Studying at the University of Verona

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
LEZIONI 1° E 2° SEMESTRE Oct 2, 2017 Jun 1, 2018
LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE Oct 2, 2017 Dec 21, 2017
LEZIONI 2° SEMESTRE Feb 19, 2018 Jun 1, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A. 2016/2017 E 1°SEMESTRE A.A.2017/2018 Jan 8, 2018 Feb 16, 2018
SESSIONE ESTIVA Jun 4, 2018 Jul 27, 2018
SESSIONE ESTIVA LAUREANDI Jun 4, 2018 Jul 6, 2018
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE Sep 3, 2018 Sep 28, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE Mar 5, 2018 Mar 16, 2018
SESSIONE ESTIVA Jul 16, 2018 Jul 31, 2018
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE Oct 15, 2018 Oct 26, 2018
Holidays
Period From To
FESTIVITA' DI OGNISSANTI Nov 1, 2017 Nov 1, 2017
FESTIVITA' IMMACOLATA CONCEZIONE Dec 8, 2017 Dec 8, 2017
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
VACANZE DI PASQUA Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
FESTA DELLA LIBERAZIONE Apr 25, 2018 Apr 25, 2018
FESTA DEL LAVORO May 1, 2018 May 1, 2018
FESTIVITA' DEL SANTO PATRONO: SAN ZENO May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
FESTA DELLA REPUBBLICA Jun 2, 2018 Jun 2, 2018
Other Periods
Description Period From To
TIROCINIO 1°SEMESTRE TIROCINIO 1°SEMESTRE Oct 2, 2017 Dec 21, 2017
ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA DI TIROCINIO ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA DI TIROCINIO ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA Oct 2, 2017 Sep 28, 2018
RECUPERO TIROCINIO (ESCLUSO PERIODI DI VACANZA) RECUPERO TIROCINIO (ESCLUSO PERIODI DI VACANZA) Jan 8, 2018 Feb 18, 2018
TIROCINIO 2°SEMESTRE TIROCINIO 2°SEMESTRE Feb 19, 2018 Jun 1, 2018
RECUPERO TIROCINIO (ESCLUSO PERIODI DI VACANZA) RECUPERO TIROCINIO (ESCLUSO PERIODI DI VACANZA) Jun 4, 2018 Sep 28, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G I L M N P R S T Z

Albanese Massimo

massimo.albanese@univr.it +39 045 812 4251/4024

Bazzoni Flavia

flavia.bazzoni@univr.it +39 045 802 7128

Bertini Giuseppe

giuseppe.bertini@univr.it 045-802-7682

Bertossi Dario

dario.bertossi@univr.it +39 045 812 4096

Boschi Federico

federico.boschi@univr.it +39 045 802 7272

Busetto Giuseppe

giuseppe.busetto@univr.it +39 0458027290

Cane' Stefania

stefania.cane@univr.it +39 045 8126449

Cassatella Marco Antonio

marco.cassatella@univr.it 045 8027130

Chiamulera Cristiano

cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it +39 045 8027277

Corsi Fabio

fabio.corsi@univr.it 347 0076598

D'Agostino Antonio

antonio.dagostino@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Danese Elisa

elisa.danese@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

De Franceschi Lucia

lucia.defranceschi@univr.it 0458124918

De Leo Domenico

domenico.deleo@univr.it +39 045 812 4942

De Santis Daniele

daniele.desantis@univr.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4097

Donadello Katia

katia.donadello@univr.it +39 045 812 4311

Fabene Paolo

paolo.fabene@univr.it 0458027267

Fabrizi Gian Maria

gianmaria.fabrizi@univr.it +39 0458124461

Faccioni Fiorenzo

fiorenzo.faccioni@ospedaleuniverona.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4868

Gerosa Roberto

roberto.gerosa@univr.it 0458124863

Girelli Massimo

massimo.girelli@univr.it +39 0458027106

Girolomoni Giampiero

giampiero.girolomoni@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Gisondi Paolo

paolo.gisondi@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Iacono Calogero

calogero.iacono@univr.it +39 045 812 4412

Lleo'Fernandez Maria Del Mar

maria.lleo@univr.it 045 8027194

Lombardo Giorgio

giorgio.lombardo@univr.it +39 045 812 4867

Luciano Umberto

umberto.luciano@univr.it +39 045 807 4251

Maffeis Claudio

claudio.maffeis@univr.it +39 045 812 7664

Majori Silvia

silvia.majori@univr.it +39 045 8027653

Malchiodi Luciano

luciano.malchiodi@univr.it +39 045 812 4855

Mansueto Giancarlo

giancarlo.mansueto@univr.it 0458124301

Marchini Giorgio

giorgio.marchini@univr.it +39 045 812 6140

Marchioni Daniele

daniele.marchioni@univr.it +39 045 812 7669

Marchiori Mattia

mattia.marchiori@univr.it

Marcon Alessandro

alessandro.marcon@univr.it +39 045 802 7668

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it

Menegazzi Marta Vittoria

marta.menegazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7168

Mottes Monica

monica.mottes@univr.it +39 045 8027 184

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Nocini Pier Francesco

pierfrancesco.nocini@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251

Polati Enrico

enrico.polati@univr.it +39 045 812 7430 - 4311

Renna Dora

dora.renna@univr.it

Romanelli Maria

mariagrazia.romanelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7182

Ruggeri Mirella

mirella.ruggeri@univr.it 0458124953

Sboarina Andrea

andrea.sboarina@univr.it +39 045 802 7291

Scupoli Maria

mariateresa.scupoli@univr.it 045-8027405 045-8128425

Tinazzi Michele

michele.tinazzi@univr.it +39 045 8122601

Trevisiol Lorenzo

lorenzo.trevisiol@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Zanolin Maria Elisabetta

elisabetta.zanolin@univr.it +39 045 802 7654

Zerman Nicoletta

nicoletta.zerman@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251 - 4857

Zotti Francesca

francesca.zotti@univr.it +39 045 812 6938

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
BIO/16
7
A
BIO/10
6
A
FIS/07
7
A
BIO/17
13
A/B/C
INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
BIO/10
9
A
BIO/09
13
B
MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42
20
B/C/F
- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
- ,MED/28
3
B/F
- ,MED/28
4
B/F
- ,MED/25 ,MED/26
13
B/F
- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
- ,MED/28
7
B/F
- ,MED/28 ,MED/38
12
B/F
- ,MED/28
8
B/F
- ,MED/28
6
B/F
- ,MED/28
10
B/C/F
- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
BIO/16
7
A
BIO/10
6
A
FIS/07
7
A
BIO/17
13
A/B/C
INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
BIO/10
9
A
BIO/09
13
B
MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42
20
B/C/F
- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
- ,MED/28
3
B/F
- ,MED/28
4
B/F
- ,MED/25 ,MED/26
13
B/F
- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
- ,MED/28
7
B/F
- ,MED/28 ,MED/38
12
B/F
- ,MED/28
8
B/F
- ,MED/28
6
B/F
- ,MED/28
10
B/C/F
- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00120

Coordinatore

Giuseppe Busetto

Credits

9

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/09 - PHYSIOLOGY

Period

LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 2°-3°-4°-5°-6° ANNO dal Oct 1, 2018 al Dec 21, 2018.

Learning outcomes

1) Knowledge of the biophysics and physiology of the cell
2) Mechanisms of organ functions
3) Integration of the organ functions into apparatuses
4) Local and systemic controls of organ functions
5) Human physiological parameters ant their homeostatic control

Program

1 Biophysics and cellular physiology
Homeostasis and the constancy of the internal environment. Structure of the membrane. Movement of molecules across the membrane. Resting membrane potential, graded potentials, action potential.

2 Muscle
Skeletal muscle: Molecular bases of contraction; neuromuscular junction, excitation-contraction coupling; types of synaptic transmission block; mechanics and energy expenditure of contraction; types of muscle fibres; motor unit; modulation of strength of contraction; muscle fatigue; effects of exercise. Smooth muscle: classification; molecular bases of contraction; excitation-contraction coupling.


3 Nervous System
Functional anatomy of the neuron. Structure of the synapse. Function of excitatory and inhibitory synapses. Temporal and spatial summation. Modulation of synaptic function: short-term and long-term synaptic plasticity. Principles of functional organization of the nervous tissue. Sensory systems: sensory receptors and transduction of sensory stimulus into nerve impulses; classification of sensory modalities; somatic sensation; pain sensation; chemical senses: smell and taste. Motor systems: spinal control of movement; spinal reflexes; alpha-gamma activation; different levels of control of posture and locomotion; functional organization of motor pathways.

4 Cardio-vascular system
Blood tissue: components and regulation of red cells production. The heart: functional structure; rhythmical excitation; excitation-contraction coupling; electrocardiogram in physiology and pathology; the cardiac cycle; regulation of cardiac output and venous return; Starling’s law . Circulation: overview; hemodynamic, pressure, flow, resistance, velocity; arterial pressure, definition, measurement, control; arterioles; local (organ) control of blood flow; capillary flow, diffusion of molecules, filtration and reabsorption of fluids; veins.

5 Respiratory system
Functional anatomy. Ventilation mechanics; Volumes and capacitances of the lungs; partial pressures of the gases; alveolar gas exchanges; respiratory exchange ratio; alveolar ventilation/perfusion ratio; transport of gases in the blood; respiratory center; chemical control of respiration; respiratory alkalosis/acidosis; hypoxia.

6 Kidney
Functional structure. Glomerular filtration, renal blood flow ant their control. Clearance. Renal tubular reabsorption and secretion. Henle’s loop. Control of water and sodium secretion. Control of potassium and calcium secretion. Control of pH.

7 Gastrointestinal system
Functional organization of the gastrointestinal tract. Neuronal and hormonal control GI function. Types of movements. Secretion of fluids and enzymes. Digestion and absorption of carbohydrates, proteins, lipids. Salivation and ingestion. The stomach. Small intestine. Colon.

8 Endocrinology
Principles of function. Pituitary hormones and their hypothalamic control. Thyroid and parathyroid hormones. Adrenocortical hormones. Pancreatic hormones. Gonadic hormones.

9 Physiology of the stomatognathic apparatus
Tooth pain sensation. Mechanism and reflexes of chewing. Central control of chewing.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Koeppen B.M., Stanton B.A. Berne Levy Fisiologia (Edizione 6) Ambrosiana 2010
Barrett K.E., Barman S.M., Boitano S., Brooks L.H. Fisiologia Medica di Ganong (Edizione 13) Piccin 2017
Hall J.E. Guyton e Hall Fisiologia Medica (Edizione 13) edra 2017
Widmaier E.P., Raff H., Strang K.T. Vander Fisiologia (Edizione 2) Ambrosiana 2018 9788808280022

Examination Methods

The final test consists in an interview based primarily on the subjects taught during the lessons and implemented with the reading of the textbooks. Those subjects that were not taught in class can also be the part of the interview.

Free choice courses

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Gestione carriere


Graduation

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf Copertina tesi_fac simile 288 KB, 11/08/22 
Doc_Univr_pdf Norme redazionali della tesi di laurea 305 KB, 24/03/22 
Doc_Univr_pdf Regolamento esame finale 379 KB, 24/03/22 

Area riservata studenti