Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 2, 2017 Jan 31, 2018
I sem - 3° anno Oct 30, 2017 Jan 31, 2018
II sem. Mar 1, 2018 Jun 15, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2018 Feb 28, 2018
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 18, 2018 Jul 31, 2018
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 3, 2018 Sep 28, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva di laurea Jul 20, 2018 Jul 20, 2018
Sessione autunnale di laurea Nov 27, 2018 Nov 27, 2018
Sessione invernale di laurea Mar 27, 2019 Mar 27, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
VACANZE ESTIVE Aug 6, 2018 Aug 19, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C F G L M P S T U V Z

Bazzani Claudia

claudia.bazzani@univr.it 0458028734

Begalli Diego

diego.begalli@univr.it +39 045 8028491

Bolzonella David

david.bolzonella@univr.it 045 802 7965

Boschi Federico

federico.boschi@univr.it +39 045 802 7272
Foto Maurizio Boselli,  October 19, 2013

Boselli Maurizio

maurizio.boselli@univr.it 045 6835628

Capitello Roberta

roberta.capitello@univr.it 045 802 8488

Favati Fabio

fabio.favati@univr.it +39 045 802 7919

Felis Giovanna

giovanna.felis@univr.it +390456835627

Gaeta Davide Nicola Vincenzo

davide.gaeta@univr.it 045 683 5632

Guzzo Flavia

flavia.guzzo@univr.it 045 802 7923

Lisanti Maria Tiziana

mariatiziana.lisanti@univr.it 0812532609

Meneghini Lorenzo

lorenzo.meneghini@univr.it

Pandolfini Tiziana

tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it 045 802 7918

Pezzotti Mario

mario.pezzotti@univr.it +39045 802 7951

Piccinelli Fabio

fabio.piccinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7097

Polverari Annalisa

annalisa.polverari@univr.it 045 6835629

Sidali Katia Laura

katialaura sidali@univr it 045 802 8592

Slaghenaufi Davide

davide.slaghenaufi@univr.it +39 045 683 5615

Speghini Adolfo

adolfo.speghini@univr.it +39 045 8027900

Tornielli Giovanni Battista

giovannibattista.tornielli@univr.it 045 6835623

Torriani Sandra

sandra.torriani@univr.it 045 802 7921

Ugliano Maurizio

maurizio.ugliano@univr.it 045 683 5626

Vandelle Elodie Genevieve Germaine

elodiegenevieve.vandelle@univr.it 0458027826

Varanini Zeno

zeno.varanini@univr.it 0458027830

Zamboni Anita

anita.zamboni@univr.it +39 045 8027901

Zenoni Sara

sara.zenoni@univr.it 045 802 7941

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
15
B/C
AGR/15
12
B
AGR/03
Training
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00138

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Maurizio Ugliano

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

AGR/15 - FOOD SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

To show the organization of the course that includes this module, follow this link:  Course organization

The teaching is organized as follows:

Teoria

Credits

4

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Maurizio Ugliano

Laboratorio [Laboratorio 1° turno]

Credits

2

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Davide Slaghenaufi

Laboratorio [Laboratorio 2° turno]

Credits

2

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Davide Slaghenaufi

Learning outcomes

------------------------
MM: Teoria
------------------------
The aim of this course is to provide detailed knowledge concerning chemical structure, reactivity, enological, and sensory role of the main grape and wine constituents. The practice classes deal with the most important analytical methods for winery application and their application to relevant wine chemical and biochemical transformations such as grape maturity and wine oxidation.
------------------------
MM: Laboratorio
------------------------
The purpose of this course is to illustrate, by means of practical laboratory experiences the most important analytical procedures for winery applications. Practical experiences related to the study of anthocyanin reactions as well as on the transformation induced by oxidation on wine chemical composition are also carried out.
------------------------

Program

------------------------
MM: Teoria
------------------------
Theory Grape and wine constituents: chemical, sensory and technological characteristics.
Sugars, acids, nitrogen compounds, polyphenols, aroma compounds and precursors, metals, proteins and polysaccharides, endogenous and exogenous antioxidants.
Chemical and biochemical reactions of enological interest Enzimatic reactions (intra- and extra-cellular): yeast- and bacteria-derived enzymes, polyphenol oxidase, laccase, pectinase, glycosidase, esterase, C-S lyase Acid hydrolysis reactions
Oxidative reactions
Redox equilibria
Colloidal phenomena and precipitations
------------------------
MM: Laboratorio
------------------------
In particular, the following aspects are discussed Analysis of total phenolics by means of spectrophotometric methods Analysis of color Analysis of tannins Reactions of anthocyanins Analysis of free and total sulfur dioxide Study of oxygen reaction during wine conservation Study of oxidation-related modification of sulfur dioxide, phenolics, and color Stoichiometric calculations for winery applications
------------------------

Bibliography

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Teoria Ribereau-Gayon Trattato di enologia vol I e II (Edizione 3) Edagricole 2007 88-506-4770-0
Teoria Jackson, Ronald Wine Science (Edizione 3) Elsevier 2014 978-0-12-381468-5

Examination Methods

------------------------
MM: Teoria
------------------------
Oral exam to verify Knowledge of the topics discussed during theoretical and practical classes. Exam results are given in fractions of thirty. No distinction will be made between students attending/non attending classes.
------------------------
MM: Laboratorio
------------------------
The topics of this course are discussed during the oral exam of Enology I
------------------------

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance is mandatory for practical and laboratory activities, unless otherwise determined by the Teaching Committee.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti