Training and Research

Credits

2

Language

Italian

Class attendance

Free Choice

Location

UDINE

Learning objectives

The course presents key concepts and frameworks relating to the “dialogic accounting” and “public engagement” literature. The evolution of digital tools, such as social media, provides new mechanism for local and national government to engage citizens in public decisions. Dialogic accounting and public engagement should be able to promote organisations’ accountability and participatory governance

Prerequisites and basic notions

phd student

Program

This course is designed to develop first academic knowledge and skills about the contribution and impacts of public engagement and dialogic accounting on public accountability. At the end of the course candidates are expected to critically reflect and discuss on possible relationship between dialogic accounting and PE in their specific research topics.

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

When and where

Readings
Compulsory before class:
Bellucci, M. and Manetti, G. (2017), “Facebook as a tool for supporting dialogic accounting? Evidence from large philanthropic foundations in the United States”, Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal, Vol. 30 No. 4, pp. 874-905.


Readings after class:

TOPIC: Public engagement concept
Rowe, G. and Frewer, L.J. (2005), “A typology of public engagement mechanisms”, Science, Technology and Human Values, Vol. 30 No. 2, pp. 251-290.

French, P.E. (2011), “Enhancing the legitimacy of local government pandemic influenza planning through transparency and public engagement”, Public Administration Review, Vol. 71 No. 2, pp. 253-264.

TOPIC: Public engagement measurement on social media
Agostino, D. and Arnaboldi, M. (2016), “A measurement framework for assessing the contribution of social media to public engagement: an empirical analysis on Facebook”, Public Management Review, Vol. 18 No. 9, pp. 1289-1307.

Bonson, E. and Ratkai, M. (2013), “A set of metrics to assess stakeholder engagement and social legitimacy on a corporate Facebook page”, Online Information Review, Vol. 37 No. 5, pp. 787-803.

Chen, Q., Min, C., Zhang, W., Wang, G., Ma, X. and Evans, R. (2020), “Unpacking the black box: how to promote citizen engagement through government social media during the COVID-19 crisis”, Computers in Human Behavior, Vol. 110, pp. 1-11.

TOPIC: Public engagement during crisis

French, P. E. (2011). Enhancing the legitimacy of local government pandemic influenza planning through transparency and public engagement. Public Administration Review, 71(2), 253-264.


TOPIC: Dialogic accounting foundations
Bebbington, J., Brown, J., Frame, B. and Thomson, I. (2007), “Theorizing engagement: the potential of a critical dialogic approach”, Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal, Vol. 20 No. 3, pp. 356-381

Brown, J. (2009), “Democracy, sustainability and dialogic accounting technologies: taking pluralism seriously”, Critical Perspectives on Accounting, Vol. 20 No. 3, pp. 313-342.


TOPIC: Dialogic accounting in practice
Brown, J., & Dillard, J. (2014). Integrated reporting: On the need for broadening out and opening up. Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal.

Manetti, G., Bellucci, M., & Oliva, S. (2021). Unpacking dialogic accounting: a systematic literature review and research agenda. Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal.

Landi, S., Costantini, A., Fasan, M., & Bonazzi, M. (2021). Public engagement and dialogic accounting through social media during COVID-19 crisis: a missed opportunity?. Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal, 35(1), 35-47.

Learning assessment procedures

no

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Assessment

no

PhD school courses/classes - 2023/2024

Please note: Additional information will be added during the year. Currently missing information is labelled as “TBD” (i.e. To Be Determined).

PhD students must obtain a specified number of CFUs each year by attending teaching activities offered by the PhD School.
First and second year students must obtain 8 CFUs. Teaching activities ex DM 226/2021 provide 5 CFUs; free choice activities provide 3 CFUs.
Third year students must obtain 4 CFUs. Teaching activities ex DM 226/2021 provide 2 CFUs; free choice activities provide 2 CFUs.

Registering for the courses is not required unless explicitly indicated; please consult the course information to verify whether registration is required or not. When registration is actually required, no confirmation e-mail will be sent after signing up.

Teaching Activities ex DM 226/2021: Linguistic Activities

Teaching Activities ex DM 226/2021: Research management and Enhancement

Teaching Activities ex DM 226/2021: Statistics and Computer Sciences

Teaching Activities: Free choice

Faculty

B C D F G L M P R S V Z

Bazzani Claudia

symbol email claudia.bazzani@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028734

Blasi Silvia

symbol email silvia.blasi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028218

Cantele Silvia

symbol email silvia.cantele@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8220 (VR) - 0444 393943 (VI)

Capitello Roberta

symbol email roberta.capitello@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8488

Chiaramonte Laura

symbol email laura.chiaramonte@univr.it

Confente Ilenia

symbol email ilenia.confente@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8174

D'Acunto David

symbol email david.dacunto@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8193

Florio Cristina

symbol email cristina.florio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8296

Gaudenzi Barbara

symbol email barbara.gaudenzi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8623

Lai Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.lai@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8574

Landi Stefano

symbol email stefano.landi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8168

Leardini Chiara

symbol email chiara.leardini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8222

Moggi Sara

symbol email sara.moggi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8290

Mola Lapo

symbol email lapo.mola@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028565

Ricci Elena Claire

symbol email elenaclaire.ricci@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028422

Rossignoli Francesca

symbol email francesca.rossignoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 0444 393941 (Ufficio Vicenza) 0458028261 (Ufficio Verona)

Rossignoli Cecilia

symbol email cecilia.rossignoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8173

Russo Ivan

symbol email ivan.russo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8161 (VR)

Scarpa Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.scarpa@univr.it

Sproviero Alice Francesca

symbol email alicefrancesca.sproviero@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8216

Stacchezzini Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.stacchezzini@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028186

Vernizzi Silvia

symbol email silvia.vernizzi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8168 (VR) 0444 393937 (VI)

Veronesi Gianluca

symbol email gianluca.veronesi@univr.it

Zardini Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.zardini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8565

PhD students

PhD students present in the:

No people are present.

Course lessons
PhD Schools lessons

Loading...

Guidelines for PhD students

Below you will find the files that contain the Guidelines for PhD students and rules for the acquisition of ECTS credits (in Italian: "CFU") for the Academic Year 2023/2024.