Studying at the University of Verona

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
LEZIONI 1° E 2° SEMESTRE (INSEGNAMENTI ANNUALI) Oct 1, 2019 May 29, 2020
LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 2°-3°-4°-5°6° ANNO Oct 1, 2019 Dec 20, 2019
LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 1° ANNO Oct 14, 2019 Dec 20, 2019
LEZIONI 2° SEMESTRE Feb 17, 2020 May 29, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A. 2018/2019 E 1°SEMESTRE A.A. 2019/2020 Jan 7, 2020 Feb 14, 2020
SESSIONE ESTIVA LAUREANDI Jun 1, 2020 Jul 3, 2020
SESSIONE ESTIVA A.A. 2019/2020 Jun 1, 2020 Jul 24, 2020
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE A.A. 2019/2020 Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A.2018/2019 Mar 2, 2020 Mar 13, 2020
SESSIONE ESTIVA Jul 13, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE Oct 12, 2020 Oct 23, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
FESTIVITA' OGNISSANTI Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
FESTIVITA' IMMACOLATA CONCEZIONE Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 24, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
VACANZE DI PASQUA Apr 10, 2020 Apr 15, 2020
FESTA DELLA LIBERAZIONE Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
FESTIVITA' DEL LAVORO May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
FESTIVITA' DEL SANTO PATRONO SAN ZENO May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
FESTA DELLA REPUBBLICA Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Other Periods
Description Period From To
TIROCINIO 1° SEMESTRE ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA TIROCINIO 1° SEMESTRE ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA Oct 1, 2019 Feb 15, 2020
ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA O DI RECUPERO TIROCINIO ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA O DI RECUPERO TIROCINIO Oct 1, 2019 Sep 30, 2020
TIROCINIO 2° SEMESTRE ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA TIROCINIO 2° SEMESTRE ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA Feb 17, 2020 Jul 24, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G I L M N P R S T U V Z

Albanese Massimo

symbol email massimo.albanese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4251/4024

Bazzoni Flavia

symbol email flavia.bazzoni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7128

Bertini Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.bertini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-802-7682

Bertossi Dario

symbol email dario.bertossi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4096

Boschi Federico

symbol email federico.boschi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7272

Busetto Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.busetto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027290

Cassatella Marco Antonio

symbol email marco.cassatella@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8027130

Chiamulera Cristiano

symbol email cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027277

Corsi Fabio

symbol email fabio.corsi@univr.it symbol phone-number 347 0076598

D'Agostino Antonio

symbol email antonio.dagostino@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4023

Danese Elisa

symbol email elisa.danese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 6698

De Franceschi Lucia

symbol email lucia.defranceschi@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458124918

De Leo Domenico

symbol email domenico.deleo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4942

De Santis Daniele

symbol email daniele.desantis@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4251 - 4097

Donadello Katia

symbol email katia.donadello@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4311

D'Onofrio Mirko

symbol email mirko.donofrio@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8124301

Fabene Paolo

symbol email paolo.fabene@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027267

Fabrizi Gian Maria

symbol email gianmaria.fabrizi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458124461

Faccioni Fiorenzo

symbol email fiorenzo.faccioni@ospedaleuniverona.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4251 - 4868

Ferrari Francesca

symbol email francesca.ferrari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8074872

Gerosa Roberto

symbol email roberto.gerosa@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458124863

Girelli Massimo

symbol email massimo.girelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027106

Girolomoni Giampiero

symbol email giampiero.girolomoni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 2547

Gisondi Paolo

symbol email paolo.gisondi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 2547

Iacono Calogero

symbol email calogero.iacono@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4412

Lleo'Fernandez Maria Del Mar

symbol email maria.lleo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8027194

Lombardo Giorgio

symbol email giorgio.lombardo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4867

Luciano Umberto

symbol email umberto.luciano@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 807 4251

Maffeis Claudio

symbol email claudio.maffeis@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7664

Majori Silvia

symbol email silvia.majori@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027653

Malchiodi Luciano

symbol email luciano.malchiodi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4855

Marchini Giorgio

symbol email giorgio.marchini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 6140

Marchioni Daniele

symbol email daniele.marchioni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7669

Marchiori Mattia

symbol email mattia.marchiori@univr.it

Martignoni Guido

symbol email guido.martignoni@univr.it

Menegazzi Marta Vittoria

symbol email marta.menegazzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7168

Mottes Monica

symbol email monica.mottes@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027 184

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

symbol email nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com symbol phone-number 338 7363781

Nocini Pier Francesco

symbol email pierfrancesco.nocini@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 812 4251

Polati Enrico

symbol email enrico.polati@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7430 - 4311

Renna Dora

symbol email dora.renna@univr.it

Romanelli Maria

symbol email mariagrazia.romanelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7182

Ruggeri Mirella

symbol email mirella.ruggeri@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458124953

Sboarina Andrea

symbol email andrea.sboarina@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7291

Scupoli Maria

symbol email mariateresa.scupoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8027405 045-8128425

Tinazzi Michele

symbol email michele.tinazzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8122601

Trevisiol Lorenzo

symbol email lorenzo.trevisiol@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4023

Ugel Stefano

symbol email stefano.ugel@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8126451

Verlato Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.verlato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8027628

Zanolin Maria Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.zanolin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7654

Zerman Nicoletta

symbol email nicoletta.zerman@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 812 4251 - 4857

Zotti Francesca

symbol email francesca.zotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 6938

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
BIO/16
7
A
BIO/10
6
A
FIS/07
7
A
BIO/17
13
A/B/C
INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
BIO/10
9
A
BIO/09
13
B
MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42
20
B/C/F
- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
- ,MED/28
3
B/F
- ,MED/28
4
B/F
- ,MED/25 ,MED/26
13
B/F
- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
- ,MED/28
7
B/F
- ,MED/28 ,MED/38
8
B/F
- ,MED/28
6
B/F
- ,MED/28
10
B/C/F
- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
BIO/16
7
A
BIO/10
6
A
FIS/07
7
A
BIO/17
13
A/B/C
INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
BIO/10
9
A
BIO/09
13
B
MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42
20
B/C/F
- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
- ,MED/28
3
B/F
- ,MED/28
4
B/F
- ,MED/25 ,MED/26
13
B/F
- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
- ,MED/28
7
B/F
- ,MED/28 ,MED/38
8
B/F
- ,MED/28
6
B/F
- ,MED/28
10
B/C/F
- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00103

Credits

7

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/10 - BIOCHEMISTRY

Period

LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 2°-3°-4°-5°-6° ANNO dal Oct 1, 2020 al Dec 23, 2020.

Learning outcomes

The Biochemistry course aims at understanding the molecular bases of the functioning of biological systems and the structure-function relationships of macromolecules, either under physiological conditions or in some pathologies. The course also aims to raise the knowledge of the main metabolic pathways and their regulation at the molecular, cellular and tissue levels. This will be possible by integrating chemical, physiological and pathological aspects of the human biochemistry in order to provide students with the biochemical knowledges useful for dental practice.

Program

Structure and classification of amino acids. Structure of the peptide bond. Secondary structures (alpha helix, beta sheet, triple helix of collagen). Tertiary and quaternary structures of proteins. Structure and function of fibrous proteins: alpha keratin, actin-myosin, elastin. Structure and function of proteins that bind the oxygen, saturation curve of hemoglobin for oxygen, cooperative effect, Bohr effect, 2,3 bisphosphoglycerate, pathological hemoglobins. Enzymes: examples of enzyme catalysis. Enzyme kinetics, maximum speed, Michaelis constant. Enzyme inhibition: competitive, non-competitive, allosteric. Regulation of enzyme activity by phosphorylation. Vitamins and co-enzymes.
Introduction to metabolism. Electron transport chain, theory chemo-osmotic, oxidative phosphorylation by rotational catalysis.
Digestion of carbohydrates, glycolysis, energy balance and its regulation, lactic fermentation. Gluconeogenesis, glycogen synthesis and glycogen lysis. Hormonal regulation of blood sugar. Pentose phosphate pathway.
Oxidative decarboxylation of pyruvate, the citric acid cycle and its regulation.
Catabolism of ethanol and its effects on hepatic metabolism. Cycle nutrition / fasting, metabolic dis-regulation in some human diseases.
Digestion of lipids, transport of lipids in the blood, lipoproteins.
Cytosolic activation of fatty acids, carnitine transport into mitochondria.
Beta oxidation of fatty acids. Ketogenesis, fatty acid synthesis, cholesterol metabolism.
Digestion of proteins. Amino acids metabolism: transfer, transport and deletion of the amino group, urea cycle. Catecholamine synthesis.
Nucleic acids, structure of DNA and RNA, DNA replication in eukaryotes, transcription.
Protein synthesis Regulation of gene expression and signal transduction.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Mathews CK, Van Holde KE, Appling DR, Anthony-Cahill SJ Biochimica (Edizione 4) Piccin 2013 978-88-299-2683-1
Siliprandi N, Tettamanti G Biochimica medica Ed. Piccin, Padova 1998
Voet D, Voet JG, Pratt CW Fondamenti di Biochimica (Edizione 4) Zanichelli 2017 978 88 08 42096 1
David L Nelson, Michael M Cox I principi di biochimica di Lehninger (Edizione 7) Zanichelli   9788808920690

Examination Methods

Two progress tests with open questions will be conducted. The first one at the beginning of November concerning the structure and function of biological macromolecules, the second on December 20th concerning topics on metabolism. In the later, one of the questions will be the detailed description with chemical formulas of a particular metabolic pathway. To be admitted to the second part it is necessary to clear the first part of progress test. The final assessment would be made with mean of the both progress examinations.
In regular sessions, the examination will consist of a written part describing a particular metabolic pathway with chemical formulas and the oral discussion on that pathway and on other topics related to the program.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Free choice courses

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf Copertina tesi_fac simile 288 KB, 11/08/22 
Doc_Univr_pdf Norme redazionali della tesi di laurea 305 KB, 24/03/22 
Doc_Univr_pdf Regolamento esame finale 379 KB, 24/03/22 

Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti