Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
primo semestre triennali Sep 19, 2016 Jan 13, 2017
secondo semestre triennali Feb 20, 2017 Jun 1, 2017
Exam sessions
Session From To
Prove intermedie primo semestre Nov 7, 2016 Nov 11, 2016
Appelli esami sessione invernale Jan 16, 2017 Feb 17, 2017
Prove intermedie secondo semestre Apr 10, 2017 Apr 13, 2017
Appelli esami sessione estiva Jun 5, 2017 Jul 7, 2017
Appelli esami sessione autunnale Aug 28, 2017 Sep 15, 2017
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale Nov 30, 2016 Dec 1, 2016
Sessione invernale Apr 5, 2017 Apr 7, 2017
Sessione estiva Sep 11, 2017 Sep 13, 2017
Holidays
Period From To
Vacanze natalizie Dec 23, 2016 Jan 5, 2017
Vacanze pasquali Apr 14, 2017 Apr 18, 2017
Vacanze estive Aug 7, 2017 Aug 25, 2017

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D G L M O P R S T Z

Baccarani Claudio

claudio.baccarani@univr.it

Borello Giuliana

giuliana.borello@univr.it 045 802 8273

Broglia Angela

angela.broglia@univr.it 045 802 8240

Campedelli Bettina

bettina.campedelli@univr.it 045 802 8416

Campolmi Alessia

alessia.campolmi@univr.it 045 802 8071

Cantele Silvia

silvia.cantele@univr.it 045 802 8220 (VR) - 0444 393943 (VI)

Caprara Andrea

andrea.caprara@univr.it 39 045 8028819

Castellani Paola

paola.castellani@univr.it 045 802 8127

Chesini Giuseppina

giusy.chesini@univr.it 045 802 8495 (VR) -- 0444/393938 (VI)

Cicognani Simona

simona.cicognani@univr.it 0458028099

Colombo Valentina

valentina.colombo@univr.it +39 0458028768

De Crescenzo Veronica

veronica.decrescenzo@univr.it 045 802 8163

De Mari Michele

michele.demari@univr.it 045 802 8226

Gaudenzi Barbara

barbara.gaudenzi@univr.it 045 802 8623

Guiglia Giovanni

giovanni.guiglia@univr.it 045 802 8225

Lai Alessandro

alessandro.lai@univr.it 045 802 8574

Levati Maria Vittoria

vittoria.levati@univr.it 045 802 8640

Minozzo Marco

marco.minozzo@univr.it 045 802 8234

Omodei Sale' Riccardo

riccardo.omodeisale@univr.it 045 802 8855

Ortoleva Maria Grazia

mariagrazia.ortoleva@univr.it 045 802 8052

Pellegrini Letizia

letizia.pellegrini@univr.it 045 802 8345

Polin Veronica

veronica.polin@univr.it 045 802 8267

Rodean Neliana Ramona

neliana.rodean@univr.it +39 045/8028225

Rossi Francesco

francesco.rossi@univr.it 045 8028067

Rossignoli Cecilia

cecilia.rossignoli@univr.it 045 802 8173

Scricciolo Catia

catia.scricciolo@univr.it 045 802 8341

Stacchezzini Riccardo

riccardo.stacchezzini@univr.it 045 802 8186

Torsello Marco

marco.torsello@univr.it +39 045 8028881

Zago Angelo

angelo.zago@univr.it 045 802 8414

Zoli Claudio

claudio.zoli@univr.it 045 802 8479

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
9
A
SECS-S/06
6
C
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
9
A
SECS-S/06
6
C
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02835

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MAT/09 - OPERATIONS RESEARCH

The teaching is organized as follows:

lezione

Credits

4

Period

primo semestre triennali

Academic staff

Francesco Rossi

esercitazione

Credits

2

Period

primo semestre triennali

Academic staff

Francesco Rossi

Learning outcomes

The course introduces the basic quantitative tools for the analysis and evaluation of key financial transactions, contracts and financing of investment projects both financial and business management.

Prerequisites
While there will be no formal prerequisites to make profitable learning, you should have already passed the exam of Mathematics, the first year, and of Statistics, in the second year.

Program

1. Read and financial regimes
Financial transactions: capitalization and discounting. Financial laws: upright, present value, interest, discount, interest rate and discount rate. Regime of simple interest, capitalization several times a year, compound, the discount trade. Interest rates equivalent to periods other than the year. Financial arbitrage, severability of financial laws, spot rate, forward rates. Force of interest. Currency transactions. Nominal interest rates, inflation, real interest rates.

2. Compound Financial transactions
Financial transactions and their classification. Current value and upright of a set of financial movements. Net present value (NPV or NPV). Evaluation of the installment, the number of installments, the implicit rate (IRR). Consumer credit, TAN and APR. Amortization schedules and closing conditions. Straight-capital basis, in equal installments on a straight interest paid in advance, with shares of accumulation. The pre-amortization. Early repayment of a mortgage. Rate mortgages indexed. Financial leasing. Savings plans.
Bonds and evaluation of the price of a bond, estimates of the term structure of interest rates. Control / hedging of interest rate risk: duration and convexity.
Criteria for choosing between operations / financial projects: NPV, IRR, TRM, WACC.

3. Select Portfolio with two risky assets
Recall of probability theory: the mean, variance, correlation. Investment in assets yielding haphazard. Expected return and volatility / risk of a portfolio of assets. Risk aversion and Markowitz model. Return and risk of a portfolio: a random and activities in return for a certain yield, two activities to yield uncertain, two activities to yield randomly and a certain return. Capital Allocation Line. Capital Market Line.

Textbooks
➢ James Scandolo, Financial Mathematics, Amon, Padua, 2013 (for the chapters concerned by the themes of points of the program) and Financial Mathematics: exercises, Amon, Padua, 2013.
In addition:
➢ for the synthesis and theoretical exercises about steps 1 and 2 is recommended:
A. Low, P. Pianca, Introduction to Financial Mathematics, Cedam, Padua, 2010.
➢ as in Step 3 can also be seen:
F. Rossi, F. Mantovani, Portfolio theory (investment diversification and control the risk-return profile), Monduzzi Publisher, 2010, pages 1-46 and 75-86.


Teaching material is available online by accessing the web page of the course.


The conduct of the lessons
The course consists of 56 hours of lectures and tutorials. There are also the hours of tutoring.

Examination Methods

NOT a test is scheduled for mid-term assessment.
At the conclusion of the lessons there is a final written exam of two hours.
The final written exam covers all the topics in the program, it is divided into several questions inspired by the examples presented in the classroom as well as to those contained in the material available online.

The tests are intended to assess:
- Knowledge of the topics scheduled
- The ability to apply methods and models to various economic and financial issues
The Commission may request an oral evaluation aimed at verifying:
- The depth and breadth of knowledge acquired;
- The properties of language;
- The ability to connect in systemic form knowledge.

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
Advanced Excel Laboratory (Verona) D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
Excel Laboratory (Verona) D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Proposte di tesi triennali Various topics

Internships


Student mentoring


Linguistic training CLA


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti