Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2016/2017

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 3, 2016 Jan 31, 2017
II sem. Mar 1, 2017 Jun 9, 2017
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale Appelli d'esame Feb 1, 2017 Feb 28, 2017
Sessione estiva Appelli d'esame Jun 12, 2017 Jul 31, 2017
Sessione autunnale Appelli d'esame Sep 1, 2017 Sep 29, 2017
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Appelli di Laurea Jul 14, 2017 Jul 14, 2017
Sessione autunnale Appelli di laurea Oct 20, 2017 Oct 20, 2017
Sessione invernale Appelli di laurea Mar 15, 2018 Mar 15, 2018
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2016 Nov 1, 2016
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2016 Dec 8, 2016
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2016 Jan 8, 2017
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 14, 2017 Apr 18, 2017
Anniversario della Liberazione Apr 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2017 May 1, 2017
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2017 Jun 2, 2017
Vacanze estive Aug 8, 2017 Aug 20, 2017

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D G H K L M S T V

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Avesani Linda

linda.avesani@univr.it +39 045 802 7839

Benini Anna

anna.benini@univr.it 045 8027603

Bentivoglio Marina

marina.bentivoglio@univr.it 045 8027158

Berton Giorgio

giorgio.berton@univr.it 045 8027126

Boaretti Marzia

marzia.boaretti@univr.it 045 8027661

Bossi Alessandra Maria

alessandramaria.bossi@univr.it 045 802 7946 (Studio) - 045 802 7833 (Laboratorio)

Cecconi Daniela

daniela.cecconi@univr.it +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Constantin Gabriela

gabriela.constantin@univr.it 045-8027102

Corbo Vincenzo

vincenzo.corbo@univr.it + 39 0458124830

Decimo Ilaria

Ilaria.decimo@univr.it 045 8027509

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Giorgetti Alejandro

alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it 045 802 7982

Krampera Mauro

mauro.krampera@univr.it 0458124034

Laudanna Carlo

carlo.laudanna@univr.it 045-8027689

Liptak Zsuzsanna

zsuzsanna.liptak@univr.it +39 045 802 7032

Lleo'Fernandez Maria Del Mar

maria.lleo@univr.it 045 8027194

Malerba Giovanni

giovanni.malerba@univr.it 045/8027685

Mazzariol Annarita

annarita.mazzariol@univr.it 045 8027690
Foto,  April 9, 2014

Monaco Ugo Luigi

hugo.monaco@univr.it 045 802 7903; Lab: 045 802 7907 - 045 802 7082

Montagnana Martina

martina.montagnana@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

Signoretto Caterina

caterina.signoretto@univr.it 045 802 7195

Tagliaro Franco

franco.tagliaro@univr.it 045 8124618-045 8124246

Turco Alberto

alberto.turco@univr.it 0458027189

Vitulo Nicola

nicola.vitulo@univr.it 0458027982

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
2 courses to be chosen among the following
One course to be chosen among the following
One course to be chosen among the following
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
2 courses to be chosen among the following
6
C
(MED/04)
Prova finale
40
E
(-)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
2 courses to be chosen among the following
One course to be chosen among the following
One course to be chosen among the following

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
2 courses to be chosen among the following
6
C
(MED/04)
Prova finale
40
E
(-)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S003671

Coordinatore

Giovanni Malerba

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MED/03 - MEDICAL GENETICS

Language

English en

Period

I sem. dal Oct 3, 2016 al Jan 31, 2017.

Learning outcomes

The course aims to provide the core skills to manage “big data” in the genomics era.
The course will focus on R programming, basic scripting and data processing.
At the end of the course, the student will know the basics on how to use the main command-line tools for files and strings handling within the context of genomics such as DNA sequence files and pedigree files containing information on individual genotypes.

Program

Specifically we aim to furnish the knowledge to:
- work into a Linux environment and bash scripting
- use R and its libraries for bioinformatic analyses (Bioconductor project)
- collect and collate genetic data from diverse sources
- arranging directories, renaming and archiving files
- convert files from one format into another
- prepare pipelines of commands for repetitive tasks (for instance, same analyses over more samples)
- learn the fundamentals of Perl and Python programming (hacking pre-existing programs to accomplish novel tasks)

The topics will be illustrated using real-life bioinformatic case studies (for instance, GWAS, exome or transcriptome analyses)

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Arnold Robbins, Nelson H. F. Beebe Classic Shell Scripting: Hidden Commands that Unlock the Power of Unix O'Reilly Media 2005 0596005954

Examination Methods

The task of the exam consists in verifying the comprehension of course contents and the ability to properly describe their arguments with appropriate scientific language.
Examination methods are the same for students who attended and for those who did not attend the course.
The exam consists of an oral test based on all the course contents
The exam is passed if the evaluation is greater or equal to 18/30.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Gestione carriere


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
3D-bioprinting biofabrication laboratory Various topics
Organ on-a-chip Various topics

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.