Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva di laurea Jul 17, 2020 Jul 17, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea Oct 13, 2020 Oct 13, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea - Dicembre Dec 9, 2020 Dec 9, 2020
Sessione invernale di laurea Mar 10, 2021 Mar 10, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N P R S T U V Z

Artegiani Elisa

symbol email elisa.artegiani@univr.it

Assfalg Michael

symbol email michael.assfalg@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7949

Avesani Linda

symbol email linda.avesani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7839

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7823

Bassi Roberto

symbol email roberto.bassi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7916; Lab: 045 802 7915

Bellin Diana

symbol email diana.bellin@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7090

Bolzonella David

symbol email david.bolzonella@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7965

Buffelli Mario Rosario

symbol email mario.buffelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027268

Castellini Alberto

symbol email alberto.castellini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Cazzaniga Stefano

symbol email stefano.cazzaniga@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027075

Cecconi Daniela

symbol email daniela.cecconi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

symbol email roberto.chignola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7953

Chiurco Carlo

symbol email carlo.chiurco@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458028159

Commisso Mauro

symbol email mauro.commisso@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027078

Crimi Massimo

symbol email massimo.crimi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dall'Osto Luca

symbol email luca.dallosto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Favretto Filippo

symbol email filippo.favretto@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7956-7865

Felis Giovanna

symbol email giovanna.felis@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458425627

Fiammengo Roberto

symbol email roberto.fiammengo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027038

Frison Nicola

symbol email nicola.frison@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7857

Furini Antonella

symbol email antonella.furini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982
Foto,  January 12, 2023

Gonzato Guido

symbol email guido.gonzato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8303

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Guardavaccaro Daniele

symbol email daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7903

Guzzo Flavia

symbol email flavia.guzzo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7923

Lampis Silvia

symbol email silvia.lampis@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7095

Mazzi Giulio

symbol email giulio.mazzi@univr.it

Munari Francesca

symbol email francesca.munari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7906

Nardon Chiara

symbol email chiara.nardon@univr.it

Pandolfini Tiziana

symbol email tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7918

Piccinelli Fabio

symbol email fabio.piccinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7097

Polverari Annalisa

symbol email annalisa.polverari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 6835629

Radicchi Eros

symbol email eros.radicchi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027868

Romeo Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.romeo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Speghini Adolfo

symbol email adolfo.speghini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027900

Torriani Sandra

symbol email sandra.torriani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

symbol email stefano.ugel@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8126451

Vettori Andrea

symbol email andrea.vettori@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

symbol email nicola.vitulo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027982

Zaccone Claudio

symbol email claudio.zaccone@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027864

Zapparoli Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027047

Zenoni Sara

symbol email sara.zenoni@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7941

Zipeto Donato

symbol email donato.zipeto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7204

Zivcovich Franco

symbol email franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Zoccatelli Gianni

symbol email gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7952

Zorzi Margherita

symbol email margherita.zorzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
BIO/04
6
A
FIS/07
English B1
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S003258

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/04 - PLANT PHYSIOLOGY

Period

Primo semestre dal Oct 4, 2021 al Jan 28, 2022.

Learning outcomes

The objective of the course is the acquisition of the theoretical fundamentals of plant physiology. After attending the course, the students will be able to understand the principal plant metabolic processes and the physiological and molecular mechanisms regulating growth and development, and response to the environment.

Program

Water transport in plants: chemical properties of water, mechanisms of water transport.
Water balance of plants: movement of water in the soil, water absorption by roots, water transport through the xylem, transpiration and stomatal movements, control of stomatal opening. Water stress: physiological responses to drought.
Mineral nutrition: the essential mineral nutrients, transport of mineral ions across membranes, membrane transport proteins, effects of mineral deficiencies.
Photosynthesis: the light reactions: general concepts , the photosynthetic apparatus, light absorption, electron transport and ATP synthesis. The Calvin-Benson cycle and its regulation. Photorespiration. C4 and CAM metabolisms. Starch and sucrose synthesis and hydrolysis.
Translocation in the phloem: the sink-source concept, phloem loading and unloading, allocation and partitioning of phosynthates.
Respiration: general concepts and unique features of respiratory metabolism in plants
Assimilation of nitrogen, sulphur and phosphate. Biological nitrogen fixation.
Plant growth and development: signal transduction in plants, cell division and cell expansion, embryogenesis, meristematic tissues, plant life cycles.
Photoresponses: phytochrome, phytochrome-induced responses and molecular mechanisms. Blu-light responses and photoreceptors.
Phytohormones: biosynthesis, physiological effects and molecular modes of action of auxin, cytokinin, gibberellins, ethylene, abscisic acid , brassinosteroids, polyamines, jasmonic acid.
Examples of genetic engineering applications to crop improvement.

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Examination Methods

The exam will ascertain:
Students’ knowledge on the topics of the lectures;
The language accuracy used to communicate the knowledge acquired;
The ability to link the knowledge acquired to potential biotechnological applications
For both attending and non-attending students, the oral examination will concern the topics discussed in the lessons and covered in the text book.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Type D and Type F activities

I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
Model organism in biotechnology research D Andrea Vettori (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/2/20 To 6/12/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Erasmus+ and other experiences abroad


Attendance

As stated in the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2022/2023, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.


Career management


Student login and resources