Training and Research

PhD school courses/classes - 2023/2024

Please note: Additional information will be added during the year. Currently missing information is labelled as “TBD” (i.e. To Be Determined).

PhD students must obtain a specified number of CFUs each year by attending teaching activities offered by the PhD School.
First and second year students must obtain 8 CFUs. Teaching activities ex DM 226/2021 provide 5 CFUs; free choice activities provide 3 CFUs.
Third year students must obtain 4 CFUs. Teaching activities ex DM 226/2021 provide 2 CFUs; free choice activities provide 2 CFUs.

Registering for the courses is not required unless explicitly indicated; please consult the course information to verify whether registration is required or not. When registration is actually required, no confirmation e-mail will be sent after signing up.

Teaching Activities ex DM 226/2021: Linguistic Activities

Teaching Activities ex DM 226/2021: Research management and Enhancement

Teaching Activities ex DM 226/2021: Statistics and Computer Sciences

Teaching Activities: Free choice

Credits

1

Language

English

Class attendance

Free Choice

Learning objectives

The purpose of the module is to explain, at an elementary level, the conceptual basis of the classical (frequentist) approach to statistical inference. The topics will be illustrated and explained through many examples. Students are expected to acquire the language and the concepts needed to better understand the inferential procedures required for their subjects.

Program

- Revision of limit theorems: weak law of large numbers; central limit theorem.
- Random samples, sample statistics and sampling distributions; normal and Bernoulli populations; sample mean, sample variance and sample proportion.
- Point estimation: estimators, unbiasedness, efficiency, mean square error, consistency.
- Interval estimation: pivotal quantity; paradigmatic examples.
- Hypothesis testing: type I and type II errors; critical value; confidence level; power; test statistic; observed significance level, paradigmatic examples.

When and where

Lessons will be delivered via Zoom; recordings will be made available by the lecturer. Attendance is not required, but passing a written test is required to obtain credits.
26 February 2024, 14:00-17:00
27 February 2024, 14:00-17:00
28 February 2024, 14:00-16:00
Moodle link

Scheduled Lessons

When Classroom Teacher topics
Monday 26 February 2024
14:00 - 17:00
Duration: 3:00 AM
To be defined Marco Minozzo INTRODUCTION TO STATISTICAL INFERENCE
Tuesday 27 February 2024
14:00 - 17:00
Duration: 3:00 AM
To be defined Marco Minozzo INTRODUCTION TO STATISTICAL INFERENCE
Wednesday 28 February 2024
14:00 - 16:00
Duration: 2:00 AM
To be defined Marco Minozzo INTRODUCTION TO STATISTICAL INFERENCE

Faculty

B C F G K L M R S T V Z

Battaglia Yuri

symbol email yuri.battaglia@univr.it

Bertoldo Francesco

symbol email francesco.bertoldo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 6485

Carrara Elena

symbol email elena.carrara@univr.it

Ciccocioppo Rachele

symbol email rachele.ciccocioppo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8124466

Crisafulli Ernesto

symbol email ernesto.crisafulli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 8146

Fantin Francesco

symbol email francesco.fantin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 3577

Fava Cristiano

symbol email cristiano.fava@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8124732

Fratta Pasini Anna Maria

symbol email annamaria.frattapasini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8124749

Frulloni Luca

symbol email luca.frulloni@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8124466

Gatti Davide

symbol email davide.gatti@univr.it

Girolomoni Giampiero

symbol email giampiero.girolomoni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 2547

Gisondi Paolo

symbol email paolo.gisondi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 2547

Krampera Mauro

symbol email mauro.krampera@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458124034

Lanza Massimo

symbol email massimo.lanza@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458425118

Mantovani Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.mantovani@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458127672

Mazzali Gloria

symbol email gloria.mazzali@aovr.veneto.it symbol phone-number +39 045 807 3577

Minuz Pietro

symbol email pietro.minuz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4414

Romano Simone

symbol email simone.romano@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458124414

Rossini Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.rossini@libero.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8126338

Sacerdoti David

symbol email DAVID.SACERDOTI@UNIVR.IT symbol phone-number 0458128159

Targher Giovanni

symbol email giovanni.targher@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 6014530

Trifirò Gianluca

symbol email gianluca.trifiro@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027612

Viapiana Ombretta

symbol email ombretta.viapiana@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4049

Zamboni Mauro

symbol email mauro.zamboni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 2537

Zoico Elena

symbol email elena.zoico@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812-2537

Zoppini Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.zoppini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8123115

PhD students

PhD students present in the:

No people are present.

Course lessons
PhD Schools lessons

Loading...

Guidelines for PhD students

Below you will find the files that contain the Guidelines for PhD students and rules for the acquisition of ECTS credits (in Italian: "CFU") for the Academic Year 2023/2024.