Training and Research

Credits

10.5

Language

English

Class attendance

Free Choice

Location

VERONA

Learning objectives

The aim of the course is to provide students with the main analytical tools to develop microeconomic analysis.
At the end of the course students should be able to apply the relevant mathematical technique for the analysis of consumption, production and choices under risk and develop a critical assessment of theoretical research on these subject.

Prerequisites and basic notions

Preliminary knowledge of basic microeconomics and elements of mathematical methods for economis.

Program

The course provides students with the main notions of microeconomic theory characterizing the first part of an advanced course on the subject. In particular, it is organized in three main parts:
1) Theory of consumer’s behaviour and welfare,
2) Theory of production,
3) Choices under uncertainty.
The approach is formal and mathematical, and is aimed not only at delivering the main elements of microeconomic theory but also at providing students with the necessary tools to address theoretical problems grounded in choice theory. Basic mathematical concepts and familiarity with logical and abstract reasoning are therefore a prerequisite of this course. Lectures will be supplemented by exercise classes to further develop the technical skills required.
Attention will also be played to place in context the analysis with possible applications of the concepts discussed for theoretical research or for policy analysis. Detailed references will be provided during the lectures.

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

When and where

The course activities involve 20 hours of lessons and 12 hours of exercise classes.

Learning assessment procedures

Written exams with separate questions on the three parts covered on the course

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Criteria for the composition of the final grade

The final grade will result as an average of the evaluations of the questions realted to each of the three parts covered in the course.

PhD school courses/classes - 2022/2023

Faculty

A B C D F G L M N P Q R S T V Z

Andreoli Francesco

symbol email francesco.andreoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8102

Bracco Emanuele

symbol email emanuele.bracco@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8293

Bucciol Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.bucciol@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8278

Campolmi Alessia

symbol email alessia.campolmi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8071

Cipriani Giam Pietro

symbol email giampietro.cipriani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8271

Demo Edoardo

symbol email edoardo.demo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

De Sinopoli Francesco

symbol email francesco.desinopoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 842 5450

Di Caterina Claudia

symbol email claudia.dicaterina@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028247

Fiore Simona

symbol email simona.fiore@univr.it

Fioroni Tamara

symbol email tamara.fioroni@univr.it

Gnoatto Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.gnoatto@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8537

Levati Maria Vittoria

symbol email vittoria.levati@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8640

Mancini Cecilia

symbol email cecilia.mancini@univr.it

Menon Martina

symbol email martina.menon@univr.it

Minozzo Marco

symbol email marco.minozzo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8234

Nicodemo Catia

symbol email catia.nicodemo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028340

Pellegrini Letizia

symbol email letizia.pellegrini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8345

Perali Federico

symbol email federico.perali@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8486

Peretti Alberto

symbol email alberto.peretti@univr.it symbol phone-number 0444 393936 (VI) 045 802 8238 (VR)

Pertile Paolo

symbol email paolo.pertile@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8438

Picarelli Athena

symbol email athena.picarelli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028242

Piovesan Marco

symbol email marco.piovesan@univr.it symbol phone-number 045.80.28.104

Quercia Simone

symbol email simone.quercia@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8237

Renò Roberto

symbol email roberto.reno@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8526

Ricciuti Roberto

symbol email roberto.ricciuti@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028417

Rossi Francesca

symbol email francesca.rossi_02@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8098

Scricciolo Catia

symbol email catia.scricciolo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028341

Sommacal Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.sommacal@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8716

Svaluto Ferro Sara

symbol email sara.svalutoferro@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028783

Veronesi Marcella

symbol email marcella.veronesi@univr.it

Zarri Luca

symbol email luca.zarri@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8101

Zoli Claudio

symbol email claudio.zoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8479

PhD students

PhD students present in the:

No people are present.

Course lessons
PhD Schools lessons

Loading...

Guidelines for PhD students

Below you will find the files that contain the Guidelines for PhD students and rules for the acquisition of ECTS credits (in Italian: "CFU") for the Academic Year 2023/2024.

Documents

Title Info File
File pdf Guidelines PhD students pdf, en, 334 KB, 19/04/24
File pdf Linee guida dottorandi pdf, it, 251 KB, 19/04/24
File pdf Percorso formativo pdf, it, 283 KB, 19/04/24
File pdf Training program pdf, en, 358 KB, 19/04/24