Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sem 1A Sep 23, 2019 Oct 31, 2019
Sem 1B Nov 11, 2019 Jan 11, 2020
Sem 2A Feb 17, 2020 Mar 28, 2020
Sem 2B Apr 6, 2020 May 30, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esame invernale Jan 13, 2020 Feb 15, 2020
Sessione d'esame estiva (gli esami sono sospesi durante la sessione di laurea) Jun 3, 2020 Jul 25, 2020
Sessione d'esame autunnale Aug 24, 2020 Sep 19, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 6, 2020 Jul 11, 2020
Sessione di laurea autunnale 19-20 Nov 2, 2020 Nov 7, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Sospensione delle lezioni Nov 2, 2019 Nov 2, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Sospensione delle lezioni May 2, 2020 May 2, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Sospensione delle lezioni May 22, 2020 May 23, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 15, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G M P R S T U V Z

Arcangeli Alessandro

alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it +39 045802 8351

Barbierato Federico

federico.barbierato@univr.it 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it 045802 8376

Bianchi Edoardo

edoardo.bianchi@univr.it +39 045 802 8108

Bigliazzi Silvia

silvia.bigliazzi@univr.it +39 045802 8477

Boni Donatella

donatella.boni@univr.it 045 8028455

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Brugnoli Andrea

andrea.brugnoli@univr.it 045 802 8107

Buonopane Alfredo

alfredo.buonopane@univr.it +39 0458028120

Calabrese Evita

evita.calabrese@univr.it

Calomino Dario

dario.calomino@univr.it 0458028379

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Concina Chiara Maria

chiara.concina@univr.it +39 045 802 8325

Cotticelli Paola

paola.cotticelli@univr.it +39 045802 8587

Dal Pozzolo Enrico

enrico.dalpozzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8569

Danelon Fabio

fabio.danelon@univr.it 045/8028378

De Paolis Paolo

paolo.depaolis@univr.it +39 045 802 8371

Dobreva Diana Sergeeva

dianasergeeva.dobreva@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Ferrarini Edoardo

edoardo.ferrarini@univr.it +39 045802 8112

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Franco Tiziana

tiziana.franco@univr.it +39 045802 8380

Gamberoni Emanuela

emanuela.gamberoni@univr.it 045 802 8391

Masotti Lucia

lucia.masotti@univr.it 0458028272

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Melloni Chiara

chiara.melloni@univr.it +39 045802 8119

Migliavacca Mara Gioia

maragioia.migliavacca@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Pagliaroli Stefano

stefano.pagliaroli@univr.it +39 045 8028056

Paini Anna Maria

anna.paini@univr.it +39 045802 8129

Pappalardo Maria

maria.pappalardo@univr.it +39 045802 8391

Pasqualicchio Nicola

nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it 0458028585

Pedrucci Giulia

giulia.pedrucci@univr.it

Pellegrini Paolo

paolo.pellegrini@univr.it +39 045 802 8559

Perosa Giulia

giulia.perosa@univr.it

Ponchia Simonetta

simonetta.ponchia@univr.it +39 045802 8365

Prearo Massimo

massimo.prearo@univr.it 0039 0458028555

Raccanelli Renata

renata.raccanelli@univr.it 0458028366

Rizza Alfredo

alfredo.rizza@univr.it +39 045802 8587

Rodighiero Andrea

andrea.rodighiero@univr.it +39 045 802 8643

Romagnani Gian Paolo

gianpaolo.romagnani@univr.it +39 045802 8377

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Scattolin Paolo

paolo.scattolin@univr.it +39 045 802 8645

Soldani Arnaldo

arnaldo.soldani@univr.it 045 - 8028648

Stavru Alessandro

alessandro.stavru@univr.it 045 8028143

Stoffella Marco

marco.stoffella@univr.it +39 045802 8376

Terraroli Valerio

valerio.terraroli@univr.it 0458028441

Turri Luigi

luigi.turri@univr.it +39 045802 8272

Ugolini Gherardo

gherardo.ugolini@univr.it +39 0458028665

Viola Corrado

corrado.viola@univr.it +39 045802 8194

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Zoppi Federica

federica.zoppi@univr.it +39 045802 8037

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
B
L-FIL-LET/05
6
B
L-FIL-LET/04
2 modules to be chosen among the following
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Further activities
3
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02148

Credits

6

Also offered in courses

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

M-STO/02 - MODERN HISTORY

Period

CuCi IIA dal Feb 15, 2021 al Apr 1, 2021.

To show the organization of the course that includes this module, follow this link:  Course organization

Learning outcomes

KNOWLEDGE:
Within the three-year degree courses in Humanities and Philosophy, the teaching of history is of fundamental importance to provide the spatial-temporal coordinates within which different civilizations have developed, not only in Europe. Modern history, in particular, proposes itself as a discipline of "context" to understand the profound transformations of the world between the fifteenth and nineteenth centuries. At the end of the course the student will have to know the main developments of European political, social and intellectual history from the end of the 15th to the first half of the 19th century.

ABILITY:
The historical approach, based on research, examination and criticism of the sources and their interpretation (susceptible to different solutions) is an ineliminable moment not only of the humanistic disciplines, but of all knowledge.
At the end of the course the student will have to demonstrate to be able to critically examine a source and to critically interpret a text of history (also the manual) enucleandone the interpretative key, aware that the interpretations of historical facts can also be very different from each other, but must all be based on a proper examination of the sources.

Program

PROGRAMME:
Introductory form: Introduction to old European companies
The course will cover the following topics:
1. The work of the historian
2. The many dimensions of modernity
3. Living spaces and the rural world
4. The city and the world of work
5. The bourgeois classes and the origins of capitalism
6. The European nobility
7. Sovereignty and political power
8. Justice and taxation in the old regime
9. Wars and armies
10. Poverty, crime and social control
11. The religious dimension
12. Figures and spaces of culture
13. Education and education

METHODS OF EDUCATION:
Adopting all teaching methods compatible with the current health emergency situation the course will take place if possible in presence, otherwise at a distance through lessons recorded on the Panopto platform and streaming lessons on the platform Zoom (lessons of general history with slides to download, monographic lessons, possible seminars) the course aims to provide the essential elements to understand the reality and dynamics of European societies of ancient regime (sec. XVI-XVIII) through a series of framework lessons dedicated to the main institutional and social aspects of the modern world. By addressing a particular monographic theme, students will then be able to overcome manual simplifications.

Texts for the exam.
Introductory Form 6CFU (two volumes):
a.1. A historical summary of the great themes of modern history: G. P. Romagnani, La società di antico regime ( XVI-XVIII secolo), Roma, Carocci, 2018
a.2. A good university textbook of modern history. Suggested texts: G. Ricuperati, F. Ieva, Manuale di storia moderna, Torino, Utet, 2012; or F. Benigno, L'età moderna, Roma-Bari, Laterza, 2005

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
G. P. Romagnani La società di antico regime ( XVI-XVIII secolo) (Edizione 5) Carocci 2018
F. Benigno L’età moderna. Dalla scoperta dell’America alla Restaurazione Laterza 2005 9788842078036 TESTO A SCELTA IN ALTERNATIVA CON RICUPERATI, IEVA
G. Ricuperati, F. Ieva Manuale di storia moderna Utet 2012 TESTO A SCELTA IN ALTERNATIVA CON BENIGNO

Examination Methods

REQUIREMENT FOR ACCESS TO THE EXAMINATION:
To pass the first part of the exam requires: a) a good basic knowledge of European history between 1453 and 1815; b) the ability to interpret the main moments of transformation at the economic, social, political-institutional level, cultural; c) the ability to analyze and contextualize a historical document; d) the ability to understand, compare and critically analyze the different narratives/ interpretations that historians have provided historical events.

Examination sessions are defined as:
1. The autumn session (September)
2. The winter session (January-February)
3. Summer session (June-July)

There is no difference in approach to the exam between attending and non-attending students.

Bibliography

Type D and Type F activities

Prima parte del primo semestre From 9/23/19 To 10/31/19
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° The origins of Christianity F Augusto Barbi (Coordinatore)
Semestrino 1A From 9/23/19 To 10/31/19
years Modules TAF Teacher
Fondamenti per introduzione allo studio del linguaggio F Federico Righi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of ancient greek F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Opera Workshop F Nicola Pasqualicchio (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Presente e futuro del pianeta. economia, sostenibilità e politiche F Gian Maria Varanini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° History of Greek and Roman theatre (i) D Gherardo Ugolini (Coordinatore)
Seconda parte del primo semestre From 11/11/19 To 1/11/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Roman History (p) D Attilio Mastrocinque
1° 2° 3° The origins of Christianity F Augusto Barbi (Coordinatore)
Semestrino 1B From 11/11/19 To 1/11/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Fondamenti per introduzione allo studio del linguaggio F Federico Righi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il realismo politico e l’impossibile F Olivia Guaraldo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of ancient greek F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Opera Workshop F Nicola Pasqualicchio (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Read and interpret the physical phenomena on the IGM cartography F Silvino Salgaro (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Presente e futuro del pianeta. economia, sostenibilità e politiche F Gian Maria Varanini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° The History of Contemporary Art (p) D Valerio Terraroli
1° 2° 3° History of Greek and Roman theatre (i) D Gherardo Ugolini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Un patrimonio urbano da ri-conoscere e ri-valutare: ville e palazzi storici di verona e circondario F Gian Maria Varanini (Coordinatore)
Semestrino 2A From 2/17/20 To 3/28/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
2° 3° Archaeology and History of Greek and Roman Art (i) D Patrizia Basso
1° 2° 3° Marchants of Culture. Editorial distribution and promotion F Federica Formiga (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Training course for final skills evaluation test F Paolo De Paolis (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Giornate fai di primavera (1 cfu) F Monica Molteni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il realismo politico e l’impossibile F Olivia Guaraldo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Educational workshop on bibliotherapy F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of photo F Carlo Vannini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of ancient greek F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on akkadian language F Simonetta Ponchia (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Language and culture of Ancient Anatolia and the Hittites F Federico Giusfredi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Contemporary History (p) D Renato Camurri
1° 2° 3° History of Medieval Art (i) D Tiziana Franco
Semestrino 2B From 4/6/20 To 5/30/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Archaeology and History of Greek and Roman Art (p) D Diana Sergeeva Dobreva
1° 2° 3° Training course for final skills evaluation test F Paolo De Paolis (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Fai un giro in villa (1 cfu) F Monica Molteni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il realismo politico e l’impossibile F Olivia Guaraldo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Educational workshop on bibliotherapy F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of ancient greek F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Language and culture of Ancient Anatolia and the Hittites F Federico Giusfredi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Seminari di storia contemporanea F Renato Camurri (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Contemporary History (p) D Renato Camurri
1° 2° 3° History of Medieval Art (p) D Tiziana Franco
1° 2° 3° History of Modern Art (p) D Enrico Dal Pozzolo
1° 2° 3° Greek History (p) D Luisa Prandi
1° 2° 3° Medieval history (p) D Gian Maria Varanini
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Esercitazioni di metrica latina Fatima El Matouni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Summer School internazionale in Studi danteschi Ravenna-Verona F Paolo Pellegrini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Univero’ 2019 F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica ENGLISH LANGUAGE - Grammar and Syntax – Grammatik und Syntax
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica GERMANIC LANGUAGE - Dialectology - Dialektologie
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES - HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica Indo-European languages & literatures - Indo-European languages & literatures
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica LINGUISTICS - LINGUISTICS
Stage Research area
Lavorare in archivio Various topics
L'iter del libro in biblioteca Various topics

Student mentoring


Requisiti classi di abilitazione insegnamento

Requisiti necessari per accedere alle classi di abilitazione per l'insegnamento.
vedi allegato pdf

Inoltre, per informazioni sui 24 CFU nelle discipline antropo-psico-pedagogiche e nelle metodologie e tecnologie didattiche, si veda -> LINK 

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf Classi insegnamento con LM-14 307 KB, 30/11/21 

Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti