca.rossignoli@univr.it 0444 393941 (Ufficio Vicenza) 0458028261 (Ufficio Verona)

Sartori Fabio

fabio.sartori@univr.it

Signori Paola

paola.signori@univr.it 0444 393942 (VI) 045 802 8492 (VR)

Tescaro Mauro

mauro.tescaro@univr.it 045 802 8880

Tondini Giovanni

giovanni.tondini@univr.it Verona: 045 8425449, Vicenza: 0444 393930

Trabucchi Giuseppe

giuseppe.trabucchi@univr.it

Zago Angelo

angelo.zago@univr.it 045 802 8414

Zoli Claudio

claudio.zoli@univr.it 045 802 8479

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
(IUS/01)
9
B
(SECS-P/08)
6
B
(IUS/09)
9
A
(SECS-P/01)
9
A
(SECS-S/06)
English language (B1 level)
6
E/F
-
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
(IUS/04)
9
B
(SECS-P/01)
9
B
(SECS-P/07)
9
B
(SECS-P/07)
9
B
(SECS-P/03)
9
B
(SECS-S/01)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
(IUS/07)
9
C
(SECS-P/09)
9
B
(SECS-S/06)
9
B
(SECS-P/02)
9
C
(SECS-P/12)
6
S
(-)
Final exam
3
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
(IUS/01)
9
B
(SECS-P/08)
6
B
(IUS/09)
9
A
(SECS-P/01)
9
A
(SECS-S/06)
English language (B1 level)
6
E/F
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
(IUS/04)
9
B
(SECS-P/01)
9
B
(SECS-P/07)
9
B
(SECS-P/07)
9
B
(SECS-P/03)
9
B
(SECS-S/01)

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
(IUS/07)
9
C
(SECS-P/09)
9
B
(SECS-S/06)
9
B
(SECS-P/02)
9
C
(SECS-P/12)
6
S
(-)
Final exam
3
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00239

Coordinatore

Tamara Fioroni

Credits

9

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

SECS-P/01 - ECONOMICS

Language

Italian

Period

primo semestre lauree triennali dal Sep 17, 2018 al Jan 11, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The aim of this unit is to provide students with appropriate tools for understanding how firms and consumers take their decisions and how markets are organized, with particular emphasis on the concepts of optimization and equilibrium. Upon completing the course, the student must demonstrate to know the organization of the markets and the behavior of firms and consumers within such markets. The student will also be able to express judgments on the implications deriving from the economic agents’ choices and to compare the different market structures.

Program

Textbook (recommended): "Microeconomia" by Hal R. Varian, Cafoscarina, 2007.
Additional material is available on the e-learning website.

The following program refers to the sixth edition of the textbook (2007).
Consumer Theory:
• Budget constraint (Varian, Chapter 2).
• Preferences and indifference curves (Varian, Chapter 3).
• Utility (Varian, Chapter 4).
• Choice (Varian, Chapter 5).
• Demand (Varian, Chapter 6).
• Slutsky equation (Varian, Chapter 8).
• Buying and selling (Varian, Chapter 9).
• Intertemporal Choice (Varian, Chapter 10).
• Choice under uncertainty (Varian, Chapter 12).
• Consumer's Surplus (Varian, Chapter 14).
• Market demand and elasticity (Varian, Chapter 15).
• Equilibrium (Varian, Chapter 16).

Production Theory:
• Technology (Varian, Chapter 18).
• Profit maximization (Varian, Chapter 19).
• Cost minimization (Varian, Chapter 20).
• Cost Curves (Varian, Chapter 21).

Market structure:
• Perfect competition in the short and the long term (Varian, Chapters 22 and 23).
• Monopoly (Varian, Chapter 24).
• Monopoly behavior (Varian, Chapter 25).
• Oligopoly (Varian, Chapter 27).

Interaction:
• Nash equilibrium and Game Theory (Varian, Chapter 28).
• Exchange (Varian, Chapter 31).
• Asymmetric Information (Varian, Chapter 37).

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Cipriani G.P., Fioroni T. Esercizi di Microeconomia (Edizione 4) Giappichelli 2020 9788892109308
Varian H. Microeconomia (Edizione 8) Cafoscarina 2011 9788875433079

Examination Methods

There will be an intermediate written exam (about halfway through the semester). This exam focuses on the topics covered up to that point. It consists of a test of multiple-choice questions (some of which will take the form of exercises).

The mid-term exam is optional. The score of the mid-term exam will count 50% of the final score. The aim of the intermediate exam is to encourage the students to a systematic study.

The final exam follows the same procedures as the intermediate exam: it consists of a test of multiple-choice questions.

In both the intermediate and final exams, a wrong answer in the multiple-choice questions will have a negative score.

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
SFIDE - Europe D Claudio Zoli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Advanced risk and portfolio management bootcamp (online) (3 cfu) D Roberto Renò (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Advanced risk and portfolio management bootcamp (onsite) (6 cfu) D Roberto Renò (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Convegno "gli scambi commerciali con l'estero: questioni fiscali, doganali e contrattuali" D Sebastiano Maurizio Messina (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Ineka conference 2019 teamworking membership D Federico Brunetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Data Visualization Laboratory D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Python Laboratory D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Advanced Excel Laboratory (Vicenza) D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Excel Laboratory (Vicenza) D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° "le grandi trasformazioni degli anni '60-'70 e l'italia cinquant'anni dopo" D Angelo Zago (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Social responsibility model for the restaurants' ecosystems D Silvia Cantele (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Marketing Plan D Ilenia Confente (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Polis - festival biblico in universita' D Giorgio Mion (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Quality and problem solving in business organizations D Paola Castellani (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° La competitività regionale e le sue risorse endogene: il concetto di capitale territoriale D Riccardo Fiorentini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Soft skills in action D Paola Signori (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Linguistic training CLA


Student mentoring


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Tesi di laurea - Il credit scoring Statistics - Foundational and philosophical topics

Internships


Gestione carriere


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.