Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2019/2020

Academic calendar

Il calendario accademico riporta le scadenze, gli adempimenti e i periodi rilevanti per la componente studentesca, personale docente e personale dell'Università. Sono inoltre indicate le festività e le chiusure ufficiali dell'Ateneo.
L’anno accademico inizia il 1° ottobre e termina il 30 settembre dell'anno successivo.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates. .

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
primo semestre magistrali Sep 30, 2019 Dec 20, 2019
secondo semestre magistrali Feb 24, 2020 May 29, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale magistrali Jan 7, 2020 Feb 21, 2020
Sessione estiva magistrali Jun 3, 2020 Jul 10, 2020
Autumn Session exams Aug 24, 2020 Sep 11, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Autumn Session Dec 2, 2019 Dec 4, 2019
Winter Session Apr 7, 2020 Apr 9, 2020
Summer session Sep 7, 2020 Sep 9, 2020

Exam calendar

The exam roll calls are centrally administered by the operational unit   Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit
Exam Session Calendar and Roll call enrolment   sistema ESSE3 . If you forget your password to the online services, please contact the technical office in your Faculty or to the service credential recovery .

Exam calendar

Per dubbi o domande Read the answers to the more serious and frequent questions - F.A.Q. Examination enrolment

Academic staff

B C D G L M P R S V Z

Bazzani Claudia

claudia.bazzani@univr.it 0458028734

Broglia Angela

angela.broglia@univr.it 045 802 8240

Brunetti Federico

federico.brunetti@univr.it 045 802 8494

Bucciol Alessandro

alessandro.bucciol@univr.it 045 802 8278

Campolmi Alessia

alessia.campolmi@univr.it 045 802 8071

Chesini Giuseppina

giusy.chesini@univr.it 045 802 8495 (VR) -- 0444/393938 (VI)

Ciampi Annalisa

annalisa.ciampi@univr.it 045 802 8061

Cipriani Giam Pietro

giampietro.cipriani@univr.it 045 802 8271

Confente Ilenia

ilenia.confente@univr.it 045 802 8174

De Sinopoli Francesco

francesco.desinopoli@univr.it 045 842 5450

Gaudenzi Barbara

barbara.gaudenzi@univr.it 045 802 8623

Levati Maria Vittoria

vittoria.levati@univr.it 045 802 8640

Menon Martina

martina.menon@univr.it 045 802 8420

Minozzo Marco

marco.minozzo@univr.it 045 802 8234

Mion Giorgio

giorgio.mion@univr.it 045.802 8172

Pellegrini Letizia

letizia.pellegrini@univr.it 045 802 8345

Perali Federico

federico.perali@univr.it 045 802 8486

Pertile Paolo

paolo.pertile@univr.it 045 802 8438

Picarelli Athena

athena.picarelli@univr.it 045 802 8447

Roffia Paolo

paolo.roffia@univr.it 045 802 8012

Signori Paola

paola.signori@univr.it 0444 393942 (VI) 045 802 8492 (VR)

Sommacal Alessandro

alessandro.sommacal@univr.it 045 802 8716

Veronesi Marcella

marcella.veronesi@univr.it 045 802 8025

Zoli Claudio

claudio.zoli@univr.it 045 802 8479

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

Training offer to be defined

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02460

Credits

9

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

SECS-P/01 - ECONOMICS

Language of instruction

English en

Period

primo semestre magistrali dal Sep 30, 2019 al Dec 20, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The course covers topics of consumer theory, production theory, industrial organization, and experimental/behavioral economics. It is divided into three parts. The first part will analyze economic models of individual decision-making, consumer behavior, and firm behavior. The second part will provide students with rigorous economic tools for the analysis of market structure and market relations. The third part will introduce concepts of experimental and behavioral economics, paying particular attention to alternative theories of individual choice behavior. Theoretical lectures will be complemented by practical exercise classes and tutorials aiming at applying the concepts and methods developed during the course. At the end of the course, students should be able to: - understand the determinants of consumers' and firms' choices as well as the fundamental characteristics of different market structures, - apply economic models for the analysis of markets structure and behavior, - critically assess the implications of different behavioral models for the analysis of individual and group choices.

Program

MODULE 1
Traditional Approach to Consumer Theory:
- preference relations
- choice
- utility functions
- utility maximization problem
- expenditure minimization problem
- duality

Production Theory:
- technology
- profit maximization problem
- cost minimization problem

Markets Structures and Organization:
- perfect competition
- advanced monopoly theory
- markets for homogeneous/differentiated products
- self-enforcing collusion

MODULE 2
Behavioral and experimental economics:
- methods of experimental economics
- models of other-regarding preferences
- applications to industrial organization

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Jehle Geoffrey and Reny Philip Advanced Microeconomic Theory (Edizione 3) Pearson 2011
Shy Oz Industrial Organization: Theory and Applications (Edizione 2) MIT Press 1999

Examination Methods

Students' preparation will be assessed through a written exam that will include open questions on the theory and a number of exercises. The exam will test the students' accurate and thorough understanding of the concepts, methods, and models explained during the course as well as their ability to use theoretical tools in order to solve empirical questions.

Moreover, students are given the opportunity to present an article to the class. The lecturer will distribute the articles among which a student can select the one (s)he wants to present.

Tipologia di Attività formativa D e F

Academic year

Training offer to be defined

Career prospects


Avvisi degli insegnamenti e del corso di studio

Per la comunità studentesca

Se sei già iscritta/o a un corso di studio, puoi consultare tutti gli avvisi relativi al tuo corso di studi nella tua area riservata MyUnivr.
In questo portale potrai visualizzare informazioni, risorse e servizi utili che riguardano la tua carriera universitaria (libretto online, gestione della carriera Esse3, corsi e-learning, email istituzionale, modulistica di segreteria, procedure amministrative, ecc.).
Entra in MyUnivr con le tue credenziali GIA.

Internships


Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
La (cattiva) gestione dei fondi comunitari in Italia ECONOMICS - ECONOMICS
Analisi dell'Impatto della Regolamentazione: potenziale e applicazioni concrete Various topics
Costs and benefits of the new Turin-Lyon railway line Various topics
Costs and benefits of new systems for speed control on italian motorways Various topics
Contingent valuation for the quality of hospital characteristics Various topics
Evaluating occupational impacts of large investment projects Various topics

Admission policy

ADMISSION POLICY

The admission procedure for international students is explained in details at:
www.magecverona.it/admission-benefits/
For further information please contact magec@dse.univr.it


Additional information

 

Additional information

For further information visit the program website, http://magec.dse.univr.it, or send an email at magec@dse.univr.it.

 


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.