Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2019/2020

Academic calendar

Il calendario accademico riporta le scadenze, gli adempimenti e i periodi rilevanti per la componente studentesca, personale docente e personale dell'Università. Sono inoltre indicate le festività e le chiusure ufficiali dell'Ateneo.
L’anno accademico inizia il 1° ottobre e termina il 30 settembre dell'anno successivo.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates. For further information, please get in touch with Operational unit: Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione Estiva Jul 15, 2020 Jul 15, 2020
Sessione Autunnale Oct 16, 2020 Oct 16, 2020
Sessione Autunnale Dicembre Dec 11, 2020 Dec 11, 2020
Sessione Invernale Mar 17, 2021 Mar 17, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

The exam roll calls are centrally administered by the operational unit  Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit
Exam Session Calendar and Roll call enrolment sistema ESSE3 .If you forget your password to the online services, please contact the technical office in your Faculty.

Exam calendar

Per dubbi o domande Read the answers to the more serious and frequent questions - F.A.Q. Examination enrolment

Academic staff

B C D F G M O P Q R S T V

Ballottari Matteo

matteo.ballottari@univr.it 045 802 7098

Baruffi Maria Caterina

mariacaterina.baruffi@univr.it +39 045 8028827 - 47

Bicego Manuele

manuele.bicego@univr.it +39 045 802 7072

Bonnici Vincenzo

vincenzo.bonnici@univr.it +39 045 802 7045

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Busato Federico

federico.busato@univr.it

Calanca Andrea

andrea.calanca@univr.it +39 045 802 7847

Canevari Giacomo

giacomo.canevari@univr.it +39 045 8027979

Capaldi Stefano

stefano.capaldi@univr.it +39 045 802 7907

Cicalese Ferdinando

ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it +39 045 802 7969

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Cristani Matteo

matteo.cristani@univr.it 045 802 7983

Daducci Alessandro

alessandro.daducci@univr.it +39 045 8027025

Dall'Alba Diego

diego.dallalba@univr.it +39 045 802 7074

Della Libera Chiara

chiara.dellalibera@univr.it +39 0458027219

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dell'Orco Daniele

daniele.dellorco@univr.it +39 045 802 7637

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

mariapina.donofrio@univr.it 045 802 7801

Drago Nicola

nicola.drago@univr.it 045 802 7081

Farinelli Alessandro

alessandro.farinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7842

Giachetti Andrea

andrea.giachetti@univr.it +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7995

Giorgetti Alejandro

alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Mariotto Gino

gino.mariotto@univr.it +39 045 8027031

Maris Bogdan Mihai

bogdan.maris@univr.it +39 045 802 7074

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Migliorini Sara

sara.migliorini@univr.it +39 045 802 7908

Oliboni Barbara

barbara.oliboni@univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Paci Federica Maria Francesca

federicamariafrancesca.paci@univr.it +39 045 802 7909

Piccinelli Fabio

fabio.piccinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7097

Posenato Roberto

roberto.posenato@univr.it +39 045 802 7967

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Romeo Alessandro

alessandro.romeo@univr.it +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Spoto Nicola Fausto

fausto.spoto@univr.it +39 045 8027940

Storti Silvia Francesca

silviafrancesca.storti@univr.it +39 045 802 7908

Trabetti Elisabetta

elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it 045/8027209

Villa Tiziano

tiziano.villa@univr.it +39 045 802 7034

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
(MAT/02)
6
C
(BIO/13)
12
C
(CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06)
6
A
(FIS/01)
English B1
6
E
-
TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(INF/01)
6
C
(BIO/18)
1 module among the following
6
C
(FIS/07)

1° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
(MAT/02)
6
C
(BIO/13)
12
C
(CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06)
6
A
(FIS/01)
English B1
6
E
-

2° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(INF/01)
6
C
(BIO/18)
1 module among the following
6
C
(FIS/07)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S004476

Coordinatore

Maria Teresa Valenti

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/11 - MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

Language of instruction

Italian

Period

II semestre dal Mar 2, 2020 al Jun 12, 2020.

Learning outcomes

The aim of this course is to provide a detailed description at the molecular level of the main issues regarding the mechanisms involved in transmission, variation and expression of the information con-tained in the genome of prokaryotes and eukaryotes. The main topics of the course will focus on a detailed description of the processes of gene transcription and translation and those related to DNA replication and mutagenesis.

The students will acquire knowledge of the fundamental structures of biological systems in a molecu-lar and cellular perspective and of the mechanisms inherent to the transmission, manipulation and expression of the information contained in the genome of prokaryotes and eukaryotes.

The students will be able to understand the genetic bases of life and to apply the acquired knowledge to use and possibly develop bioinformatics tools for the investigation of structure-function relationships of biological macromolecules and the regulation of their functions. They will be able to read and un-derstand advanced biology textsbooks and undertake a master-level course in both biotechnology and bioinformatics.

Program

DNA: Structure and Conformations
Genomic and mitochondrial DNA
Chromatin and chromosomes
DNA replication
DNA repair mechanisms
Recombination
Genes and Genetic Code
RNA: structure and conformations
RNA transcription and maturation
Regulation of gene expression in procariotes
Regulation of gene expression in eukaryotes
Protein: translation and related regulations
Post-translational protein changes and regulations
Role of epigenetics in biomedicine
Methylation mechanisms and microRNAs
Molecular biology techniques
Gene therapy
Model organisms for the study of molecular biology

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Michael Cox Biologia Molecolare Zanichelli 2013
Amaldi, Benedetti, Pesole, Plevani Biologia Molecolare (Edizione 3) Ambrosiana 2018 978-88-08-18518-1

Examination Methods

The exam consists of multiple-choice test.

Tipologia di Attività formativa D e F

Academic year
1° periodo di lezioni From 9/30/19 To 12/14/19
years Teachings TAF Teacher
The fashion lab (1 ECTS) D Maria Caterina Baruffi (Coordinatore)
I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Teachings TAF Teacher
Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/2/20 To 6/12/20
years Teachings TAF Teacher
CyberPhysical Laboratory D Andrea Calanca (Coordinatore)
C++ Programming Language D Federico Busato (Coordinatore)
LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinatore)
Matlab-Simulink programming D Bogdan Mihai Maris (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Teachings TAF Teacher
Corso Europrogettazione D Not yet assigned
The course provides an introduction to blockchain technology. It focuses on the technology behind Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tendermint and Hotmoka. D Matteo Cristani

Career prospects


Avvisi degli insegnamenti e del corso di studio

Per la comunità studentesca

Se sei già iscritta/o a un corso di studio, puoi consultare tutti gli avvisi relativi al tuo corso di studi nella tua area riservata MyUnivr.
In questo portale potrai visualizzare informazioni, risorse e servizi utili che riguardano la tua carriera universitaria (libretto online, gestione della carriera Esse3, corsi e-learning, email istituzionale, modulistica di segreteria, procedure amministrative, ecc.).
Entra in MyUnivr con le tue credenziali GIA.

University Language Centre - CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.