Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
1 A Sep 26, 2022 Nov 5, 2022
1 B Nov 14, 2022 Dec 23, 2022
2 A Feb 13, 2023 Apr 6, 2023
2 B Apr 12, 2023 May 27, 2023

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G K L N P R S Z

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Bertagna Federica

federica.bertagna@univr.it 0458028637

Bigliazzi Silvia

silvia.bigliazzi@univr.it +39 045802 8477

Bognolo Anna

anna.bognolo@univr.it +39 045802 8327

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it +39 045802 8663

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Bullado Emanuela

emanuela.bullado@univr.it 045 8028548

Buoncompagni Giacomo

giacomo.buoncompagni@univr.it

Butturini Daniele

daniele.butturini@univr.it +39 045 8028882

Castellani Paola

paola.castellani@univr.it 045 802 8127

Ceschi Andrea

andrea.ceschi@univr.it +39 045 802 8137

Corte Maurizio

maurizio.corte@univr.it

Delfitto Denis

denis.delfitto@univr.it +39 045802 8114

Drago Nicola

nicola.drago@univr.it 045 802 7081

Facchinetti Roberta

roberta.facchinetti@univr.it +39 045802 8374

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Giust Anna

anna.giust@univr.it +39 045 802 8465

Gorris Rosanna

rosanna.gorris@univr.it +39 045802 8324

Guaraldo Olivia

olivia.guaraldo@univr.it +39 045802 8066

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Lotti Denis

denis.lotti@univr.it 0458028618

Neri Stefano

stefano.neri@univr.it +39 045802 8692

Pasqua Michele

michele.pasqua@univr.it 045 8027803

Pasqualicchio Nicola

nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it 0458028585

Poggi Davide

davide.poggi@univr.it +39 045802 8361

Possenti Ilaria

ilaria.possenti@univr.it +39 045802 8687

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Rech Giovanna

giovanna.rech@univr.it

Rossato Chiara

chiara.rossato@univr.it 045 802 8620

Sartor Elisa

elisa.sartor@univr.it +39 045802 8598

Savi Paola

paola.savi@univr.it 045-8028243

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Training (Editing or journalism field)
6
F
-
Final exam
18
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°
Between the years: 1°- 2°
Further activities
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

iIntroductory
padvanced
mMasterful

Teaching code

4S003573

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-ART/07 - MUSICOLOGY AND HISTORY OF MUSIC

Period

1 A, 1 B

Learning objectives

The course aims to introduce students to the issues and methods concerning the study of the relationship between music and media, focusing especially on the technologies used to fix, transmit, read and listen to music in the western world from the Middle Ages to the present. On successful completion of the module, students will have acquired extensive knowledge of the material and technological features of music media; they will have also developed the skills necessary for analyzing the cultural, social and ideological aspects of music media.

Prerequisites and basic notions

No prerequisites: it is not necessary to be able to read music. The basic musical concepts will be explained in class.

Program

Writing, reading, listening to-, “seeing” music from the Middle Ages to the digital era. The course offers a history of music through its media, focusing especially on their material and technological features, their uses, and their social, cultural and ideological aspects, starting from the oldest documented forms of mediatization (manuscripts, prints) and ending with the most recent ones (digital audiovisual media). The course is divided into two parts. The first one focuses center on music as a medium of communication between human beings and of construction of social groups, on the media (their social, cultural and ideological aspects) and on the technologies used to transmit and experience music in the Western world. The second part will be a seminar with presentations delivered by students.

The course includes audio and video examples.

Bibliography (The symbol * marks books that will be available on Moodle after the beginning of the course)
- lecture notes;
- NICHOLAS COOK, “Musica: una breve introduzione”, EDT, Torino 2005, pp. 1-45;
- *VINCENZO BORGHETTI, “Il manoscritto di musica tra Quattro e Cinquecento”, in “Il libro di musica”, a cura di Carlo Fiore, L’Epos, Palermo 2004, pp. 89-114;
- *VINCENZO BORGHETTI, "Lo sguardo che ascolta", Dispensa sui manoscritti di musica di lusso di Petrus Alamire;
- *STANLEY BOORMAN, “I primi stampatori musicali”, in “Il libro di musica”, a cura di Carlo Fiore, L’Epos, Palermo 2004, pp. 115-136;
- *TIM CARTER, “L’editoria musicale tra Cinque e Seicento”, in “Il libro di musica”, a cura di Carlo Fiore, L’Epos, Palermo 2004, pp. 137-162;
- *EMANUELE SENICI, “Il video d’opera “dal vivo”: testualizzazione e liveness nell’era digitale”, «Il Saggiatore musicale», 2009/2, pp. 272-312;
- *EMANUELE SENICI, “L’opera e la nascita della televisione italiana”, «Comunicazioni sociali», 2011/1, pp. 26-35;
- *VINCENZO BORGHETTI, "Filmare l'opera senza filmare il canto: la 'Carmen' di Francesco Rosi", in "Francesco Rosi: il cinema e oltre", a cura di Alberto Scandola e Nicola Pasqualicchio, Milano-Udine, Mimesis, 2019, pp. 207-224;
- *JACQUES HAINS, “Dal rullo di cera al CD”, in “Enciclopedia della musica”, diretta da Jean-Jacques Nattiez, vol. 1, “Il Novecento”, Einaudi, Torino 2001, pp. 783-819;
- GIANNI SIBILLA, “Musica e media digitali. Tecnologie. Linguaggi e forme sociali dei suoni dal walkman all’iPod”, Bompiani, Milano 2008, pp. 9-74 e 88-101 [digital edition: pp.9-74 = Introduzione + cap. 1 fino a 1.3 incluso; pp. 88-101 = cap. 1.4].
The symbol * marks books that will be available in the Moodle platform.

If needed, further bibliography will be added during the term

Didactic methods

Lectures with audio and video examples; students' presentations.

Learning assessment procedures

Written test: three questions, to be answered in 1h and 30m. The first question will center on music as a medium of communication between human beings and of construction of social groups; the other two will focus on the kinds of media discussed during the lectures, seminar and in the readings.

Evaluation criteria

Evaluation criteria: proper use of specific vocabulary, knowlegde of the social, cultural and ideological aspects of the various media, ability to analyze the media presented as case studies.

Criteria for the composition of the final grade

The final mark will be made up as follows: 10 points for each of the 3 questions.

Exam language

Italiano (tedesco o inglese su richiesta)

Type D and Type F activities

COMPETENZE TRASVERSALI

Scopri i percorsi formativi promossi dal  Teaching and learning centre dell'Ateneo, destinati agli studenti iscritti ai corsi di laurea, volti alla promozione delle competenze trasversali:

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Laureandi Editoria e Giornalismo: vademecum Various topics
TESI SU COMUNICAZIONE DELL’AGROALIMENTARE Various topics
Stage Research area
Proposte stages - Centro di ricerca Skenè Various topics
TIROCINIO IN GIORNALISMO E SOCIAL MEDIA Various topics

Student mentoring


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti