Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2014 Jan 10, 2015
II semestre Feb 23, 2015 May 30, 2015
Exam sessions
Session From To
ESAMI LINGUE Jun 3, 2015 Jul 25, 2015
Degree sessions
Session From To
TESI DI LAUREA - LINGUE Mar 30, 2015 Apr 1, 2015
TESI DI LAUREA - LINGUE Nov 18, 2015 Nov 20, 2015
Holidays
Period From To
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 2, 2015 Apr 7, 2015

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N O P R S T U V Z

Adami Valentina

symbol email valentina.adami@univr.it

Alber Birgit

symbol email birgit.alber@univr.it

Baccarani Claudio

symbol email claudio.baccarani@univr.it

Bezrucka Yvonne

symbol email yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8580

Bognolo Anna

symbol email anna.bognolo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8327

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

symbol email mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8663

Butturini Daniele

symbol email daniele.butturini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028882

Butturini Paolo

symbol email paolo.butturini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458425390

Cagliero Roberto

symbol email roberto.cagliero@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8694

Cantarini Sibilla

symbol email sibilla.cantarini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8199

Cappelletti Cristina

symbol email cristina.cappelletti@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8194

Carol Gerones Lidia

symbol email lidia.carolgerones@univr.it
Foto,  August 29, 2018

Chiecchi Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.chiecchi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8117

Colombo Laura Maria

symbol email laura.colombo@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8322

Dalle Pezze Francesca

symbol email francesca.dallepezze@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8598

Dal Maso Elena

symbol email elena.dalmaso@univr.it

De Beni Matteo

symbol email matteo.debeni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8540

De Lotto Cinzia

symbol email cinzia.delotto@univr.it

Facchinetti Roberta

symbol email roberta.facchinetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8374

Fiorato Sidia

symbol email sidia.fiorato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8317

Franceschi Valeria

symbol email valeria.franceschi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8729

Frassi Paolo

symbol email paolo.frassi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8408

Gallo Valentina

symbol email valentina.gallo@univr.it

Gambin Felice

symbol email felice.gambin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

symbol email stefano.genetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8412

Gorris Rosanna

symbol email rosanna.gorris@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8324

Grana Maria

symbol email cecilia.grana@univr.it

Larcati Arturo

symbol email arturo.larcati@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8311
foto,  July 29, 2014

Locher Elmar

symbol email elmar.locher@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8311

Lorenzetti Maria Ivana

symbol email mariaivana.lorenzetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8579

Neri Stefano

symbol email stefano.neri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8692

Nicolini Matteo

symbol email matteo.nicolini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028893

Ongaro Giulio

symbol email giulio.ongaro@univr.it

Paolini Sara

symbol email sara.paolini@univr.it

Pes Annalisa

symbol email annalisa.pes@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8318

Rabanus Stefan

symbol email stefan.rabanus@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8490

Remonato Ilaria

symbol email ilaria.remonato_01@univr.it

Resi Rossella

symbol email rossella.resi@univr.it

Rossato Chiara

symbol email chiara.rossato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8620

Salgaro Massimo

symbol email massimo.salgaro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8312

Sartor Elisa

symbol email elisa.sartor@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8598

Savi Paola

symbol email paola.savi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8028243

Schiffermuller Isolde

symbol email ischifferm@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8478

Severi Rita

symbol email rita.severi@univr.it

Siedina Giovanna

symbol email giovanna.siedina@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8405

Simeoni Francesca

symbol email francesca.simeoni@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8160

Stanzani Sandro

symbol email sandro.stanzani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458028649

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

symbol email giovanni.tallarico@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8663

Tallini Gennaro

symbol email tllgnr52@univr.it symbol phone-number 3475700395

Testa Federico

symbol email federico.testa@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8221

Ugolini Marta Maria

symbol email marta.ugolini@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8126

Vigolo Vania

symbol email vania.vigolo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8624

Zanfei Anna

symbol email anna.zanfei@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8347

Zangrandi Alessandra

symbol email alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028115

Zinato Andrea

symbol email andrea.zinato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
activated in the A.Y. 2015/2016
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-russo
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-russo
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-inglese
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-inglese
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-tedesco
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-tedesco
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-spagnolo
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-spagnolo
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-francese
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-francese
activated in the A.Y. 2016/2017
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Ulteriori conoscenze linguistiche - terza lingua (livello b1)
3
F
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

2° Year activated in the A.Y. 2015/2016

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-russo
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-russo
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-inglese
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-inglese
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-tedesco
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-tedesco
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-spagnolo
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-spagnolo
Prima letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-francese
Seconda letteratura e cultura straniera o materia d'area anno 2-francese

3° Year activated in the A.Y. 2016/2017

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Ulteriori conoscenze linguistiche - terza lingua (livello b1)
3
F
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002903

Teacher

Rita Severi

Coordinatore

Rita Severi

Credits

6

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Period

I semestre dal Oct 1, 2014 al Jan 10, 2015.

Learning outcomes

The course introduces students to the main literary movements and the relevant authors from the second half of the 19th century through the first half of the twentieth century, with particular attention devoted to travel literature in English. Constant attendance will enable the students to organize cultural and literary itineraries in their own city.
The course will examine both English and American writers who travelled to Italy and Verona, and have been inspired by the country and the ancient city, from a period of turmoil and revolutions which achieved the Risorgimento to the present times. First we will analyze the role played by the great Victorian writers, Ruskin, Dickens, and the American William Dean Howells (consul in Venice during the Licoln presidency), then we'll move on to a close reading of those late Nineteenth century authors who lived most or part of their lives in Italy and produced many of their successful works while staying abroad. By examining a few chosen texts of such lesser known authors as Maurice Hewlett, Arthur Symons, and Vernon Lee, we'll see how great the demand for travel literature (especially those accounts that described Italian towns and cities outside the beaten tracks of the Grand Tour) had spread by the beginning of the Twentieth century, and how it was pursued up to the present by such different writers, as D. H. Lawrence, the poet Henry Reed, and the American contemporary novelist, Robert Hellenga (first & only, so far, resident writer at the University of Verona in 2008-2009).

Program

REQUIRED STUDY- TEXTS:

Charles Dickens (1812-1870),from Pictures from Italy (1846): By Verona, Mantua and Milan, across the Pass of the Simplon into Switzerland, pp. 120-143.

John Ruskin (1819-1900),from Verona and Other Lectures (1894): Verona and its Rivers(1870), pp. 3-35.

William Dean Howells (1837-1920) from Italian Journeys (1901, ill. by J. Pennell): Vicenza, Verona, and Parma, pp. 259-292.

Oscar Wilde (1854-1900), At Verona (1881).

Vernon Lee (Violet Paget, 1856-1935),from Genius Loci. Notes on Places (1899): Introduction (see HEWLETT).

Maurice Hewlett (1861-1923) Madonna of the Peach Tree/Madonna del Pesco. Una storia di Verona, ed. bilingue a cura di R. Severi, Bologna, Patron 2007 (includes Vernon Lee, pp. 118-125).(10 euros in bookshops).

Arthur Symons (1865-1945), from Cities of Italy (1907): Verona, pp. 227-235.

David Herbert Lawrence (1885-1930), from Twilight in Italy (1916): On the Lago di Garda: Lemon Gardens; The Theatre.

Henry Reed (1914-1986), from Collected Poems, ed. by J. Stallworthy, Oxford, OUP, 1991: A Map of Verona (1946); The Town Itself (1974).

Robert Hellenga, Six Weeks in Verona, Verona, Biblioteca Civica, 2010 online.

EXTRA credits: Robert Hellenga, The Confessions of Frances Godwin, New York, Bloomsbury 2014.

** All the texts on the list are available online for download, with the exception of MAURICE HEWLETT (required reading) and ROBERT HELLENGA, The Confessions of Frances Godwin which is not required reading.

Critical Bibliography (required study):

Rita Severi, La poesia A VERONA di Oscar Wilde e altri viaggiatori anglofoni nella città scaligera, in Odeporica e Dintorni. Cento Studi per Emanuele Kanceff, a cura di P. Menzio e C. Kanceff, Moncalieri, Torino, CIRVI, 2011, pp. 283-293.

Rita Severi, Note sui viaggiatori anglofoni durante la Belle Époque: scelte di vita e di viaggio, in "Bollettino del CIRVI", 62, luglio-dicembre 2010, pp. 497-508.

Rita Severi, John Ruskin e i viaggiatori inglesi a Verona nella seconda metà dell'Ottocento (con un inedito), in "Bollettino del CIRVI", 59, gennaio-giugno 2009, pp. 7-30.


ENGLISH LITERATURE:

-VICTORIAN WEB
-BRITISH LITERATURE WIKI- The Twentieth Century

or any good History of English Literature. A list of authors will be posted online.

Examination Methods

EVALUATION:

All classes will beheld in English. Students are required to attend lessons

and actively intervene. At the end of the course the students will have to

pass a written test.
Copyrighted material cannot be photocopied.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Gestione carriere


Student login and resources


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Corso di Lingua catalana


Corso di Lingua portoghese brasiliana


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Saperi minimi


Graduation


Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue per il turismo e il commercio internazionale (L12) è previsto un periodo di stage obbligatorio (CFU 6) in organizzazioni imprenditoriali.

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini

Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


Vademecum dello studente