Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Sep 27, 2021 Jan 8, 2022
II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Feb 14, 2022 May 28, 2022
Exam sessions
Session From To
ESAMI LINGUE - sessione invernale Jan 10, 2022 Feb 12, 2022
ESAMI LINGUE - sessione estiva May 30, 2022 Jul 23, 2022
ESAMI LINGUE - sessione autunnale Aug 29, 2022 Sep 24, 2022
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale (a.a. 2020-2021) Nov 8, 2021 Nov 13, 2021
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione straordinaria (a.a. 2020-2021) Mar 28, 2022 Apr 2, 2022
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva (a.a. 2021-2022) Jul 11, 2022 Jul 16, 2022

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K L M N O P R S T V Z

Aloe Stefano

symbol email stefano.aloe@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8409

Artoni Daniele

symbol email daniele.artoni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8465

Benedettini Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.benedettini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8413

Bertagna Federica

symbol email federica.bertagna@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028637

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

symbol email mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8663

Borghetti Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8584

Boschiero Manuel

symbol email manuel.boschiero@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8405

Botta Enrico

symbol email enrico.botta@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8694

Brunetti Simona

symbol email simona.brunetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8575

Cantarini Sibilla

symbol email sibilla.cantarini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8199

Cappelletti Cristina

symbol email cristina.cappelletti@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8194

Cappellotto Anna

symbol email anna.cappellotto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8314

Colombo Laura Maria

symbol email laura.colombo@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8322

Corrizzato Sara

symbol email sara.corrizzato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8694

Dalle Pezze Francesca

symbol email francesca.dallepezze@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8598

Dal Maso Serena

symbol email serena.dalmaso@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8119

Di Maio Davide

symbol email davide.dimaio@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8678

Fiorato Sidia

symbol email sidia.fiorato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8317

Fossaluzza Giorgio

symbol email giorgio.fossaluzza@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8795

Franceschi Valeria

symbol email valeria.franceschi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8729

Frassi Paolo

symbol email paolo.frassi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8408

Gambin Felice

symbol email felice.gambin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

symbol email stefano.genetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8412

Giust Anna

symbol email anna.giust@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8465

Gorris Rosanna

symbol email rosanna.gorris@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8324

Hartle Sharon

symbol email sharon.hartle@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8259

Kofler Peter Erwin

symbol email peter.kofler@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8313

Lotti Denis

symbol email denis.lotti@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028618

Macor Laura Anna

symbol email lauraanna.macor@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8686

Masotti Lucia

symbol email lucia.masotti@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028272

Merlin Stella

symbol email stella.merlin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8331

Miotti Renzo

symbol email renzo.miotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8571

Neri Stefano

symbol email stefano.neri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8692

Ophaelders Markus Georg

symbol email markus.ophalders@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8028732

Padovan Andrea

symbol email andrea.padovan@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8753

Paolini Sara

symbol email sara.paolini@univr.it

Pelloni Gabriella

symbol email gabriella.pelloni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8328

Pes Annalisa

symbol email annalisa.pes@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8318

Piccinin Sabrina

symbol email sabrina.piccinin@univr.it

Pisaniello Valerio

symbol email valerio.pisaniello@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8381

Rabanus Stefan

symbol email stefan.rabanus@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8490

Salvi Luca

symbol email luca.salvi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8468

Sartor Elisa

symbol email elisa.sartor@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8598

Sassi Carla

symbol email carla.sassi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8701

Schiffermuller Isolde

symbol email ischifferm@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8478

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

symbol email giovanni.tallarico@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8663

Vender Maria

symbol email maria.vender@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8114

Zanfei Anna

symbol email anna.zanfei@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8347

Zinato Susanna

symbol email susanna.zinato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8318

Zinato Andrea

symbol email andrea.zinato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
L-FIL-LET/10
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
activated in the A.Y. 2022/2023
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1ST FOREIGN LANGUAGE
2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
It will be activated in the A.Y. 2023/2024
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1ST FOREIGN LITERATURE
2ND FOREIGN LITERATURE
1 MODULE AMONG THE FOLLOWING (PHILOLOGY RELATED TO 1ST OR 2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE)
6
C
M-FIL/04
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
Final exam
6
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
L-FIL-LET/10
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING

2° Year activated in the A.Y. 2022/2023

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1ST FOREIGN LANGUAGE
2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING

3° Year It will be activated in the A.Y. 2023/2024

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1ST FOREIGN LITERATURE
2ND FOREIGN LITERATURE
1 MODULE AMONG THE FOLLOWING (PHILOLOGY RELATED TO 1ST OR 2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE)
6
C
M-FIL/04
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
Final exam
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°3rd foreign language B1 level
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002896

Coordinatore

Sharon Hartle

Credits

9

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/12 - LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION - ENGLISH

Period

II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) dal Feb 14, 2022 al May 28, 2022.

Learning outcomes

This course aims to develop and consolidate students’ competence in the phonological and morphological aspects of contemporary English, also paying attention to their evolution over time. Students should also acquire a linguistic competence in English at a B2 level according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.

Program

“Introduction to English phonetics, phonology and morphology”

1. PHONETICS AND PHONOLOGY
- written language and spoken language
- grapheme, phone, phoneme, allophone
- International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA)
- phonetic transcriptions
- speech organs
- vowel sounds and consonant sounds
- voiced sounds and voiceless sounds
- place of articulation
- manner of articulation
- syllable
- stress, rhythm, intonation

2. MORPHOLOGY
- words: grammatical classes
- content words and function words
- morphemes and allomorphs
- affixation
- inflection
- derivation
- compounding

Basic readings
Facchinetti, Roberta (2020) "English Phonetics and Morphology. A Reader for First Year University Students" (3rd ed.), Verona: Quiedit.

Kuiper, Koenraad and W. Scott Allan (2016) "An Introduction to English Language: Word, Sound and Sentence" (4th ed.), Houndsmills: Palgrave Macmillan.

Additional readings
Cruttenden, Alan (2014) "Gimson's Pronunciation of English". London: Routledge.
Plag, Ingo (2003) "Word-Formation in English". Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.


Teaching Methodology

The course will consist of a blended learning approach which combines face to dace classroom lectures with classroom discussion and the use of digital tools; the students are encouraged to participate actively in the discussions.

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Examination Methods

Pre-requisite: B2 language certificate (Council of Europe). This can be obtained from the Language Centre (CLA) or from a number of certified language institutes (see student guide).

Aims: the exam aims at evaluating:
- the knowledge and understanding of the topics in the syllabus
- the ability to make linguistic analyses
- the development of metalinguistic awareness
-
Contents: students will be examined on the range of topics listed in the syllabus

Assessment: a written exam consisting of open questions, multiple choice questions, phonetic transcriptions and exercises. The exam lasts 1 hour.

Evaluation: the final mark (out of 30)is a combination of the written exam (50%) and the mark of the B2 language certificate (50%)

Final note: the contents of the exam are the same for attending and non-attending students. All students will be tested for the same skills.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

Nei piani didattici di ciascun Corso di studio è previsto l’obbligo di conseguire un certo numero di CFU di tipologia D e di tipologia F.

CFU D (attività a scelta dello studente)
I CFU D possono essere acquisiti mediante:

  • insegnamenti non obbligatori nel proprio piano didattico (previa approvazione del Presidente del Collegio didattico per insegnamenti non selezionabili in autonomia)
  • attività accreditate dal Collegio didattico
  • competenze linguistiche (diverse o ulteriori) rispetto a quelle obbligatorie
  • tirocini o stage
  • TALC (competenze trasversali).

Competenze trasversali TALC

Scopri i percorsi formativi promossi dal  Teaching and learning centre dell'Ateneo, destinati agli studenti iscritti ai corsi di laurea, volti alla promozione delle competenze trasversali: https://talc.univr.it/it/competenze-trasversali
Nota bene: i corsi TALC sono riconosciuti solo come CFU D.


Il numero di CFU D va calcolato complessivamente sull’intero triennio/biennio e non è legato all'annualità.


CFU F
I CFU F sono solitamente relativi ad abilità informatiche, competenze linguistiche, stage e tirocini e ulteriori attività formative accreditate in questa tipologia dal Collegio Didattico.
Nel corso di laurea in Lingue e Letterature Straniere sono previste le seguenti tipologie:
- 3 CFU per terza lingua (livello B1)
- 3 CFU per informatica.
Le competenze informatiche possono essere acquisite attraverso:
- il superamento della prova pratica presso le aule informatiche di Ateneo,
- la frequenza dei corsi attivati da scuole e centri accreditati dall’AICA (Associazione Italiana per l’Informatica e il Calcolo Automatico) o riconosciuti dalla Provincia e dalla Regione e superamento della relativa prova finale. Le domande per il riconoscimento delle competenze informatiche acquisite precedentemente vengono esaminate dalla Commissione per il riconoscimento delle Competenze Informatiche.

Lo studente ha comunque la possibilità di effettuare esperienze di stage e tirocini che però vengono riconosciuti all’interno dei crediti a scelta libera (CFU D).

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Gestione carriere


Student login and resources


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Corso di Lingua catalana


Corso di Lingua portoghese brasiliana


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Saperi minimi


Graduation


Stage e tirocini

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini

Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


 


Vademecum dello studente