Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Sep 26, 2022 Dec 23, 2022
II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Feb 13, 2023 May 27, 2023

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K L M N O P R S T V Z

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Armentano Nicoletta

nicoletta.armentano@univr.it

Artoni Daniele

daniele.artoni@univr.it +39 045802 8465

Benedettini Riccardo

riccardo.benedettini@univr.it +39 045 802 8413

Bertagna Federica

federica.bertagna@univr.it 0458028637

Bezrucka Yvonne

yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it +39 045802 8580

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it +39 045802 8663

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Boschiero Manuel

manuel.boschiero@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Botta Enrico

enrico.botta@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Cappellotto Anna

anna.cappellotto@univr.it +39 045802 8314

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Corrizzato Sara

sara.corrizzato@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Dalle Pezze Francesca

francesca.dallepezze@univr.it + 39 045802 8598

Dal Maso Serena

serena.dalmaso@univr.it +39 045 802 8119

Di Maio Davide

davide.dimaio@univr.it +39 045802 8678

Fiorato Sidia

sidia.fiorato@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Fossaluzza Giorgio

giorgio.fossaluzza@univr.it +39 045 802 8795

Franceschi Valeria

valeria.franceschi@univr.it +39 045802 8729

Gambin Felice

felice.gambin@univr.it +39 045802 8323

Giust Anna

anna.giust@univr.it +39 045 802 8465

Gorris Rosanna

rosanna.gorris@univr.it +39 045802 8324

Hartle Sharon

sharon.hartle@univr.it +39 045802 8259

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Lotti Denis

denis.lotti@univr.it 0458028618

Masotti Lucia

lucia.masotti@univr.it 0458028272

Merlin Stella

stella.merlin@univr.it +39 045802 8331

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Neri Stefano

stefano.neri@univr.it +39 045802 8692

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Padovan Andrea

andrea.padovan@univr.it +39 045 802 8753

Pelloni Gabriella

gabriella.pelloni@univr.it +39 045802 8328

Perazzolo Paola

paola.perazzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Pes Annalisa

annalisa.pes@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Pisaniello Valerio

valerio.pisaniello@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Procuranti Lucia

lucia.procuranti@univr.it 045/8028662

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Salvi Luca

luca.salvi@univr.it +39 045802 8468

Sartor Elisa

elisa.sartor@univr.it +39 045802 8598

Sassi Carla

carla.sassi@univr.it +39 045802 8701

Schiffermuller Isolde

ischifferm@univr.it +39 045802 8478

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

giovanni.tallarico@univr.it +39 045 802 8663

Vender Maria

maria.vender@univr.it +39 045802 8114

Zanfei Anna

anna.zanfei@univr.it +39 045802 8347

Zinato Susanna

susanna.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module between the following
6
A
L-FIL-LET/10
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1 module between the following
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1 module among the following (philology related to 1st or 2nd foreign language)
6
C
M-FIL/04
1 module between the following
Final exam
6
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module between the following
6
A
L-FIL-LET/10

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1 module between the following

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
1 module among the following (philology related to 1st or 2nd foreign language)
6
C
M-FIL/04
1 module between the following
Final exam
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
3rd language B1 level
3
F
-
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002926

Coordinatore

Yvonne Bezrucka

Credits

9

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Period

I semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) dal Sep 26, 2022 al Dec 23, 2022.

Learning objectives

The course, held in English, aims at introducing the students to English literature (from the Victorian to the contemporary period), with specific reference to a selection of canonical texts, and at presenting methodological approaches for the analysis of literary texts and genres. The course aims at providing a good knowledge of British literature (articulated in historical context, texts, genres, literary trends and authors) and the skills for a critical analysis and argumentation on different kinds of texts in their historical and cultural context. At the end of the course, students will be able to: - Analyse the literary texts of the programme in their historical and cultural context; - Apply an aware critical approach to literary texts and present an argumentation which shows knowledge of literary conventions; - Express the acquired literary and critical competence in English clearly and coherently.

Prerequisites and basic notions

Students must be in possession of the saperi minimi certification.

Program

The course will initially examine the literature of the Victorian period and then focus on modernism. We will then analyse the literary features of postmodernism and then of works that address the contemporary ecological crisis.
Bibliography:
Paul Poplawski (ed.) English Literature in Context Cambridge U.P. 2017, chapters: 5, 6, 7.
- C. Dickens, 1854, Hard Times, Penguin
- T.S. Eliot, 1922, The Waste Land, extracts,Faber & Faber.
- V. Woolf, 1922, Jacob's Room, Granada
- J. Joyce, 1922, Ulysses (extracts), Penguin (excerpts)
- J. Fowles, 1969, The French Lieutenant's Woman, Cape.
- A. Ghosh, 2019, Gun Island, online edition.
- A. Ghosh, 2016, The Great Derangement, online edition.
- G. Garrard, Ecocriticism. 2012. 2nd ed. London: Routledge.

- Y. Bezrucka. 2013. “Nature as Oikos and Kepos: Ecocriticism as a Branch of Bioethics in Romantic Studies”, in 'Il Romanticismo oggi', Nuovi Quaderni del CRIER, X, Fiorini, Verona, 33-54, download from Academia.edu.


Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Didactic methods

The course will be delivered via lectures in English and foresees the active participation of students.

Learning assessment procedures

The exam will be an oral discussion in English on the topics of the course and the texts in the programme.

Evaluation criteria

The exam will assess the ability to present and discuss the topics of the texts in the syllabus testifying to the acquisition of comparative and discursive capacities.
 The ability to make new connections between the topics of the course, and to summarise the critical texts indicated in the programme will be appreciated.

Criteria for the composition of the final grade

The examination consists in a Viva. No written examinations are foreseen.

Exam language

English Inglese

Type D and Type F activities

Nei piani didattici di ciascun Corso di studio è previsto l’obbligo di conseguire un certo numero di CFU di tipologia D e di tipologia F.

CFU D (attività a scelta dello studente)
I CFU D possono essere acquisiti mediante:

  • insegnamenti non obbligatori nel proprio piano didattico (previa approvazione del Presidente del Collegio didattico per insegnamenti non selezionabili in autonomia)
  • attività accreditate dal Collegio didattico
  • competenze linguistiche (diverse o ulteriori) rispetto a quelle obbligatorie
  • tirocini o stage
  • TALC (competenze trasversali).

Competenze trasversali TALC

Scopri i percorsi formativi promossi dal  Teaching and learning centre dell'Ateneo, destinati agli studenti iscritti ai corsi di laurea, volti alla promozione delle competenze trasversali: https://talc.univr.it/it/competenze-trasversali
Nota bene: i corsi TALC sono riconosciuti solo come CFU D.


Il numero di CFU D va calcolato complessivamente sull’intero triennio/biennio e non è legato all'annualità.


CFU F
I CFU F sono solitamente relativi ad abilità informatiche, competenze linguistiche, stage e tirocini e ulteriori attività formative accreditate in questa tipologia dal Collegio Didattico.
Nel corso di laurea in Lingue e Letterature Straniere sono previste le seguenti tipologie:
- 3 CFU per terza lingua (livello B1)
- 3 CFU per informatica.
Le competenze informatiche possono essere acquisite attraverso:
- il superamento della prova pratica presso le aule informatiche di Ateneo,
- la frequenza dei corsi attivati da scuole e centri accreditati dall’AICA (Associazione Italiana per l’Informatica e il Calcolo Automatico) o riconosciuti dalla Provincia e dalla Regione e superamento della relativa prova finale. Le domande per il riconoscimento delle competenze informatiche acquisite precedentemente vengono esaminate dalla Commissione per il riconoscimento delle Competenze Informatiche.

Lo studente ha comunque la possibilità di effettuare esperienze di stage e tirocini che però vengono riconosciuti all’interno dei crediti a scelta libera (CFU D).

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Area riservata studenti


Gestione carriere


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Saperi minimi


Graduation


Stage e tirocini

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini

Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


 


Vademecum dello studente