Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Semester 1 Oct 2, 2017 Jan 20, 2018
FULL YEAR Oct 2, 2017 Jun 9, 2018
Semester 2 Feb 26, 2018 Jun 9, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Winter session Jan 22, 2018 Feb 24, 2018
Summer session Jun 11, 2018 Jul 28, 2018
Autumn session Aug 27, 2018 Sep 22, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale a.a. 2016/2017 Dec 18, 2017 Dec 21, 2017
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale a.a. 2016/2017 Mar 23, 2018 Mar 29, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva Jul 16, 2018 Jul 21, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale Nov 12, 2018 Nov 17, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale Apr 12, 2019 Apr 18, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
All Saints Day Nov 1, 2017 Nov 1, 2017
Immaculate Conception Dec 8, 2017 Dec 8, 2017
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Liberation Day Apr 25, 2018 Apr 25, 2018
Labour Day May 1, 2018 May 1, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Republic Day Jun 2, 2018 Jun 2, 2018
Summer break Aug 13, 2018 Aug 18, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K L M N O P R S T Z

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Artoni Daniele

daniele.artoni@univr.it +39 045802 8465

Battisti Chiara

chiara.battisti@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Bertagna Federica

federica.bertagna@univr.it 0458028637

Bertazzoli Raffaella

raffaella.bertazzoli@univr.it +39 045802 8331

Bezrucka Yvonne

yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it +39 045802 8580

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Boschiero Manuel

manuel.boschiero@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Cagliero Roberto

roberto.cagliero@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Cantalupi Cecilia

cecilia.cantalupi@univr.it

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Cappelletti Cristina

cristina.cappelletti@univr.it + 39 045 802 8194

Celentin Paola

paola.celentin@univr.it

Cipolla Maria Adele

adele.cipolla@univr.it +39 045802 8314

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Corrizzato Sara

sara.corrizzato@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Dalle Pezze Francesca

francesca.dallepezze@univr.it + 39 045802 8598

Darici Katiuscia

katiuscia.darici@univr.it

Fiorato Sidia

sidia.fiorato@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Fossaluzza Giorgio

giorgio.fossaluzza@univr.it +39 045 802 8795

Franceschi Valeria

valeria.franceschi@univr.it +39 045802 8729

Frassi Paolo

paolo.frassi@univr.it +39 045802 8408

Gambin Felice

felice.gambin@univr.it +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Giust Anna

anna.giust@univr.it +39 045 802 8465

Gorris Rosanna

rosanna.gorris@univr.it +39 045802 8324

Hartle Sharon

sharon.hartle@univr.it +39 045802 8259

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Macor Laura Anna

lauraanna.macor@univr.it 045 802 8686

Merlin Stella

stella.merlin@univr.it +39 045802 8331

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Neri Stefano

stefano.neri@univr.it +39 045802 8692

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Padovan Andrea

andrea.padovan@univr.it +39 045 802 8753

Paolini Sara

sara.paolini@univr.it

Pelloni Gabriella

gabriella.pelloni@univr.it +39 045802 8328

Piccinin Sabrina

sabrina.piccinin@univr.it

Pisaniello Valerio

valerio.pisaniello@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Pomarolli Giorgia

giorgia.pomarolli@univr.it +390458028405

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Salgaro Silvino

silvino.salgaro@univr.it +39 045802 8272

Salvi Luca

luca.salvi@univr.it +39 045802 8468

Sartor Elisa

elisa.sartor@univr.it +39 045802 8598

Sassi Carla

carla.sassi@univr.it +39 045802 8701

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Schiffermuller Isolde

ischifferm@univr.it +39 045802 8478

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

giovanni.tallarico@univr.it +39 045 802 8663

Zanfei Anna

anna.zanfei@univr.it +39 045802 8347

Zinato Susanna

susanna.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
2nd foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
One course to be chosen among the following
3rd foreign Language (b1)
3
F
-
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
One course to be chosen among the following
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
One course to be chosen among the following
6
C
M-FIL/04
One course to be chosen among the following

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
2nd foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
One course to be chosen among the following
3rd foreign Language (b1)
3
F
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
One course to be chosen among the following

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
One course to be chosen among the following
6
C
M-FIL/04
One course to be chosen among the following
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002925

Coordinatore

Sharon Hartle

Credits

9

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/12 - LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION - ENGLISH

Period

II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) dal Feb 17, 2020 al May 30, 2020.

Learning outcomes

This course aims at studying in depth aspects of the pragmatics of communication and text analysis according to the Text Linguistics model. It will focus on the specific features of the different text types and provide an overview of the main research trends in the field of Translation Studies. By the end of the course, students will develop pragmatic and text analytical competence, be able to identify the main features of the different text types and to create texts that are appropriate to context, and they will also have a deeper understanding of translation research. Students should also acquire a linguistic competence in English at the C1 level according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.

Program

This course adopts an in depth approach to discourse analysis, with a particular reference to written texts. The course will firstly approach discourse analysis from the viewpoint of Functional Linguistics and will then go on to adopt Halliday's system of transitivity as a useful starting point to discourse analysis, going on to look at the panorama of Translation studies with reference to various text typologies.
The course programme includes constant reference and practice to the question types used in the final exam.

Programme
Introduction to English 3: language as fluid and socially embedded
Focus on text: going beyond the sentence
Cohesion: development and use in discourse analysis
Halliday’s system of Transitivity
Lexis (1): focus on Appraisal
Lexis (2) Focus on corpora
Introduction to Translation theory
Focus on translating literary and other texts
Practice exam simulation


Students will also develop their knowledge of English during this course and reach a level of C1 according to the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR)
Teaching Methodology
The course will consist of a blended learning approach which combines face to dace classroom lectures with classroom discussion and the use of digital tools; the students are encouraged to participate actively in the discussions.

Students who cannot come to class are invited to access the Moodle platfom with their university passwords.

Further bibliographical references to those published on this page will be supplied during the course and published on the Moodle platform.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
David Bellos Is That a Fish in Your Ear? Penguin Books 2011 978-0-141-96962-6
Christopher Taylor Language to Language Cambridge University Press 1998 0-521-59723-4

Examination Methods

Pre-requisite: C1 language certificate (Council of Europe). This can be obtained from the Language Centre (CLA) or from a number of certified language institutes (see student guide).

Aims: the exam aims at evaluating:
- the knowledge and understanding of the topics in the syllabus
- the ability to make linguistic analyses
- the development of metalinguistic awareness
-
Contents: students will be examined on the range of topics listed in the syllabus

Assessment: a written exam consisting of open questions, multiple choice questions, phonetic transcriptions and exercises. The exam lasts 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Evaluation: the final mark (out of 30)is a combination of the written exam (50%) and the mark of the C1 language certificate (50%)

Final note: the contents of the exam are the same for attending and non-attending students. All students will be tested for the same skills.

Bibliography

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Gestione carriere


Stage e tirocini

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.
Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.

 

Linguistic training CLA


Attività accreditate D/F

MODALITÀ DI VERBALIZZAZIONE ATTIVITÀ ACCREDITATE D/F
(delibera Collegio didattico Lingue e LL.SS del 8-11-2017)

Tutte le attività accreditate in Collegio Didattico verranno verbalizzate con firma digitale dal docente proponente.
Per ciascuna attività accreditata verrà aperto un UNICO APPELLO VERBALIZZANTE, la cui data coinciderà con quella di inizio dell’attività.
In linea di massima, la lista di verbalizzazione online sarà aperta 20 giorni prima dell’inizio dell’attività e si chiuderà il giorno precedente l'inizio dell’evento (ciclo di conferenze, convegno, etc.).
Si tratta di attività che vengono verbalizzate con un unico appello.
 
IMPORTANTE!
Lo studente si dovrà necessariamente iscrivere per ottenere la verbalizzazione dei CFU riconosciuti.
Lo studente che NON DOVESSE ISCRIVERSI ALL’APPELLO, una volta che questo risulterà chiuso, NON POTRÀ PIÙ OTTENERE I RELATIVI CFU, in quanto non verranno aperti ulteriori appelli per l’attività accreditata.
Lo studente dovrà altresì controllare se l’attività è accreditata per il corso di studi a cui è iscritto.

L'allegato, di seguito riportato, contiene l'elenco delle attività accreditate dai Collegi didattici e dal Consiglio di Dipartimento di Lingue e LL. SS., valide per l'attribuzione di CFU in tipologia D o F per gli studenti dell'area di Lingue e Letterature straniere.
 

Attachments


Student Guide

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf Vademecum normativo area Lingue e letterature straniere 1006 KB, 24/09/21 

Assegnazione tutore

Lo studente può presentare domanda di assegnazione del tutore dell'elaborato finale una volta acquisiti almeno 135 CFU, con obbligo di aver superato gli esami di Lingua straniera 2, per entrambe le lingue di studio.
La presentazione della domanda verrà fatta tramite modulo da consegnare mediante servizio di Help desk.

Le prossime scadenze per l'inoltro della domanda sono:

- 20 aprile 2022  - assegnazione utile per la sessione di laurea autunnale (novembre 2022) o seguenti
- 26 settembre 2022 - assegnazione utile per la sessione di laurea invernale (marzo-aprile 2023) o seguenti

Per tutte le informazioni riguardanti la procedura di assegnazione tutore e per la compilazione della domanda si rimanda all'allegato "Norme relative alla procedura di assegnazione del tutore".

Si ricorda che la domanda di assegnazione tutore è VALIDA PER 1 ANNO al termine del quale è necessario presentare domanda di rinnovo o richiesta di nuova assegnazione

Attachments


Saperi minimi

I saperi minimi (OFA) sono i requisiti richiesti per potersi iscrivere al successivo anno di corso. L'iscrizione al secondo anno è infatti subordinata ai risultati dell’accertamento degli OFA. Lo studente che non supera la verifica dei saperi minimi entro il 30 settembre viene iscritto al 1 anno in qualità di ripetente.

NOTA BENE
Il livello B2 (completo) di lingua italiana è obbligatorio solamente per gli studenti extra UE e per gli studenti che si sono diplomati in una Scuola Superiore la cui lingua di insegnamento sia diversa dall'italiano. Senza tale certificazione lo studente non può sostenere alcun esame.

Avvertenza per gli studenti provenienti da Paesi extra UE: il test di accertamento della conoscenza della lingua italiana sostenuto in fase di immatricolazione presso il CLA (Centro Linguistico di Ateneo), nella data indicata dal MIUR, non assolve i saperi minimi (OFA) di livello B2 completo della lingua italiana.


RECUPERO SAPERI MINIMI: calendario esercitazioni

In allegato sono pubblicati i calendari delle attività di recupero dei saperi minimi.

 

Attachments


Area riservata studenti