Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

For the year 2019/2020 No calendar yet available

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D E F G L M N P R S T Z

Albertoli Giancarla

giancarla.albertoli@tin.it 045 8009841

Aleotti Renata

renata.aleotti@apss.tn.it 0461-364187 364174 o 0464 582475

Amaddeo Francesco

francesco.amaddeo@univr.it 045 8124930

Barbui Corrado

corrado.barbui@univr.it +39 0458126418

Bellani Marcella

marcella.bellani@univr.it 045 8126691

Berti Loretta

loretta.berti@univr.it +39 0458127442

Cazzoletti Lucia

lucia.cazzoletti@univr.it 045 8027656

Chiesa Silvia

silvia.chiesa@apss.tn.it

Dal Prà Ilaria Pierpaola

ilaria.dalpra@univr.it +39 045 802 7161

Fumagalli Guido Francesco

guido.fumagalli@univr.it 045 802 7605 (dipartimento)

Girelli Massimo

massimo.girelli@univr.it +39 0458027106

Gotte Giovanni

giovanni.gotte@univr.it 0458027694

Lasalvia Antonio

antonio.lasalvia@univr.it 045 8283901

Latterini Enrica

enrica.latterini@apss.tn.it

Laudanna Carlo

carlo.laudanna@univr.it 045-8027689

Meyer Anja

anja.meyer@univr.it

Micciolo Rocco

rocco.micciolo@economia.unitn.it

Nocera Antonio

antonio.nocera@univr.it

Pertile Riccardo

riccardo.pertile@apss.tn.it 0461 904694

Pontrandolfo Stefania

stefania.pontrandolfo@univr.it 045 802 8483

Ruggeri Mirella

mirella.ruggeri@univr.it 0458124953

Tagliaro Franco

franco.tagliaro@univr.it 045 8124618-045 8124246

Tam Enrico

enrico.tam@univr.it +39 045 8425149

Tamburin Stefano

stefano.tamburin@univr.it +39 0458124285 (segreteria)

Trabetti Elisabetta

elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it 045/8027209

Zamboni Giulia

giulia.zamboni@univr.it 0458124301

Zancanaro Carlo

carlo.zancanaro@univr.it 045 802 7157 (Medicina) - 8425115 (Scienze Motorie)

Zoccante Leonardo

leonardo.zoccante@aovr.veneto.it 045 812 4773

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S000211

Teacher

Enrico Tam

Credits

2

Also offered in courses

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/09 - PHYSIOLOGY

Period

TERP 1A1S dal Oct 9, 2019 al Dec 13, 2019.

To show the organization of the course that includes this module, follow this link:  Course organization

Learning outcomes

Provide fundamental knowledge about:
1) Functions of organs of the human body on the basis of the physiology of the cells
2) Integration and regulation of the functions of the organs in the apparatus,
3) The relationship between the laws of chemistry and physics and physiology of cells, organs and apparatuses
4) Main physiological parameters of the healthy human.

Program

1 Cellular Physiology – Biophysics
Levels of organization of living things. Concept of the middle and internal homeostasis. Membrane structure. Movement of molecules across cell membranes. Physiological and molecular mechanisms of cell excitability: membrane potential at rest; graded potential and action potential.


2 Skeletal Muscle
Structural and molecular basis of skeletal muscle contraction. The neuromuscular synapse. Coupling between excitation and contraction. Levels of neuromuscular blockade. Mechanics and bioenergetics of muscle contraction. Typing of striated muscle fibers. Motor units. Recruitment and graduation of the force contraction.


3 Nervous System
Neuron functional anatomy. Synapse’s structure. Excitatory and inhibitory synapses. Spatial and temporal summation. Modulation of synaptic activity. Facilitation and presynaptic inhibition. General principles of nervous tissue: aggregates and neuronal circuits, receptors and effectors. Functions of sense. The receptor and the transduction process. The potential generator. Units of meaning. Receptive field. Classification of afferent fibers. Encoding of sense information. Somatic sens. Sensitivity 'to pain. Sensitivity 'taste. Smell. Functions of motion. Local control of the movement. Reflections by stretching. Stretch reflex. Coactivation alpha gamma. Recurrent inhibition. Inverse stretch reflex. Flexor reflex. Supraspinal modulation of reflex. Postural tone. Static postural reflexes. Control of postural tone. Voluntary control of movement: descending pathways and cortical areas.

4 Cardiovascular system
The blood as liquid assets and tissue. Cardiac function: ionic bases dell'autoritmicità. Coupling between excitation and contraction. Electrocardiogram. Cardiac cycle. Regulation of cardiac output: frequency and stroke volume. Elements of hemodynamics: pressure, flow and resistance. Blood pressure measurement. General information on smooth muscle. Arterioles: local factors and extrinsic factors of flow control. Blood system: diffusion processes and massive flow. Venous circulation. Regulation of blood pressure.

5 Respiratory system
Functional anatomy of the respiratory system. Respiratory mechanics. Respiratory volumes. Gas properties. Composition of alveolar air. Respiratory quotient. Exchanges and alveolar tissue of respiratory gases. Ventilation / perfusion ratio. Transport in the blood oxygen and carbon dioxide. Central generation of breath. Control of ventilation by oxygen, carbon dioxide and hydrogen ions. Hypoxia.

6 Renal system
Nephron’s functions: glomerular filtration. Clearance. Renal plasma flow. Tubular reabsorption. Tubular secretion. Adjusting the balance of the hydro saline. Antidiuretic hormone. Concentration and countercurrent multiplication. Regulation of potassium. Renal and extrarenal regulation of serum calcium. Renal regulation of acid-base.

7 Nutrition, metabolism, endocrinology
Functional anatomy of the alimentary canal. Secretory and motor phenomena. Salivation. Digestion and absorption. Bioenergetics: basal metabolism and activity. Elements of physiology of the pituitary, thyroid, adrenal, parathyroid, endocrine pancreas and the gonads.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
STUART IRA FOX FISIOLOGIA UMANA PICCIN 2019 978-88-299-3040-1
Silverthorn Fisiologia umana. Un approccio integrato Pearson 2020 8891902179
Zocchi L. Principi di Fisiologia EdiSES 2017
Widmaier E.P., Raff H., Strang K.T. Vander Fisiologia (Edizione 2) Ambrosiana 2018 9788808280022

Examination Methods

Written exam, 20 Multiple choice (only one correct answer over the five possible alternatives). Threshold 12/20.

Bibliography

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti