Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2019/2020

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva di laurea Jul 17, 2020 Jul 17, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea Oct 13, 2020 Oct 13, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea - Dicembre Dec 9, 2020 Dec 9, 2020
Sessione invernale di laurea Mar 10, 2021 Mar 10, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N P R S T U V Z

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Astegno Alessandra

alessandra.astegno@univr.it 045802 7955

Badino Massimiliano

massimiliano.badino@univr.it +39 045 802 8459

Ballottari Matteo

matteo.ballottari@univr.it 045 802 7098

Bassi Roberto

roberto.bassi@univr.it 045 802 7916; Lab: 045 802 7915

Bellin Diana

diana.bellin@univr.it 045 802 7090

Bettinelli Marco Giovanni

marco.bettinelli@univr.it 045 802 7902

Bolzonella David

david.bolzonella@univr.it 045 802 7965

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Cecconi Daniela

daniela.cecconi@univr.it +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

roberto.chignola@univr.it 045 802 7953

Crimi Massimo

massimo.crimi@univr.it 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dall'Osto Luca

luca.dallosto@univr.it +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Di Pierro Alessandra

alessandra.dipierro@univr.it +39 045 802 7971

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Frison Nicola

nicola.frison@univr.it 045 802 7965

Furini Antonella

antonella.furini@univr.it 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Guardavaccaro Daniele

daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it +39 045 802 7903

Lampis Silvia

silvia.lampis@univr.it 045 802 7095

Marino Valerio

valerio.marino@univr.it 0458027227

Molesini Barbara

barbara.molesini@univr.it 045 802 7550

Munari Francesca

francesca.munari@univr.it +39 045 802 7906

Nardon Chiara

chiara.nardon@univr.it

Pandolfini Tiziana

tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it 045 802 7918

Romeo Alessandro

alessandro.romeo@univr.it +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Simonato Barbara

barbara.simonato@univr.it +39 045 802 7832; Lab. 7960

Speghini Adolfo

adolfo.speghini@univr.it +39 045 8027900

Torriani Sandra

sandra.torriani@univr.it 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

stefano.ugel@univr.it 045-8126451
Foto personale,  July 18, 2012

Vallini Giovanni

giovanni.vallini@univr.it 045 802 7098; studio dottorandi: 045 802 7095

Vettori Andrea

andrea.vettori@univr.it 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

nicola.vitulo@univr.it 0458027982

Zapparoli Giacomo

giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it +390458027047

Zenoni Sara

sara.zenoni@univr.it 045 802 7941

Zipeto Donato

donato.zipeto@univr.it +39 045 802 7204

Zoccatelli Gianni

gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7952

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(BIO/04)
9
A
(CHIM/06)
6
A
(FIS/07)
English B1
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S003257

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Barbara Molesini

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/04 - PLANT PHYSIOLOGY

Language

Italian

The teaching is organized as follows:

teoria

Credits

4

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Barbara Molesini

laboratorio

Credits

2

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Barbara Molesini

Learning outcomes

------------------------
MM: teoria
------------------------
At the end of the course, the student will acquire the theoretical and practical basis for the design of various types of genetic constructs aimed at developing transgenic, cisgenic, and intragenic plants. In addition, genome editing tools will be covered. Particular attention will be paid to the application of these strategies for qualitative and quantitative crop improvement.
------------------------
MM: laboratorio
------------------------
The laboratory practice will offer to the students the ability to design relevant experiments aimed at addressing two biological questions and to critically evaluate experimental data.

Program

------------------------
MM: teoria
------------------------
Molecular mechanism of stable transformation via Agrobacterium: Chromatin targeting of T-complex, proposed model of T-DNA integration; transgene integration, stability, methylation and silencing; strategies to avoid transgene silencing (e.g. site-specific recombination for precise and clean transgene integration); promoters used for genetic constructs (constitutive, spatiotemporal, inducible, synthetic); analysis of putative promoter sequence for the presence of cis-acting elements; reporter genes (transcriptional and translational fusion constructs); tools employed for the study of DNA-protein interactions: Chromatin immunoprecipitation assay, DNA electrophoretic mobility shift assay, DNA pull-down assay; coupling synthetic promoters with synthetic transcription factors for coordinated expression of multiple genes; multigene engineering; reporter genes; artificial miRNA and target mimicry; cisgenesis and intragenesis; cisgenic and intragenic genetic constructs; strategies to remove marker genes from transformed plants (e.g. via site-specific recombinase under the control of inducible promoters); artificial programmable DNA nucleases (ZFNs and TALENs) and RNA-guided DNA nucleases (Type II CRISPR-Cas9 of Streptococcus pyogenes) for genome engineering; molecular mechanism of CRISPR-Cas9; sgRNA design; minimization of off-target activity (e.g. Cas9 nickase and double nicking strategy and alteration in the length of the sgRNA); applications of CRISPR-Cas system beyond genome editing (e.g. CRISPR interference, gene regulation, and cargo delivery); genetic constructs for genome engineering using the CRISPR-Cas9 system, screening of mutants generated by CRISPR system (e.g. RFLP analysis, T7 endonuclease I assay, heteroduplex mobility assay); hybridization between nucleic acids and DNA/RNA labelling. Supplied educational material: Power point lessons, relevant research articles and reviews.
------------------------
MM: laboratorio
------------------------
- In vitro transcription for dsRNA generation, application of dsRNA in planta after flower emasculation to induce RNA silencing of a repressor of ovary growth. - Design of guide RNA using free bioinformatic software, template preparation by PCR using overlapping primers, in vitro transcription of guide RNAs and screening of the most effective guide RNAs for the cleavage in vitro of their targets in the presence of Cas9.

Examination Methods

The exam will ascertain the students’ knowledge on the topics of the lectures and lab practices. The exam, for both attending and non-attending students, will consist in a written individual exam featuring open-ended questions and exercises.


Type D and Type F activities

I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
Model organism in biotechnology research D Andrea Vettori (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/2/20 To 6/12/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Gestione carriere


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.