Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2018/2019

Academic calendar

Il calendario accademico riporta le scadenze, gli adempimenti e i periodi rilevanti per la componente studentesca, personale docente e personale dell'Università. Sono inoltre indicate le festività e le chiusure ufficiali dell'Ateneo.
L’anno accademico inizia il 1° ottobre e termina il 30 settembre dell'anno successivo.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates. .

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2018 Jan 12, 2019
II semestre Feb 18, 2019 Jun 1, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
ESAMI LINGUE- sessione invernale Jan 14, 2019 Feb 16, 2019
ESAMI LINGUE- sessione estiva Jun 3, 2019 Jul 27, 2019
ESAMI LINGUE- sessione autunnale Aug 26, 2019 Sep 21, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale (a.a. 2017/18) Nov 12, 2018 Nov 17, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione straordinaria (a.a. 2017/18) Apr 1, 2019 Apr 6, 2019
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva (a.a. 2018/19) Jul 8, 2019 Jul 13, 2019
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale (a.a. 2018/19) Nov 4, 2019 Nov 9, 2019
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione straordinaria (a.a. 2018/19) Mar 30, 2020 Apr 4, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2018 Nov 1, 2018
Sospensione dell'attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Festa dell’Immacolata Dec 8, 2018 Dec 8, 2018
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 22, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
VACANZE DI PASQUA Apr 19, 2019 Apr 23, 2019
Sospensione dell'attività didattica Apr 24, 2019 Apr 24, 2019
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2019 Apr 25, 2019
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2019 May 1, 2019
Sospensione dell'attività didattica May 20, 2019 May 20, 2019
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2019 May 21, 2019
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2019 Jun 2, 2019

Exam calendar

The exam roll calls are centrally administered by the operational unit   Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit
Exam Session Calendar and Roll call enrolment   sistema ESSE3 . If you forget your password to the online services, please contact the technical office in your Faculty or to the service credential recovery .

Exam calendar

Per dubbi o domande Read the answers to the more serious and frequent questions - F.A.Q. Examination enrolment

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K L M N O P R S T V Z

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Artoni Daniele

daniele.artoni@univr.it +39 045802 8465

Bertagna Federica

federica.bertagna@univr.it 0458028637

Bertazzoli Raffaella

raffaella.bertazzoli@univr.it +39 045802 8331

Bezrucka Yvonne

yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it +39 045802 8580

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Boschiero Manuel

manuel.boschiero@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Cagliero Roberto

roberto.cagliero@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Caleffi Paola Maria

paolamaria.caleffi@univr.it

Cantalupi Cecilia

cecilia.cantalupi@univr.it

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Cappelletti Cristina

cristina.cappelletti@univr.it

Celentin Paola

paola.celentin@univr.it

Cipolla Maria Adele

adele.cipolla@univr.it +39 045802 8314

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Corrizzato Sara

sara.corrizzato@univr.it

Cutolo Raffaele

raffaele.cutolo@univr.it +390458028317

Dalle Pezze Francesca

francesca.dallepezze@univr.it + 39 045802 8598

Dal Maso Serena

serena.dalmaso@univr.it +39 045 802 8119

De Beni Matteo

matteo.debeni@univr.it +39 045 802 8540

Fiorato Sidia

sidia.fiorato@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Fossaluzza Giorgio

giorgio.fossaluzza@univr.it +39 045 802 8795

Franceschi Valeria

valeria.franceschi@univr.it +39 045802 8729

Frassi Paolo

paolo.frassi@univr.it +39 045802 8408

Gambin Felice

felice.gambin@univr.it +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Gorris Rosanna

rosanna.gorris@univr.it +39 045802 8324

Hartle Sharon

sharon.hartle@univr.it +39 045802 8259

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Larcati Arturo

arturo.larcati@univr.it + 39 045802 8311
Elena Maiolini,  March 11, 2019

Maiolini Elena Valentina

elena.maiolini@univr.it

Merlin Stella

stella.merlin@univr.it +39 045802 8331

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Neri Stefano

stefano.neri@univr.it +39 045802 8692

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Padovan Andrea

andrea.padovan@univr.it +39 045 802 8753

Paolini Sara

sara.paolini@univr.it

Pelloni Gabriella

gabriella.pelloni@univr.it +39 045802 8328

Pes Annalisa

annalisa.pes@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Pisaniello Valerio

valerio.pisaniello@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Pomarolli Giorgia

giorgia.pomarolli@univr.it +390458028405

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Salgaro Massimo

massimo.salgaro@univr.it +39 045802 8312

Salgaro Silvino

silvino.salgaro@univr.it +39 045802 8272

Salvi Luca

luca.salvi@univr.it +39 045802 8468

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Schiffermuller Isolde

ischifferm@univr.it +39 045802 8478

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

giovanni.tallarico@univr.it +39 045 802 8663

Tomaselli Alessandra

alessandra.tomaselli@univr.it +39 045802 8315

Viola Corrado

corrado.viola@univr.it +39 045802 8194

Zinato Susanna

susanna.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Zollo Silvia Domenica

silvia.zollo@univr.it +39 045802 8105

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
(L-LIN/04)
9
A
(L-LIN/14)
9
A
(L-LIN/21)
9
A
(L-LIN/07)
2nd foreign language
9
A
(L-LIN/04)
9
A
(L-LIN/14)
9
A
(L-LIN/21)
9
A
(L-LIN/07)
1st foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
2nd foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
1 module to be chosen among the following
3rd foreign language
3
F
-
TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/12)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/14)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/07)
2nd foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/12)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/14)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/07)
1st foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
2nd foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
9
C
(L-FIL-LET/14)
9
B
(L-LIN/01)
1 module to be chosen among the following
TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
2nd foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
1 module among the following (philology related to 1st or 2nd foreign language)
6
C
(M-FIL/04)
6
C
(L-ART/07)
1 module among the following
Final exam
6
E
-

1° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
(L-LIN/04)
9
A
(L-LIN/14)
9
A
(L-LIN/21)
9
A
(L-LIN/07)
2nd foreign language
9
A
(L-LIN/04)
9
A
(L-LIN/14)
9
A
(L-LIN/21)
9
A
(L-LIN/07)
1st foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
2nd foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
1 module to be chosen among the following
3rd foreign language
3
F
-

2° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/12)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/14)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/07)
2nd foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/12)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/14)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/07)
1st foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
2nd foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
9
C
(L-FIL-LET/14)
9
B
(L-LIN/01)
1 module to be chosen among the following

3° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
2nd foreign literature
9
B
(L-LIN/03)
9
B
(L-LIN/13)
1 module among the following (philology related to 1st or 2nd foreign language)
6
C
(M-FIL/04)
6
C
(L-ART/07)
1 module among the following
Final exam
6
E
-
Teachings Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002927

Coordinatore

Susanna Zinato

Credits

9

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Language of instruction

English en

Period

I semestre dal Oct 1, 2018 al Jan 12, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The module, taught in English, is meant to guide the students through a critical approach to the English Literature of the period going from the Restoration to late Romanticism, especially in relation to a representative range of texts of the canon. Besides, it aims at getting the students familiar with fundamental tools necessary for text analysis and genre criticism. Its overall gaol is to provide the students with a good knowledge of the British literature of the set literary period (its historical context, its texts, genres, movements/authors) and of helping them develop skills for analysis, argumentation and exposition in English, in relation to various typologies of literary texts in their historical-cultural context.

At the end of the module, students will be able to:
-analyze the literary texts set in the syllabus in their historical-cultural contexts;
-argumentatively discuss them by taking into account literary conventions and by applying an informed critical approach that is aware of the literary nature of the text;
-demonstrate the acquired knowledge and skills, in English and in a clear and consistent way.

Program

MILTON'S SATAN'S HEIRS
The aim of the module is to provide the students with the opportunity to be guided into a critical study -aware of literary language and of contextual implications- of the the impact that Milton's epic and his characterization of Satan in Paradise Lost had on both the Restoration theatre - thorugh the figure of the rake in comedy and tragedy - , and Romantic literature and culture, when the poet of the Sublime and the prophet of revolution could be appropriated from various, different positions. Crucially, the student will analyze the deep and pervasive presence of Milton's Satanic epic in Mary Shelley's novel, where, by having it interact with the classic myth of Prometheus (the other powerful cultural icon of Romanticism), she has founded the modern myth of Frankenstein.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (all the listed works can be consulted in Frinzi Library)

*TEXTS:
- J.MILTON, Paradise Lost (1667), Book I (any annotated and unabridged edition)
-G. ETHEREGE, The Man of Mode (1676), New Mermaids, ed. by J. Barnard
-T. SHADWELL, The Libertine: A Tragedy (1677), (any unabridged edition)
-M. SHELLEY, Frankenstein or the Modern Prometheus (1818), Penguin Classics
-P.B. SHELLEY, "Preface" to "Prometheus Unbound" (1839) (any unabridged edition)

*CRITICISM:
-J. CAREY, "Milton's Satan", in The Cambridge Companion to Milton, ed. by D. Danielson, 1999
-L. Berglund, "The Language of the Libertine: Subversive Morality in The Man of Mode", Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900, Vol 30.3 (1990): 369-386 (Jstor)
-A. JAFFE, "Seditious Appetites and Creeds: Shadwell's Libertine and Hobbes's Foole", Restoration: Studies in English Literarary Culture, 1660-1770, Vol. 24, No.2 (Fall 2000), 55-74 (Jstor)
-A. SHARMA, "Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and Milton's Monstruous Myth", Nineteenth-Century Literature, Vol. 47, No.3 (dec. 1992), 303-319, (Jstor)

Handbook for literary history: from The Oxford History of English Literature, ed. by SANDERS :
Ch.4 Revolution and Restoration Literature 1620-1690 (Hobbes; Political Prose of the Civil War Period; Milton; Rochester and Dryden; Mary Astell, Aphra Behn; Restoration Drama), Ch. 5 Eighteenth-Century Literature 1690-1780 (Introduction 276-283; Jonathan Swift; Pope; Defoe and the Rise of the Novel; Richardson and Fielding; Smollett and Sterne; Sensibility, Sentimentality, tears, and Graveyards), Ch. 6 The Literature of the Romantic period 1780-1830 (Introduction 338-340; Paine, Godwin, and the 'Jacobin' Novelists; Gothic Fiction; Blake; Coleridge; Austen, Scott; Byron, Shelley, and Keats).

N.B.: Detailed information concerning where to find the set bibliography will be given in the first, introductory class.

NON-ATTENDING STUDENTS ARE REQUIRED TO STUDY THE FOLLOWING SOURCES IN ADDITION TO THOSE GIVEN ABOVE:

-B. KIEFER LEWALSKI, "The Genres of Paradise Lost", in The Cambridge Companion to Milton, ed. by D. Danielson, 1999
-N. FORSYTH, "Satan", in The Cambridge Companion to Paradise Lost, ed. by L. Schwartz,Cambridge UP, 2014 (17-28)
-H. WEBER, da"The Restoration Rake-Hero", University of Wisconsin Press, 1986, Chapter 2
- D. ARMITAGE , "Monstrosity and Myth in Mary Shelley's Franknstein" (200-226), in Monstruous Bodies/Political Monstrosities in Early Modern Europe , ed. by L. Lunger Knoppers and J. B. Landes, 2004

TEACHING
This module will be taught in English through lectures (27 X 2 hours). It will avail itself of DVD material (film).




Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Shelley, Mary Frankenstein, or the Modern Prometheus (1818) Penguin Classics 1992 Edited with an Introduction and Notes by Maurice Hindle Testo della bibliografia primaria.
Sharma, A. "Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and Milton's Monstruous Myth", articolo 1992 Articolo in "Nineteenth-Century Literature", Vol. 74, 3 (1992): 303-319. Reperibile su JStor, banca dati bilbioteca Frinzi. Testo facenbte parte della Bibliografia critica.
Carey, J. "Milton and Satan", in The Cambridge Companion to Milton, ed. D. Danielson Cambridge UP 1999 Testo facente parte della Bibliografia critica. Reperibile in bilbioteca Frinzi.
Armitage, D. "Monstrosity and Myth in Mary Shelley's Frankenstein", in Monstrous Bodies/Political Monstrosities in Early Modern Europe, ed. Lunger Knoppers and Landes Cornell UP 2004 Testo facente parte della Bibliografia critica suppletiva obbligatoria per i non-frequentanti. Reperibile in Biblioteca Dipartimento di Culture e Civiltà.
Milton, John Paradiso Perduto/Paradise Lost (1667) (Libro I/Book I) Mondadori 2017 Traduzione di R. Sanesi. In alternativa. qualsiasi altra edizione in inglese, integrale, annotata. testo della bibliografia primaria.
Shelley, P. B. "Preface" to Prometheus Unbound (1839) qualsiasi edizione   Quasiasi edizione. Reberibile in Biblioteca Frinzi. Testo della bibliografia primaria.
Forsyth, N. "Satan", in The Cambridge Companion to Paradise Lost, ed. L. Schwartz Cambridge UP 2014 Testo facente parte della "Bibliografia critica suppletiva obbligatoria per i non-frequentanti". Reperibile in biblioteca Frinzi.
Jaffe, A. "Seditious Appetites and Creeds: Shadwell's Libertine and Hobbes' Foole", articolo 2000 Articolo in "Restoration: Studies in English Literary Culture, 1660-1770", Vol.24, 2 (2000): 55-74. Reperibile su JStor, banca dati biblioteca Frinzi. Testo facente parte della bilbiografia critica.
Kiefer Lewalski, B. "The Genres of Paradise Lost", in The Cambridge Companion to Milton, ed. D. Danielson Cambridge UP 1999 Testo facente parte della "Bibliografia critica suppletiva per non-frequentanti". Reperibile in bilbioteca Frinzi.
Berglund, Lisa "The Language of the Libertine: Subversive Morality in 'The Man of Mode'", articolo 1999 Articolo contenuto in "Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900", Vol. 30.3 (1990) : 369-386. In JStor, in banca dati biblioteca Frinzi. Testo facente parte della bibliografia critica.
Shadwell, Thomas The Libertine. A Tragedy (1676) in Four Restoration Libertine Plays ed. D. Payne Fisk Oxford's World Classics, Oxford UP 2005 Testo reperibile in biblioteca Frinzi, anche nelle "Complete Works" di Thomas Shadwell. Testo facente parte della bibliografia primaria.
Etherege, George The Man of Mode (1676) New Mermaids 2000 Edited by John Barnard Testo reperibile anche in biblioteca Frinzi. Testo facente parte della bibliografia primaria.
Weber, H. The Restoration Rake-Hero, ch.2 Winsconsin Press 1986 Testo facente parte della "Bibliografia critica suppletiva per studenti non-frequentanti". Reperibile in bilbioteca Frinzi.
Sanders, Andrew (ed.) The Short Oxford History of English Literature (ch.s 7-10) Oxford UP 2004 Handbook/Manuale adottato nel triennio. Vedi sezioni indicate nel programma dalla docente/See selected parts in the syllabus.

Examination Methods

EVALUATION
This module will be assessed by an oral examination in English and is meant to evaluate the student's acquired competence (i.e. analytical skills and contextual knowledge) in approaching the literary texts set in the syllabus.
To prepare him/herself for the examination the student is required to study the set critical bibliography, to integrate the contents developed during classes.

Non-attending students are required to study the additional, and obligatory, critical bibliography set for them in the programme.

Students are required to sit for the exam with a copy of the programme and their own primary texts.

Tipologia di Attività formativa D e F

Academic year

Course not yet included

Career prospects


Avvisi degli insegnamenti e del corso di studio

Per la comunità studentesca

Se sei già iscritta/o a un corso di studio, puoi consultare tutti gli avvisi relativi al tuo corso di studi nella tua area riservata MyUnivr.
In questo portale potrai visualizzare informazioni, risorse e servizi utili che riguardano la tua carriera universitaria (libretto online, gestione della carriera Esse3, corsi e-learning, email istituzionale, modulistica di segreteria, procedure amministrative, ecc.).
Entra in MyUnivr con le tue credenziali GIA.

Student Guide

Allegati

Title Info File
pdf Vademecum normativo area Lingue e letterature straniere 1009 KB, 07/07/21 

Stage e tirocini

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.
Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.

 

Linguistic training CLA


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.