Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Sep 27, 2021 Jan 8, 2022
Annuale (Lingue e letterature straniere) Sep 27, 2021 May 28, 2022
II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Feb 14, 2022 May 28, 2022
Exam sessions
Session From To
ESAMI LINGUE - sessione invernale Jan 10, 2022 Feb 12, 2022
ESAMI LINGUE - sessione estiva May 30, 2022 Jul 23, 2022
ESAMI LINGUE - sessione autunnale Aug 29, 2022 Sep 24, 2022
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale (a.a. 2020-2021) Nov 8, 2021 Nov 13, 2021
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione straordinaria (a.a. 2020-2021) Mar 28, 2022 Apr 2, 2022
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva (a.a. 2021-2022) Jul 11, 2022 Jul 16, 2022

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrollment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K M O P R S T U V Z

Aloe Stefano

symbol email stefano.aloe@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8409

Andreoli Enrico

symbol email enrico.andreoli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8425329

Artoni Daniele

symbol email daniele.artoni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8465

Bellini Marta

symbol email marta.bellini@univr.it symbol phone-number 0455116176

Benedettini Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.benedettini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8413

Bertollo Sabrina

symbol email sabrina.bertollo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8753

Bisetto Barbara

symbol email barbara.bisetto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8597

Bognolo Anna

symbol email anna.bognolo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8327

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

symbol email mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8663

Botta Enrico

symbol email enrico.botta@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8694

Bullado Emanuela

symbol email emanuela.bullado@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028548

Caccin Daniele

symbol email daniele.caccin2@unibo.it

Calvi Lisanna

symbol email lisanna.calvi@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028673

Cantarini Sibilla

symbol email sibilla.cantarini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8199

Caprara Andrea

symbol email andrea.caprara@univr.it symbol phone-number 39 045 8425319

Carlotto Ilaria

symbol email ilaria.carlotto@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8264

Castellani Paola

symbol email paola.castellani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8127

Cavalieri Silvia

symbol email silvia.cavalieri@univr.it

Colombo Laura Maria

symbol email laura.colombo@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8322

Costa León Piero Renato

symbol email piero.costaleon@univr.it

Dalla Rosa Elisa

symbol email elisa.dallarosa@univr.it

De Beni Matteo

symbol email matteo.debeni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8540

Demo Edoardo

symbol email edoardo.demo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

Di Maio Davide

symbol email davide.dimaio@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8678

Franceschi Valeria

symbol email valeria.franceschi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8729

Frassi Paolo

symbol email paolo.frassi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8408

Gallo Antonella

symbol email antonella.gallo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8467

Giumelli Riccardo

symbol email giumelliriccardo@gmail.com symbol phone-number 3209103703

Giust Anna

symbol email anna.giust@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8856

Hartle Sharon

symbol email sharon.hartle@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8259

Hourani Martin Dunia

symbol email dunia.houranimartin@univr.it

Huang Wenwen

symbol email wenwen.huang@univr.it

Kofler Peter Erwin

symbol email peter.kofler@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8313

Mannoni Michele

symbol email michele.mannoni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8597

Marsilio Claudio

symbol email claudio.marsilio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028641

Miotti Renzo

symbol email renzo.miotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8571

Padovan Andrea

symbol email andrea.padovan@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8753

Palermo Francesco

symbol email francesco.palermo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8425378

Paolini Sara

symbol email sara.paolini@univr.it

Pelloni Gabriella

symbol email gabriella.pelloni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8328

Perazzolo Paola

symbol email paola.perazzolo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8412

Pes Annalisa

symbol email annalisa.pes@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028318

Rabanus Stefan

symbol email stefan.rabanus@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8490

Ragni Cristiano

symbol email cristiano.ragni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8410

Rango Elena

symbol email elena.rango@univr.it

Riolfo Gianluca

symbol email gianluca.riolfo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0461/981919

Rossato Chiara

symbol email chiara.rossato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8620

Salgaro Massimo

symbol email massimo.salgaro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8312

Salvade' Anna Maria

symbol email annamaria.salvade@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028110

Salvi Luca

symbol email luca.salvi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8468

Sartor Elisa

symbol email elisa.sartor@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8598

Sassi Carla

symbol email carla.sassi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8701

Savi Paola

symbol email paola.savi@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458028243

Schiffermuller Isolde

symbol email ischifferm@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8478

Sideri Cecilia

symbol email cecilia.sideri@univr.it

Simeoni Francesca

symbol email francesca.simeoni@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8160

Stanzani Sandro

symbol email sandro.stanzani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458028649

Stelzer Emanuel

symbol email emanuel.stelzer@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8410

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

symbol email giovanni.tallarico@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8663

Ugolini Marta Maria

symbol email marta.ugolini@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8126

Vigolo Vania

symbol email vania.vigolo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8624

Zanfei Anna

symbol email zanfeianna@gmail.com symbol phone-number +39 045802 8347

Zinato Susanna

symbol email susanna.zinato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8318

Zinato Andrea

symbol email andrea.zinato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8339

Zoppi Federica

symbol email federica.zoppi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8037

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University.
Please select your Study Plan based on your enrollment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:

1° Year 

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

2° Year   activated in the A.Y. 2022/2023

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
activated in the A.Y. 2022/2023
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
3rd foreign language B1 level
3
F
-
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002910

Coordinator

Emanuel Stelzer

Credits

9

Also offered in courses:

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Period

I semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) dal Sep 26, 2022 al Dec 23, 2022.

Learning objectives

The course, taught in English, aims to provide students with an introduction to British literature from the Renaissance to late Romanticism, focusing on some of the most representative works. The course also aims to introduce the main critical approaches and the main features of literary genres. The overall goal of the course is to provide students with a good level of knowledge of literary history (in terms of historical context, texts, genres, movements and authors) and to develop their critical skills for analysis, argumentation and exposition in English, in relation to various typologies of literary texts in their historical-cultural context. At the end of the course, students will be able to: - analyse the set texts and place them in their respective historical-cultural contexts; - describe the texts in a structured and informed way, taking into account literary conventions and applying an informed critical approach; - discuss literary topics in English in a clear and consistent way.

Prerequisites and basic notions

The exam can be taken only after having passed the English Literature and Language courses of the first year.

Program

Questions of Time and Place in Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale and The Tempest
The course will analyse two of Shakespeare’s late plays: The Winter’s Tale and The Tempest. We will tackle issues such as journeys in literature and drama, textual migrations and intertextuality, representations of ‘otherness’, gender and genre discourses, metatheatricality. Such themes will be dealt with by exploring the Jacobean historical and cultural context, but also through modern and contemporary adaptations of those two romances.
There are no differences between the programme for attending students and the one for non-attending students. Attending and non-attending students alike are required to do all the readings indicated below.
All texts in the syllabus are compulsory.
If a text is signalled as “optional”, this means that the text can be used to further or facilitate one’s study, but that text is not compulsory.
Further teaching material will be available for download from the Moodle repository.
Further bibliographical instructions and clarifications about the exam will be provided at the beginning of the lectures.
Language: the course will be entirely in English.
Exclusively the editions of the primary texts indicated below will be admitted; please bring the texts in class.
Reference texts:
a. Primary texts (compulsory):
- William Shakespeare, The Winter’s Tale, ed. by John Pitcher, London: Arden Shakespeare (Bloomsbury), 2010.
- William Shakespeare, The Tempest, ed. by Virginia Mason Vaughan and Alden T. Vaughan, revised edition, London: Arden Shakespeare (Bloomsbury), 2011.
b. Secondary texts (compulsory):
- Michael D. Bristol, “In Search of the Bear: Spatiotemporal Form and the Heterogeneity of Economies in The Winter's Tale”, Shakespeare Quarterly, Vol. 42, No. 2, 1991, pp. 145-67.
- Jerry Brotton, “'This Tunis, sir, was Carthage': Contesting Colonialism in The Tempest”. In Post-Colonial Shakespeares, edited by Ania Loomba and Martin Orkin, New York: Routledge, 1998, pp. 23-42.
- Mary Ellen Lamb, “Virtual Audiences and Virtual Authors: The Winter's Tale, The Tempest, and Old Wives' Tales”. In Staging Early Modern Romance: Prose Fiction, Dramatic Romance, and Shakespeare, ed. by Mary Ellen Lamb and Valerie Wayne, New York: Routledge, 2009, pp. 122-42.
- Virginia Mason Vaughan, “The Critical Backstory: ‘What’s Past is Prologue’”. In The Tempest: A Critical Reader ed. by Virginia Mason Vaughan and Alden T. Vaughan, Arden Shakespeare (Bloomsbury), 2014, pp. 13-38.
b1. Optional secondary texts:
- Catherine Belsey, “Parenthood: Hermione’s Statue”. In Catherine Belsey, Shakespeare and the Loss of Eden, Houndmills, Macmillan, 1999, pp. 85-128.
- Silvia Bigliazzi and Lisanna Calvi (eds), Revisiting The Tempest: The Capacity to Signify. Houndmills, Palgrave, 2014.
- Richard Proudfoot, “Verbal Reminiscence and the Two-Part structure of The Winter’s Tale”, Shakespeare Survey Vol. 29, 1976, pp. 67-78.
c. Handbook (obligatory):
For the section on the history of literature (from the sixteenth century to the Enlightenment), students are expected to study:
- Andrew Sanders, The Short Oxford History of English Literature (Oxford University Press, 2004 - third edition): chapters 3 (“Renaissance and Reformation: Literature 1510-1620”), 4 (“Revolution and Restoration: Literature 1620-1690) and 5 (“Eighteenth-Century Literature 1690-1780”).
TEACHING MATERIAL
Students will be able to download additional teaching material (such as handouts, texts, pictures, etc) provided in class from the MOODLE platform by the end of the course. This additional teaching material does not replace, but supplements the compulsory reading and study of the primary and secondary texts (to be read in their entirety), of the handbook for the history of literature section, as listed under the section REFERENCE TEXTS.

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Didactic methods

The course consists of a series of lectures which foresee the active involvement of the students. A written calendar of the topics that will be dealt with will be circulated in class at the beginning of the course. Lectures will be held in English.
If you need to isolate because you test positive for Covid, please contact the teacher to arrange for supplementary material.

Learning assessment procedures

Knowledge acquisition will be evaluated through an oral exam, which will consist in a discussion of the topics dealt with during the course. There will not be differences between the exam of attending students and the one of non-attending students.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Evaluation criteria

Knowledge acquisition wishes to assess the student’s:
1) knowledge of the history of English literature from the Renaissance to the eighteenth century;
2) understanding of the primary texts in the syllabus, setting them in their historical and cultural context;
3) acquisition of a suitable critical methodology for the analysis of texts and contexts;
4) skills in analysing texts and ability to discuss and argue one’s thesis in English.

Criteria for the composition of the final grade

The final mark will result from the average of the grades assigned according to the four criteria described above.

Exam language

English

Type D and Type F activities

Nei piani didattici di ciascun Corso di studio è previsto l’obbligo di conseguire un certo numero di CFU di tipologia D e di tipologia F.

CFU D (attività a scelta dello studente)
I CFU D possono essere acquisiti mediante:

  • insegnamenti non obbligatori nel proprio piano didattico (previa approvazione del Presidente del Collegio didattico per insegnamenti non selezionabili in autonomia)
  • attività accreditate dal Collegio didattico
  • competenze linguistiche (diverse o ulteriori) rispetto a quelle obbligatorie
  • tirocini o stage
  • TALC (competenze trasversali).

Competenze trasversali TALC

Scopri i percorsi formativi promossi dal  Teaching and learning centre dell'Ateneo, destinati agli studenti iscritti ai corsi di laurea, volti alla promozione delle competenze trasversali: https://talc.univr.it/it/competenze-trasversali
Nota bene: i corsi TALC sono riconosciuti solo come CFU D.


Il numero di CFU D va calcolato complessivamente sull’intero triennio/biennio e non è legato all'annualità.


CFU F
I CFU F sono solitamente relativi ad abilità informatiche, competenze linguistiche, stage e tirocini e ulteriori attività formative accreditate in questa tipologia dal Collegio Didattico.
Nel corso di laurea in Lingue e culture per il turismo e il commercio internazionale sono previste le seguenti tipologie:
- 3 CFU per terza lingua (livello B1)
- 3 CFU per informatica
- 6 CFU per stage obbligatorio.
Le competenze informatiche possono essere acquisite attraverso:
- il superamento della prova pratica presso le aule informatiche di Ateneo,
- la frequenza dei corsi attivati da scuole e centri accreditati dall’AICA (Associazione Italiana per l’Informatica e il Calcolo Automatico) o riconosciuti dalla Provincia e dalla Regione e superamento della relativa prova finale. Le domande per il riconoscimento delle competenze informatiche acquisite precedentemente vengono esaminate dalla Commissione per il riconoscimento delle Competenze Informatiche.
Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare utilità per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità specifiche d’interesse professionale.
 

Documents and news

2 A CuCi From 2/14/22 To 3/26/22
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Introduction to robotics for humanities students D Paolo Fiorini (Coordinator)

To discover all the teaching activities accredited by the foreign teaching college click here

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Student login and resources


Gestione carriere


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Corso di Lingua portoghese


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Presentazione dei corsi di studio e Open day


Graduation


Saperi minimi


Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue per il turismo e il commercio internazionale (L12) è previsto un periodo di stage obbligatorio (CFU 6) in organizzazioni imprenditoriali.

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


Vademecum dello studente