Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Primo Semestre Triennali Sep 18, 2017 Jan 12, 2018
Secondo Semestre Triennali Feb 19, 2018 Jun 1, 2018
Corsi intensivi estivi (Alba di Canazei) Jul 9, 2018 Aug 3, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Prove Parziali Primo Semestre Nov 6, 2017 Nov 10, 2017
Esami Sessione Invernale triennali 2017 Jan 15, 2018 Feb 16, 2018
Prove Parziali Secondo Semestre Apr 9, 2018 Apr 13, 2018
Esame sessione estiva triennali Jun 4, 2018 Jul 6, 2018
Esami sessione autunnale 2018 Aug 27, 2018 Sep 14, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
Lauree sessione autunnale (validità a.a. 2016/17) Nov 27, 2017 Nov 28, 2017
Lauree sessione invernale (validità a.a. 2016/17) Apr 4, 2018 Apr 6, 2018
Lauree sessione estiva (validità a.a. 2017/18) Sep 10, 2018 Sep 11, 2018
Holidays
Period From To
All Saints Day Nov 1, 2017 Nov 1, 2017
Immaculate Conception Dec 8, 2017 Dec 8, 2017
attività sospese (Natale) Dec 23, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Liberation Day Apr 25, 2018 Apr 25, 2018
attività sospese (Festa dei lavoratori) Apr 30, 2018 Apr 30, 2018
Labour Day May 1, 2018 May 1, 2018
Festa Patronale May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
attività sospese estive Aug 6, 2018 Aug 24, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M O P Q R S T

Bertoli Paola

symbol email paola.bertoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028 508

Broglia Angela

symbol email angela.broglia@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8240

Brunetti Federico

symbol email federico.brunetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8494

Bucciol Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.bucciol@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8278

Butturini Paolo

symbol email paolo.butturini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458425390

Cantele Silvia

symbol email silvia.cantele@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8220 (VR) - 0444 393943 (VI)

Carlotto Ilaria

symbol email ilaria.carlotto@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8264

Chiarini Andrea

symbol email andrea.chiarini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8223

Confente Ilenia

symbol email ilenia.confente@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8174

Demo Edoardo

symbol email edoardo.demo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

Durastante Paolo

symbol email paolo.durastante@univr.it symbol phone-number 0444962826

Fiorentini Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.fiorentini@univr.it symbol phone-number 0444 393934 (VI) - 045 802 8335(VR)

Florio Cristina

symbol email cristina.florio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8296

Giacomello Bruno

symbol email bruno.giacomello@univr.it symbol phone-number 0444 393933 (VI)

Giaretta Elisa

symbol email elisa.giaretta@univr.it symbol phone-number 0444393938

Lubian Diego

symbol email diego.lubian@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8419

Menon Martina

symbol email martina.menon@univr.it

Minozzo Marco

symbol email marco.minozzo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8234

Mion Giorgio

symbol email giorgio.mion@univr.it symbol phone-number 045.802 8172

Orso Cristina Elisa

symbol email cristinaelisa.orso@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8447

Perali Federico

symbol email federico.perali@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8486

Peretti Alberto

symbol email alberto.peretti@univr.it symbol phone-number 0444 393936 (VI) 045 802 8238 (VR)

Pertile Paolo

symbol email paolo.pertile@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8438

Pilati Andrea

symbol email andrea.pilati@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8444 (VR) - 0444 393938 (VI)

Quercia Simone

symbol email simone.quercia@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8237

Ricciuti Roberto

symbol email roberto.ricciuti@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028417

Rossi Francesca

symbol email francesca.rossi_02@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8098

Rossignoli Francesca

symbol email francesca.rossignoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 0444 393941 (Ufficio Vicenza) 0458028261 (Ufficio Verona)

Signori Paola

symbol email paola.signori@univr.it symbol phone-number 0444 393942 (VI) 045 802 8492 (VR)

Tescaro Mauro

symbol email mauro.tescaro@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8880

Tondini Giovanni

symbol email giovanni.tondini@univr.it symbol phone-number Verona: 045 8425449, Vicenza: 0444 393930

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
B
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
9
A
SECS-S/06
English language (B1 level)
6
E/F
-
activated in the A.Y. 2018/2019
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01
activated in the A.Y. 2019/2020
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
IUS/07
9
B
SECS-P/02
9
C
SECS-P/12
Stage
6
S
-
Final exam
3
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
B
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
9
A
SECS-S/06
English language (B1 level)
6
E/F
-

2° Year activated in the A.Y. 2018/2019

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01

3° Year activated in the A.Y. 2019/2020

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
IUS/07
9
B
SECS-P/02
9
C
SECS-P/12
Stage
6
S
-
Final exam
3
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00239

Coordinatore

Tamara Fioroni

Credits

9

Also offered in courses:

  • Microeconomics of the course Bachelor's degree in Business Administration (Vicenza)

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

SECS-P/01 - ECONOMICS

Period

primo semestre lauree triennali dal Sep 17, 2018 al Jan 11, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The aim of this unit is to provide students with appropriate tools for understanding how firms and consumers take their decisions and how markets are organized, with particular emphasis on the concepts of optimization and equilibrium. Upon completing the course, the student must demonstrate to know the organization of the markets and the behavior of firms and consumers within such markets. The student will also be able to express judgments on the implications deriving from the economic agents’ choices and to compare the different market structures.

Program

Textbook (recommended): "Microeconomia" by Hal R. Varian, Cafoscarina, 2007.
Additional material is available on the e-learning website.

The following program refers to the sixth edition of the textbook (2007).
Consumer Theory:
• Budget constraint (Varian, Chapter 2).
• Preferences and indifference curves (Varian, Chapter 3).
• Utility (Varian, Chapter 4).
• Choice (Varian, Chapter 5).
• Demand (Varian, Chapter 6).
• Slutsky equation (Varian, Chapter 8).
• Buying and selling (Varian, Chapter 9).
• Intertemporal Choice (Varian, Chapter 10).
• Choice under uncertainty (Varian, Chapter 12).
• Consumer's Surplus (Varian, Chapter 14).
• Market demand and elasticity (Varian, Chapter 15).
• Equilibrium (Varian, Chapter 16).

Production Theory:
• Technology (Varian, Chapter 18).
• Profit maximization (Varian, Chapter 19).
• Cost minimization (Varian, Chapter 20).
• Cost Curves (Varian, Chapter 21).

Market structure:
• Perfect competition in the short and the long term (Varian, Chapters 22 and 23).
• Monopoly (Varian, Chapter 24).
• Monopoly behavior (Varian, Chapter 25).
• Oligopoly (Varian, Chapter 27).

Interaction:
• Nash equilibrium and Game Theory (Varian, Chapter 28).
• Exchange (Varian, Chapter 31).
• Asymmetric Information (Varian, Chapter 37).

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Cipriani G.P., Fioroni T. Esercizi di Microeconomia (Edizione 4) Giappichelli 2020 9788892109308
Varian H. Microeconomia (Edizione 8) Cafoscarina 2011 9788875433079

Examination Methods

There will be an intermediate written exam (about halfway through the semester). This exam focuses on the topics covered up to that point. It consists of a test of multiple-choice questions (some of which will take the form of exercises).

The mid-term exam is optional. The score of the mid-term exam will count 50% of the final score. The aim of the intermediate exam is to encourage the students to a systematic study.

The final exam follows the same procedures as the intermediate exam: it consists of a test of multiple-choice questions.

In both the intermediate and final exams, a wrong answer in the multiple-choice questions will have a negative score.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
An Introduction to the History of Economics and Business Economics D Sergio Noto (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Tesi di laurea - Il credit scoring Statistics - Foundational and philosophical topics

Student mentoring


Linguistic training CLA


Gestione carriere


Internships


Student login and resources