Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Semester 1 Oct 2, 2017 Jan 20, 2018
FULL YEAR Oct 2, 2017 Jun 9, 2018
Semester 2 Feb 26, 2018 Jun 9, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Winter session Jan 22, 2018 Feb 24, 2018
Summer session Jun 11, 2018 Jul 28, 2018
Autumn session Aug 27, 2018 Sep 22, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale a.a. 2016/2017 Dec 18, 2017 Dec 21, 2017
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale a.a. 2016/2017 Mar 23, 2018 Mar 29, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva Jul 16, 2018 Jul 21, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale Nov 12, 2018 Nov 17, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale Apr 12, 2019 Apr 18, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
All Saints Day Nov 1, 2017 Nov 1, 2017
Immaculate Conception Dec 8, 2017 Dec 8, 2017
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Liberation Day Apr 25, 2018 Apr 25, 2018
Labour Day May 1, 2018 May 1, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Republic Day Jun 2, 2018 Jun 2, 2018
Summer break Aug 13, 2018 Aug 18, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K L M N O P R S T Z

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Artoni Daniele

daniele.artoni@univr.it +39 045802 8465

Battisti Chiara

chiara.battisti@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Bertagna Federica

federica.bertagna@univr.it 0458028637

Bertazzoli Raffaella

raffaella.bertazzoli@univr.it +39 045802 8331

Bezrucka Yvonne

yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it +39 045802 8580

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Boschiero Manuel

manuel.boschiero@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Cagliero Roberto

roberto.cagliero@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Cantalupi Cecilia

cecilia.cantalupi@univr.it

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Cappelletti Cristina

cristina.cappelletti@univr.it + 39 045 802 8194

Celentin Paola

paola.celentin@univr.it

Cipolla Maria Adele

adele.cipolla@univr.it +39 045802 8314

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Corrizzato Sara

sara.corrizzato@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Dalle Pezze Francesca

francesca.dallepezze@univr.it + 39 045802 8598

Darici Katiuscia

katiuscia.darici@univr.it

Fiorato Sidia

sidia.fiorato@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Fossaluzza Giorgio

giorgio.fossaluzza@univr.it +39 045 802 8795

Franceschi Valeria

valeria.franceschi@univr.it +39 045802 8729

Frassi Paolo

paolo.frassi@univr.it +39 045802 8408

Gambin Felice

felice.gambin@univr.it +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Giust Anna

anna.giust@univr.it +39 045 802 8465

Gorris Rosanna

rosanna.gorris@univr.it +39 045802 8324

Hartle Sharon

sharon.hartle@univr.it +39 045802 8259

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Macor Laura Anna

lauraanna.macor@univr.it 045 802 8686

Merlin Stella

stella.merlin@univr.it +39 045802 8331

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Neri Stefano

stefano.neri@univr.it +39 045802 8692

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Padovan Andrea

andrea.padovan@univr.it +39 045 802 8753

Paolini Sara

sara.paolini@univr.it

Pelloni Gabriella

gabriella.pelloni@univr.it +39 045802 8328

Piccinin Sabrina

sabrina.piccinin@univr.it

Pisaniello Valerio

valerio.pisaniello@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Pomarolli Giorgia

giorgia.pomarolli@univr.it +390458028405

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Salgaro Silvino

silvino.salgaro@univr.it +39 045802 8272

Salvi Luca

luca.salvi@univr.it +39 045802 8468

Sartor Elisa

elisa.sartor@univr.it +39 045802 8598

Sassi Carla

carla.sassi@univr.it +39 045802 8701

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Schiffermuller Isolde

ischifferm@univr.it +39 045802 8478

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

giovanni.tallarico@univr.it +39 045 802 8663

Zanfei Anna

anna.zanfei@univr.it +39 045802 8347

Zinato Susanna

susanna.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
2nd foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
One course to be chosen among the following
3rd foreign Language (b1)
3
F
-
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
One course to be chosen among the following
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
One course to be chosen among the following
6
C
M-FIL/04
One course to be chosen among the following

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
2nd foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
One course to be chosen among the following
3rd foreign Language (b1)
3
F
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
One course to be chosen among the following

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
One course to be chosen among the following
6
C
M-FIL/04
One course to be chosen among the following
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S003493

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-FIL-LET/15 - GERMANIC PHILOLOGY

Period

II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) dal Feb 17, 2020 al May 30, 2020.

Learning outcomes

The course is an Introduction to Germanic Philology; it aims at transmitting basic information on the multi-disciplinary topics of Germanic Philology, which encompass the historical-linguistic survey of Germanic languages, and furthermore information on codicology and the history of books, paleography, textual criticism, and on the cultural history of Germanic peoples

Expected Outcomes
- Basic knowledge of methods and cultural contents related to the literary traditions of Germanic languages
- High level proficiency in the specialistic vocabulary related to every field of Germanic Philology
- Basic knowledge of the different specialistic fields of Germanic Philology, mainly focussing on historical linguistics, in compliance with the general learning outcomes of the Bachelor Degree in Foreign Languages and Literatures (curriculum Literature)

Program

In summary, the programme will develop as follows: 


1st part (= 7 weeks = 28 hours)
Historical linguistics (Germanic isoglosses); Germanic antiquities; vernacular manuscript traditions in Germanic language speaking areas: literary genres.

2nd part (= 2 weeks, = 8 hours)
Introduction to runic epigraphy ('fuþark').


Teaching

Teaching modalities are different for attendees and non-attendees.
Only for attendees: self-evaluation test in itinere (it will be scheduled during the course).

Throughout the entire academic year, the instructor is available weekly during her visiting hours (schedule available on this webpage and can be subject to variations), generally with no need to arrange an appointment, unless there are specific announcements.

At the beginning of the course attendees will receive a complete schedule of the teaching activities (including class dates and place). Possible postponements of the classes will be announced via the e-learning platform.
Non-attendees are kindly requested to contact me. Possible updates will be made available in good time also by means of dedicated posts on the e-learning platform (so everybody is supposed to subscribe to it).

Content of textbooks, as well as of classes and exercise held during the course will be in line with the objectives of the programme. Further materials will be available via the e-learning.

SUGGESTED READINGS

1st Part
S. Leonardi, E. Morlicchio, La filologia germanica e le lingue moderne, Bologna 2009: chapters 1 ('Germani, germanico e filologia': pp. 19-37), 2 ('Le lingue germaniche nel passato': pp. 39-53, 54-61, 62-73, 75-85), 3 ('Dal germanico alle lingue germaniche': pp. 87-102), 4 ('Le lingue germaniche: tratti distintivi': pp. 133-146), 5 ('Lessico e contatti linguistici': pp. 173-202, 204-218), 7 ('La tradizione germanica': pp. 235-245, 247-260), 8 ('Incontri linguistici nel Medioevo': pp. 261-291).

O.E. Haugen, Le lingue nordiche del Medioevo, 2017


Further bibliographical references will be indicated during the course and will be added to this page later on.



Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Simona Leonardi, Elda Morlicchio La filologia germanica e le lingue moderne Bologna 2009 978-88-15-13213-0
Haugen, Odd Einar, et al. Le lingue nordiche nel medioevo (vol. 1) Novus Press 2018 978-82-8390-002-6 Il volume è scaricabile al link http://omp.novus.no/index.php/novus/catalog/book/2 pp. 12-19

Examination Methods

Oral exams during the official exam sessions scheduled and published by the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures. Assessment will include: ATTENDEES--> ongoing evaluation test referring to the 1st part of the programme + oral exams on the orher part of the programme NON-ATTEDEES--> oral exam on the whole programme Objective of assessment In the middle of the course (after the 5th week), students can take written test (preceded by a mock-test which will be corrected and discussed within the class with self-evaluation), aimed at evaluating students' knowledge on the introductory parts of the programme (it will deal with the first 5 weeks of classess) and the corresponding bibliography. The oral exam will deal both with the integration of themes related to the written test and to the 2nd part of the programme). The oral exam will assess: - depth and extent of acquired knowledge - accuracy of acquired vocabulary - ability to link aspects concerning both parts of the programme The intermediate written exam will be structured according to groups of questions related to the main themes of the course and discussed during the classes, with the support of learning materials which will be prepared ad hoc. The evaluation is expressed in 30/30. The written exam will be subject to an evaluation which the student will integrate with the oral exam. To foster the correct understanding of the contents and of the modalities of the pre-assessment written test during the classes the test of last year will be discussed (ot is already available on the e-learning). The oral exam will be on the entire programme. The final evaluation is expressed in 30/30. Erasmus students are kindly requested to contact me at the beginning of the course to arrange both learning and assessment modalities.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Saperi minimi


Graduation


Stage e tirocini

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini

Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


 


Vademecum dello studente