Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2018 Jan 31, 2019
II semestre Mar 4, 2019 Jun 14, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2019 Feb 28, 2019
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 17, 2019 Jul 31, 2019
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 2, 2019 Sep 30, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Jul 16, 2019 Jul 16, 2019
Sessione autunnale Nov 19, 2019 Nov 19, 2019
Sessione invernale Mar 11, 2020 Mar 11, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Sospensione attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 19, 2019 Apr 28, 2019
Vacanze estive Aug 5, 2019 Aug 18, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M P R S T U V Z

Assfalg Michael

symbol email michael.assfalg@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7949

Avesani Linda

symbol email linda.avesani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7839

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7098

Bassi Roberto

symbol email roberto.bassi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7916; Lab: 045 802 7915

Bellin Diana

symbol email diana.bellin@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7090

Bettinelli Marco Giovanni

symbol email marco.bettinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7902

Bolzonella David

symbol email david.bolzonella@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7965

Buffelli Mario Rosario

symbol email mario.buffelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027268

Capuani Rossana

symbol email rossana.capuani@univr.it

Cazzaniga Stefano

symbol email stefano.cazzaniga@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027075

Cecconi Daniela

symbol email daniela.cecconi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

symbol email roberto.chignola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7953

Chiurco Carlo

symbol email carlo.chiurco@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458028159

Cozza Vittoria

symbol email vittoria.cozza@univr.it

Crimi Massimo

symbol email massimo.crimi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dall'Osto Luca

symbol email luca.dallosto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Fiammengo Roberto

symbol email roberto.fiammengo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027038

Frison Nicola

symbol email nicola.frison@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7857

Furini Antonella

symbol email antonella.furini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Guardavaccaro Daniele

symbol email daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7903

Lampis Silvia

symbol email silvia.lampis@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7095

Marino Valerio

symbol email valerio.marino@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7227

Munari Francesca

symbol email francesca.munari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7906

Pandolfini Tiziana

symbol email tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7918

Pasetto Luca

symbol email luca.pasetto@univr.it

Pezzotti Mario

symbol email mario.pezzotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39045 802 7951

Romeo Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.romeo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Simonato Barbara

symbol email barbara.simonato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7832; Lab. 7960

Speghini Adolfo

symbol email adolfo.speghini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027900

Tomazzoli Claudio

symbol email claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Torriani Sandra

symbol email sandra.torriani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

symbol email stefano.ugel@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8126451

Vettori Andrea

symbol email andrea.vettori@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

symbol email nicola.vitulo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027982

Zaccone Claudio

symbol email claudio.zaccone@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027864

Zapparoli Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027047

Zenoni Sara

symbol email sara.zenoni@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7941

Zipeto Donato

symbol email donato.zipeto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7204

Zivcovich Franco

symbol email franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Zoccatelli Gianni

symbol email gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7952

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02707

Credits

6

Coordinatore

David Bolzonella

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

ING-IND/25 - CHEMICAL PLANTS

The teaching is organized as follows:

teoria

Credits

5

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

David Bolzonella

laboratorio

Credits

1

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

Nicola Frison

Learning outcomes

The course of Fundamentals of Bioprocess Engineering (5+1 CFU) aims at transferring to students the basic fundamentals about transport phenomena (matter, energy and momentum transfer) as well as the methodology for mass and energy balances around bioreactors operating both in batch and continuous mode for industrial production.
The practical aspects will be considered in the lab module (1 CFU).
These aspects are essential basic information for future courses on the same topic at master level.

Program

------------------------
MM: teoria
------------------------
Main contents of the class course will be: 1. Introduction The basic elements like the use of units, scheme representations, including P&ID, or some examples of industrial production will be given 2. Fundamentals Transport phenomena for mass, energy and momentum. Mass transfer will include a focus on interphase transfer as in the case of oxygen in water. The Oxygen Transfer Efficiency (OTE) will be defined. Mixing, type of impellers, baffles, mixing time 3. Bioreactors Different types of bioreactors, discontinuous (batch) and continuous (CSTR, PFR), will be described. The basic equations and the conditions of stable operation will be defined. Different yields will be defined. 4. Bioreactor facilities The main facilities for the bioreactor, like mixers and correspondent time of mixing and power, aeration and oxygen transfer mechanisms and efficiency will be studied. Monitoring and control systems based on physical-chemical signals like pH, redox, OD will be described.
------------------------
MM: laboratorio
------------------------
The lab activities will consider two different experiences regarding both transport phenomena and bioprocesses (definition of yields and kinetics). The experimental data collected during the lab activity will be used to produce two reports about the lab experiences carried out.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
teoria Pauline M. Doran Bioprocess Engineering Principles Academic Press 1995 0-12-220855-2
laboratorio Mark C. M. van Loosdrecht Per H. Nielsen Carlos M. Lopez-Vazquez Damir Brdjanovic Experimental Methods in Wastewater Treatment IWA Publishing 2016 9781780404745

Examination Methods

------------------------
MM: teoria
------------------------
The final examination will consist of two parts: a written and an oral test. The written exam will be made of three parts, two numerical exercise and one theoretical open question. After evaluation of the written part an oral exam will be given. The reports deriving from the lab experiences will be part of the evaluation.
------------------------
MM: laboratorio
------------------------
Different groups of students will produce the reports on the lab experience. The evaluation of the reports will be used together with the results of the written and oral examination to form the final mark.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti