Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
FULL YEAR Oct 2, 2017 Jun 9, 2018
Semester 1 Oct 2, 2017 Jan 20, 2018
Semester 2 Feb 26, 2018 Jun 9, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Winter session Jan 22, 2018 Feb 24, 2018
Summer session Jun 11, 2018 Jul 28, 2018
Autumn session Aug 27, 2018 Sep 22, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale a.a. 2016/2017 Dec 18, 2017 Dec 21, 2017
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale a.a. 2016/2017 Mar 23, 2018 Mar 29, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva Jul 16, 2018 Jul 21, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale Nov 12, 2018 Nov 17, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale Apr 12, 2019 Apr 18, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
All Saints Day Nov 1, 2017 Nov 1, 2017
Immaculate Conception Dec 8, 2017 Dec 8, 2017
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Liberation Day Apr 25, 2018 Apr 25, 2018
Labour Day May 1, 2018 May 1, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Republic Day Jun 2, 2018 Jun 2, 2018
Summer break Aug 13, 2018 Aug 18, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K L M N O P R S T Z

Aloe Stefano

symbol email stefano.aloe@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8409

Artoni Daniele

symbol email daniele.artoni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8465

Battisti Chiara

symbol email chiara.battisti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8317

Bertagna Federica

symbol email federica.bertagna@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028637

Bertazzoli Raffaella

symbol email raffaella.bertazzoli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8331

Bezrucka Yvonne

symbol email yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8580

Borghetti Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8584

Boschiero Manuel

symbol email manuel.boschiero@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8405

Brunetti Simona

symbol email simona.brunetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8575

Cagliero Roberto

symbol email roberto.cagliero@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8694

Cantalupi Cecilia

symbol email cecilia.cantalupi@univr.it

Cantarini Sibilla

symbol email sibilla.cantarini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8199

Cappelletti Cristina

symbol email cristina.cappelletti@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8194

Celentin Paola

symbol email paola.celentin@gmail.com symbol phone-number +393471330905

Cipolla Maria Adele

symbol email adele.cipolla@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8314

Colombo Laura Maria

symbol email laura.colombo@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8322

Corrizzato Sara

symbol email sara.corrizzato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8694

Dalle Pezze Francesca

symbol email francesca.dallepezze@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8598

Darici Katiuscia

symbol email katiuscia.darici@univr.it

Fiorato Sidia

symbol email sidia.fiorato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8317

Fossaluzza Giorgio

symbol email giorgio.fossaluzza@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8795

Franceschi Valeria

symbol email valeria.franceschi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8729

Frassi Paolo

symbol email paolo.frassi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8408

Gambin Felice

symbol email felice.gambin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

symbol email stefano.genetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8412

Giust Anna

symbol email anna.giust@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8465

Gorris Rosanna

symbol email rosanna.gorris@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8324

Hartle Sharon

symbol email sharon.hartle@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8259

Kofler Peter Erwin

symbol email peter.kofler@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8313

Macor Laura Anna

symbol email lauraanna.macor@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8686

Merlin Stella

symbol email stella.merlin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8331

Miotti Renzo

symbol email renzo.miotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8571

Neri Stefano

symbol email stefano.neri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8692

Ophaelders Markus Georg

symbol email markus.ophalders@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8028732

Padovan Andrea

symbol email andrea.padovan@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8753

Paolini Sara

symbol email sara.paolini@univr.it

Pelloni Gabriella

symbol email gabriella.pelloni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8328

Piccinin Sabrina

symbol email sabrina.piccinin@univr.it

Pisaniello Valerio

symbol email valerio.pisaniello@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8381

Pomarolli Giorgia

symbol email giorgia.pomarolli@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458028405

Rabanus Stefan

symbol email stefan.rabanus@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8490

Salgaro Silvino

symbol email silvino.salgaro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8272

Salvi Luca

symbol email luca.salvi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8468

Sartor Elisa

symbol email elisa.sartor@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8598

Sassi Carla

symbol email carla.sassi@univr.it symbol phone-number +393458304303

Scandola Alberto

symbol email alberto.scandola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045.8028586

Schiffermuller Isolde

symbol email ischifferm@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8478

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

symbol email giovanni.tallarico@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8663

Zanfei Anna

symbol email anna.zanfei@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8347

Zinato Susanna

symbol email susanna.zinato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8318

Zinato Andrea

symbol email andrea.zinato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
2nd foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
One course to be chosen among the following
3rd foreign Language (b1)
3
F
-
activated in the A.Y. 2018/2019
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
One course to be chosen among the following
activated in the A.Y. 2019/2020
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
One course to be chosen among the following
6
C
M-FIL/04
One course to be chosen among the following

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
2nd foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
One course to be chosen among the following
3rd foreign Language (b1)
3
F
-

2° Year activated in the A.Y. 2018/2019

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
One course to be chosen among the following

3° Year activated in the A.Y. 2019/2020

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
One course to be chosen among the following
6
C
M-FIL/04
One course to be chosen among the following
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002949

Coordinatore

Yvonne Bezrucka

Credits

9

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Period

I semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) dal Sep 30, 2019 al Jan 11, 2020.

Learning outcomes

The course, held in English, aims at introducing Students to the English Literature from the 16th century to the Restoration (1660), paying emphasis on some canonical literary texts. Besides, it will offer skills and abilities for the critical analysis of literary texts and their genres. The course objective is to provide a good knowledge of the literature of the period (historical context, texts, genres, literary movements and authors) and to develop in Students a capacity of analysis and argumentative abilities in relation to the various typologies of literary texts set in their literary, historical, and cultural context.

At the end of the course, Student will be able to
- analyse the examined literary texts setting them in their historical and cultural context;
- discuss them in an argumentative way, with due consideration to contemporary literary conventions, and by applying a critical, knowledgeable, and aware approach to the specificity of the literary texts;
- present the acquired competences in English, and in a coherent and clear way.

Program

"Magic Creatures Defying Authority "

The course "Magic Creatures Defying the Authority of Culture and Kings" will offer an overview of the history of the Elizabethan theatre and of Shakespeare’s works in the light of the Bard's gentle contestation of the Greek and Latin cultural models, which anticipates the Battle of the Books and tries to re-establish the minority vernacular and local cultural tradition which Spenser's 'Faerie Queene' had already promoted, in recovering the magic creatures present in Wales, Cornwall, Ireland, and Scotland. An in-depth reading of two instances of Shakespeare’s major deconstructions of canonical Authority – 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' and 'The Tempest' – will provide us the opportunity to foreground highly topical issues: the safeguarding of both human, and magic different species' rights, besides the Bard's 'avant la lettre' defence of the natural environment. The championing of a multicultural attitude, the recognition of minorities and their rights, and an attitude of togetherness-in-difference, is Shakespeare’s response to the dangers of authoritarian attitudes (as 'Othello' testifies).

Primary bibliography:


William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge 2009 or Arden edition.
William Shakespeare, The Tempest, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge 2009 or Arden edition.
Edmund Spenser, The Faerie Queene, ed. A. C. Hamilton, London: Routledge, canto 1 and 5.

Secondary Bibliography:
- Andrew Murphy "The Book on the Screen: Shakespeare Films and Textual Culture" in Mark Thornton Burnett, Ramona Wray eds. (2000) Shakespeare, Film, and the Fin de Siècle (Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan), pp. 10-25.
- Marc Thornton Burnett "Impressions of Fantasy: Adrian Noble's 'A Midsummer Night's Dream", in Mark Thornton Burnett, Ramona Wray eds. (2000) 'Shakespeare, Film, and the Fin de Siècle' (Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan), pp. 89-101.
- Douglas Bruster "The Postmodern Theatre of Paul Mazursky's 'Tempest'" in Mark Thornton Burnett, Ramona Wray eds. (2000) 'Shakespeare, Film, and the Fin de Siècle' (Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan), pp. 26-39.
-Yvonne Bezrucka (2017) 'The Invention of Northern Aesthetics in 18th-c. English Literature (Newcastle: Cambridge Scholars).

Prof. Sidia Fiorato (3-credit course)
La dott.ssa Fiorato terrà le ultime 18 ore, che saranno dedicate alla messa in scena delle opere in programma:
Prof. Fiorato will analyse the mise en scene of the Shakespearean works in the programme:

Bibliografia critica:
Essays to be read are:
- James C. Bulman, Introduction: Cross-Currents in Performance Criticism", in James C. Bulman ed., The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare and Performance , Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2017, 1-9
- Yvonne Bezrucka, “Performing Arts/Performance Art”, in 'Consumer Culture Encyclopedia', Sage Publication, New York and London, 2011, 3 volumes, vol. 3, pp. 1079-1081.
- Edward Isser, "Permissive, Implied, and missing Stage Directions: "Exeunt Omnes" and The Tempest", in Lena Cowen Orlin, Miranda Johnson-Haddad, eds., Staging Shakespeare: Essays in Honour of Alan C. Dessen, Newark: University of Delaware Press, 2007, 114-130
- Michale O'Neill, "Sleepers and Watchers: Audiences of a Midsummer Night's Dream", in Shakespeare Bulletin, 15.3 (1997), 15-19

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
William Shakespeare A Midsummer Night's Dream Cambridge University Press 2009
Ewan Fernie, Ramona Wray Shakespeare, Film, Fin de Siécle Macmillan 2000 - Marc Thorton Burnett (2000) "Impressions of Fantasy: Adrian Noble's 'A Midsummer Night's Dream", pp. 89-101, in Ewan Fernie, Ramona Wray, Shakespeare, Film, Fin de Siécle. - Andrew Murphy (2000) "The Book on the Screen: Shakespeare's Films and Textual Culture", in pp. 10-25, in Ewan Fernie, Ramona Wray, Shakespeare, Film, Fin de Siécle.
Edmund Spenser ed. A. C. Hamilton The Faerie Queene Routledge 2007 9781317865636
Y. Bezrucka The Invention of Northern Aesthetics in 18th-Century English Literature (Edizione 1) Cambridge Scholars Publishing. 2017 ISBN 978-1-5275-0302-1
William Shakespeare The Tempest Cambridge University Press 2009

Examination Methods

VIVA

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Type D and Type F activities

To discover all the teaching activities accredited by the foreign teaching college click here

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Gestione carriere


Student login and resources


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Corso di Lingua catalana


Corso di Lingua portoghese brasiliana


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Saperi minimi


Graduation


Stage e tirocini

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini

Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


 


Vademecum dello studente