Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Sep 26, 2022 Dec 23, 2022
Annuale (Lingue e letterature straniere) Sep 26, 2022 May 27, 2023
II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Feb 13, 2023 May 27, 2023

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K M P R S T U V Z

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Andreoli Enrico

enrico.andreoli@univr.it

Artoni Daniele

daniele.artoni@univr.it +39 045802 8465

Benedettini Riccardo

riccardo.benedettini@univr.it +39 045 802 8413

Bertollo Sabrina

sabrina.bertollo@univr.it +39 045802 8753

Bisetto Barbara

barbara.bisetto@univr.it +39 045802 8597

Bognolo Anna

anna.bognolo@univr.it +39 045802 8327

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it +39 045802 8663

Botta Enrico

enrico.botta@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Bullado Emanuela

emanuela.bullado@univr.it 045 8028548

Calvi Lisanna

lisanna.calvi@univr.it 0458028673

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Caprara Andrea

andrea.caprara@univr.it 39 045 8028819

Carlotto Ilaria

ilaria.carlotto@univr.it 045 802 8264

Castellani Paola

paola.castellani@univr.it 045 802 8127

Cavalieri Silvia

silvia.cavalieri@univr.it +39 045802 8729

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

De Beni Matteo

matteo.debeni@univr.it +39 045 802 8540

Demo Edoardo

edoardo.demo@univr.it 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

Di Maio Davide

davide.dimaio@univr.it +39 045802 8678

Franceschi Valeria

valeria.franceschi@univr.it +39 045802 8729

Frassi Paolo

paolo.frassi@univr.it +39 045802 8408

Gallo Antonella

antonella.gallo@univr.it +39 045802 8467

Giust Anna

anna.giust@univr.it +39 045 802 8465

Hartle Sharon

sharon.hartle@univr.it +39 045802 8259

Hourani Martin Dunia

dunia.houranimartin@univr.it +39 045802 8105

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Mannoni Michele

michele.mannoni@univr.it +39 045802 8597

Marsilio Claudio

claudio.marsilio@univr.it 045 8028641

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Padovan Andrea

andrea.padovan@univr.it +39 045 802 8753

Palermo Francesco

francesco.palermo@univr.it +39 045 8028878

Pelloni Gabriella

gabriella.pelloni@univr.it +39 045802 8328

Perazzolo Paola

paola.perazzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Pes Annalisa

annalisa.pes@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Ragni Cristiano

cristiano.ragni@univr.it +39 045802 8410

Riolfo Gianluca

gianluca.riolfo@univr.it 0464/480337

Rossato Chiara

chiara.rossato@univr.it 045 802 8620

Salgaro Massimo

massimo.salgaro@univr.it +39 045802 8312

Salvade' Anna Maria

annamaria.salvade@univr.it +39 045 8028110

Salvi Luca

luca.salvi@univr.it +39 045802 8468

Sartor Elisa

elisa.sartor@univr.it +39 045802 8598

Sassi Carla

carla.sassi@univr.it +39 045802 8701

Savi Paola

paola.savi@univr.it 045-8028243

Schiffermuller Isolde

ischifferm@univr.it +39 045802 8478

Sideri Cecilia

cecilia.sideri@univr.it

Simeoni Francesca

francesca.simeoni@univr.it + 39 045 802 8160

Stanzani Sandro

sandro.stanzani@univr.it +39 0458028649

Stelzer Emanuel

emanuel.stelzer@univr.it +39 045802 8410

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

giovanni.tallarico@univr.it +39 045 802 8663

Ugolini Marta Maria

marta.ugolini@univr.it + 39 045 802 8126

Vigolo Vania

vania.vigolo@univr.it 045 802 8624

Zanfei Anna

anna.zanfei@univr.it +39 045802 8347

Zinato Susanna

susanna.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Zoppi Federica

federica.zoppi@univr.it +39 045802 8037

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
3rd foreign language B1 level
3
F
-
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002896

Credits

9

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/12 - LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION - ENGLISH

Period

II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) dal Feb 13, 2023 al May 27, 2023.

Learning objectives

This class aims at developing and consolidating students’ competence in the phonological and morphological aspects of contemporary English, also paying attention to their evolution over time. Students should also acquire a linguistic competence in English at a B2 level according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.

Prerequisites and basic notions

Prerequisites: in order to sit the exam, students need to be in possession of a linguistic certification attesting a B2 level, issued by CLA (Centro Linguistico di Ateneo) or other institutions recognized by CLA. In the latter case, a CLA certificate will be issued for internal use upon request on the part of the student.

Program

1. PHONETICS AND PHONOLOGY
- IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet), phonemic and phonetic transcription
- phonatory organs
- phone and phoneme
- consonants and vowels
- place of articulation
- manner of articulation
- stress
- introduction to intonation

3. MORPHOLOGY
- lexical words and functional words
- morpheme
- word-formation
- inflection
- derivation
- compounding
- clipping
- back-formation
- class conversion

Lesson slides, which are part study materials, will be available for download on the Moodle platform.

Basic references
Facchinetti, Roberta (2020) "English Phonetics and Morphology. A Reader for First Year University Students" (3rd ed.), Verona: Quiedit.

Kuiper, Koenraad and W. Scott Allan (2016) "An Introduction to English Language: Word, Sound and Sentence" (4th ed.), Houndsmills: Palgrave Macmillan. Chapters 1, 2, 4, 5, 6

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Didactic methods

The course will combine face to face classroom lectures with classroom discussion and practical activities; students are encouraged to participate actively.

Learning assessment procedures

Students are reminded that on the day of the exam they need to show proof of possession of a B2 language certificate (see pre-requisites).

Aims: the exam aims at evaluating:
- the knowledge and understanding of the topics in the syllabus
- the ability to make linguistic analyses
- the development of metalinguistic awareness

Contents: students will be examined on the range of topics listed in the syllabus

Assessment: a written exam consisting of practical excercises on phonemic transcription and on the other topics covered during the course. Theoretical questions, in the form of multiple choice questions or open questions, may also be present. The exam lasts 1 hour.

The contents of the exam are the same for attending and non-attending students. All students will be tested for the same skills.

Evaluation criteria

Evaluation will be based on correctness in the answers to questions and the resolution of exercises. Attention will also be paid to accuracy in the use of transcription conventions.

Criteria for the composition of the final grade

Evaluation: the final mark (out of 30) is a combination of the written exam (50%) and the mark of the B2 language certificate (50%).

Exam language

Inglese / English

Type D and Type F activities

Nei piani didattici di ciascun Corso di studio è previsto l’obbligo di conseguire un certo numero di CFU di tipologia D e di tipologia F.

CFU D (attività a scelta dello studente)
I CFU D possono essere acquisiti mediante:

  • insegnamenti non obbligatori nel proprio piano didattico (previa approvazione del Presidente del Collegio didattico per insegnamenti non selezionabili in autonomia)
  • attività accreditate dal Collegio didattico
  • competenze linguistiche (diverse o ulteriori) rispetto a quelle obbligatorie
  • tirocini o stage
  • TALC (competenze trasversali).

Competenze trasversali TALC

Scopri i percorsi formativi promossi dal  Teaching and learning centre dell'Ateneo, destinati agli studenti iscritti ai corsi di laurea, volti alla promozione delle competenze trasversali: https://talc.univr.it/it/competenze-trasversali
Nota bene: i corsi TALC sono riconosciuti solo come CFU D.


Il numero di CFU D va calcolato complessivamente sull’intero triennio/biennio e non è legato all'annualità.


CFU F
I CFU F sono solitamente relativi ad abilità informatiche, competenze linguistiche, stage e tirocini e ulteriori attività formative accreditate in questa tipologia dal Collegio Didattico.
Nel corso di laurea in Lingue e culture per il turismo e il commercio internazionale sono previste le seguenti tipologie:
- 3 CFU per terza lingua (livello B1)
- 3 CFU per informatica
- 6 CFU per stage obbligatorio.
Le competenze informatiche possono essere acquisite attraverso:
- il superamento della prova pratica presso le aule informatiche di Ateneo,
- la frequenza dei corsi attivati da scuole e centri accreditati dall’AICA (Associazione Italiana per l’Informatica e il Calcolo Automatico) o riconosciuti dalla Provincia e dalla Regione e superamento della relativa prova finale. Le domande per il riconoscimento delle competenze informatiche acquisite precedentemente vengono esaminate dalla Commissione per il riconoscimento delle Competenze Informatiche.
Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare utilità per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità specifiche d’interesse professionale.
 

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Area riservata studenti


Gestione carriere


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Saperi minimi


Graduation


Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue per il turismo e il commercio internazionale (L12) è previsto un periodo di stage obbligatorio (CFU 6) in organizzazioni imprenditoriali.

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini

Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


Vademecum dello studente