Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2019/2020

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva di laurea LM9 Jul 14, 2020 Jul 14, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea LM9 Oct 9, 2020 Oct 9, 2020
Sessione invernale di laurea LM9 Mar 12, 2021 Mar 12, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K L M R S T V

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Astegno Alessandra

alessandra.astegno@univr.it 045802 7955

Avesani Linda

linda.avesani@univr.it +39 045 802 7839

Benini Anna

anna.benini@univr.it 045 8027603

Boaretti Marzia

marzia.boaretti@univr.it 045 8027661

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Bossi Alessandra Maria

alessandramaria.bossi@univr.it 045 802 7946 (Studio) - 045 802 7833 (Laboratorio)

Cecconi Daniela

daniela.cecconi@univr.it +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Constantin Gabriela

gabriela.constantin@univr.it 045-8027102

Corbo Vincenzo

vincenzo.corbo@univr.it + 39 0458124830

Decimo Ilaria

Ilaria.decimo@univr.it 045 8027509

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Fabene Paolo

paolo.fabene@univr.it 0458027267

Giorgetti Alejandro

alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it 045 802 7982

Gottardo Rossella

rossella.gottardo@univr.it 045 8124247

Krampera Mauro

mauro.krampera@univr.it 0458124034

Laudanna Carlo

carlo.laudanna@univr.it 045-8027689

Liptak Zsuzsanna

zsuzsanna.liptak@univr.it +39 045 802 7032

Lleo'Fernandez Maria Del Mar

maria.lleo@univr.it 045 8027194

Malerba Giovanni

giovanni.malerba@univr.it 045/8027685

Mazzariol Annarita

annarita.mazzariol@univr.it 045 8027690

Montagnana Martina

martina.montagnana@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

Monti Francesca

francesca.monti@univr.it 045 802 7910

Rossato Marzia

marzia.rossato@univr.it +39 045 802 7800

Signoretto Caterina

caterina.signoretto@univr.it 045 802 7195

Tagliaro Franco

franco.tagliaro@univr.it 045 8124618-045 8124246

Turco Alberto

alberto.turco@univr.it 0458027189

Turrina Stefania

stefania.turrina@univr.it 045/8027622

Vettori Andrea

andrea.vettori@univr.it 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

nicola.vitulo@univr.it 0458027982

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
One course to be chosen among the following
Two courses to be chosen among the following
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Training
2
F
-
Final exam
40
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
One course to be chosen among the following
Two courses to be chosen among the following

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Training
2
F
-
Final exam
40
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°Two courses to be chosen among the following ("Biotechnology in Neuroscience" and "Clinical proteomics" 1st and 2nd year; the other courses 2nd year only)
6
C
(MED/04)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S003672

Coordinatore

Giovanni Malerba

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MED/03 - MEDICAL GENETICS

Language

English en

Period

II semestre dal Mar 2, 2020 al Jun 12, 2020.

Learning outcomes

The course provides the principles of medical genetics and pharmacogenomics. It aims to show when and how the genetic factor, defined at different resolution levels (from chromosomes to single nucleotide) plays a role in the variability of Mendelian and complex diseases, and of the variability of drug-response. The course aims to provide students with the tools to be able to evaluate critically and independently the results of scientific research in the field of medical genetics and pharmacogenomics.

Program

Human chomosomes, standard karyotype and numerical and structural chromosomal abnormalities. Chromosomal polymorphisms and CNV.
- Chromosomic syndromes and Genome disorders. Uniparental disomy . Uniparental diploidy
- Genetic counselling, genetic tests, prenatal diagnosis. - Parent-of-origin effects, imprinting and genomic imprinting disorders.
Diseases due to expansion of unstable repeat sequences (dynamic mutations). Unstable repeat expansion, premutation and full mutation, Sherman's paradox, anticipation.
-- Hereditary. Mendelian inheritance and atypical inheritance patterns: Mitocondrial inheritance
- Bases of human genetics. Human genome organization, gene order on human chromosomes. Structure of eukaryotic genes. Repetitive DNA. DNA polymorphisms: RFLP, SNP, VNTR, minisatellites, microsatellites. Genetic markers, physical and genetic maps. Linkage Disequilibrium.
- Pedigree construction and analysis.
- Gene and chromosomal mutations, mutation nomenclature. Mutagenesis and DNA repair. Molecular pathology of the gene: biological relevance and effect on the phenotype of mutations, methods for mutation classification as disease-causing. Gain and loss of function mutations, dominance and recessiveness. Genotype-phenotype correlation.
- Genetic variation in individuals and populations. Mutation and polymorphism. The Hardy-Weinberg law, allele and genotype frequency calculation. Inbreedeng and relatedness.
- Mendelian disease gene and mutation identification. Positional and functional cloning. Linkage analysis, human gene mapping, sequencing. Identification of disease causing mutations. Direct and indirect mutation analysis.
- Genetic testing. Diagnostic, presymptomatic, susceptibility, heterozygote identification, population genetic screening, neonatal screening.
- Modifier genes and complexity in single-gene disorders.
- The inheritance of multifactorial traits. Genetics of common disorders with complex inheritance, genetic and environmental factors, qualitative and quantitative traits, genetic predisposition to common diseases. General aspects od the identification of genetic factors in complex diseases. Segregation analysis: Mapping of complex traits, Familial and twin studies.
-Parametric and Non parametric Linkage. Linkage disequilibrium. Linkage and association analyses. Candidate gene studies, genome wide association studies (GWAS).
- Pharmacogenetics and precision medicine. Individual variation of drug response. Genes and polymorphisms of drug metabolism and mechanism of drug action. Molecular diagnostics of pharmacogenetic traits.
- Cancer genetics.
- Genome scan. Study design, quality control of data, imputation, risk assessment, linkage and association.
- Genome sequencing and Genomic, Exomic, and Transcriptomic analysis. Gene counting. Isoforms. Bioinformatics and Genomics.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Strachan T. and Read A. Human Molecular Genetics (Edizione 5) Garland Science (CRC press) 2018
Nussbaum, McInnes, Willard Thompson & Thompson Genetics in Medicine (Edizione 8) Elsevier 2016

Examination Methods

The task of the exam consists in verifying the comprehension of course contents and the ability to properly describe their arguments with appropriate scientific language.
Examination methods are the same for students who attended and for those who did not attend the course.
The exam consists of an oral test based on all the course contents
The exam is passed if the evaluation is greater or equal to 18/30.

Type D and Type F activities

I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Gestione carriere


Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Structural dynamics, aggregation and interactions of amyloidogenic proteins Biological chemistry - Biological chemistry
Structural dynamics, aggregation and interactions of amyloidogenic proteins Molecular interactions - Molecular interactions
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
3D-bioprinting biofabrication laboratory Various topics
Organ on-a-chip Various topics

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.