Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
primo semestre triennali Sep 19, 2016 Jan 13, 2017
secondo semestre triennali Feb 20, 2017 Jun 1, 2017
Exam sessions
Session From To
Prove intermedie primo semestre Nov 7, 2016 Nov 11, 2016
Appelli esami sessione invernale Jan 16, 2017 Feb 17, 2017
Prove intermedie secondo semestre Apr 10, 2017 Apr 13, 2017
Appelli esami sessione estiva Jun 5, 2017 Jul 7, 2017
Appelli esami sessione autunnale Aug 28, 2017 Sep 15, 2017
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale Nov 30, 2016 Dec 1, 2016
Sessione invernale Apr 5, 2017 Apr 7, 2017
Sessione estiva Sep 11, 2017 Sep 13, 2017
Holidays
Period From To
Vacanze natalizie Dec 23, 2016 Jan 5, 2017
Vacanze pasquali Apr 14, 2017 Apr 18, 2017
Vacanze estive Aug 7, 2017 Aug 25, 2017

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M N O P R S Z

Brunetti Federico

federico.brunetti@univr.it 045 802 8494

Cantele Silvia

silvia.cantele@univr.it 045 802 8220 (VR) - 0444 393943 (VI)

Castellani Paola

paola.castellani@univr.it 045 802 8127

Chesini Giuseppina

giusy.chesini@univr.it 045 802 8495 (VR) -- 0444/393938 (VI)

Cicogna Veronica

veronica.cicogna@univr.it 045 802 8246

Cipriani Giam Pietro

giampietro.cipriani@univr.it 045 802 8271

Confente Ilenia

ilenia.confente@univr.it 045 802 8174

Corbella Silvano

silvano.corbella@univr.it 045 802 8217

Corsi Corrado

corrado.corsi@univr.it 045 802 8452 (VR) 0444/393937 (VI)

Demo Edoardo

edoardo.demo@univr.it 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

Ferrari Maria Luisa

marialuisa.ferrari@univr.it 045 802 8532

Fiorentini Riccardo

riccardo.fiorentini@univr.it 0444 393934 (VI) - 045 802 8335(VR)

Giaretta Elena

elena.giaretta@univr.it 045 802 8051

Guiglia Giovanni

giovanni.guiglia@univr.it 045 802 8225

Leardini Chiara

chiara.leardini@univr.it 045 802 8222

Lubian Diego

diego.lubian@univr.it 045 802 8419

Mariutti Gianpaolo

gianpaolo.mariutti@univr.it 045 802 8241

Menon Martina

martina.menon@univr.it

Messina Sebastiano Maurizio

sebastianomaurizio.messina@univr.it 045 802 8052

Minozzo Marco

marco.minozzo@univr.it 045 802 8234

Mion Giorgio

giorgio.mion@univr.it 045.802 8172

Mussini Mauro

mauro.mussini@univr.it

Nardi Chiara

chiara.nardi@univr.it +39 045 8028768

Ortoleva Maria Grazia

mariagrazia.ortoleva@univr.it 045 802 8052

Pasquariello Federica

federica.pasquariello@univr.it 045 802 8233

Perali Federico

federico.perali@univr.it 045 802 8486

Pilati Andrea

andrea.pilati@univr.it 045 802 8444 (VR) - 0444 393938 (VI)

Pizzamiglio Maurizio

maurizio.pizzamiglio@univr.it

Renò Roberto

roberto.reno@univr.it 045 802 8526

Rossato Chiara

chiara.rossato@univr.it 045 802 8620

Roveda Alberto

alberto.roveda@univr.it Dip. Sc. Ec. 045 802 8096 C.I.D.E. 045 8028084

Salomoni Alessandra

alessandra.salomoni@univr.it 045 802 8443

Signori Paola

paola.signori@univr.it 0444 393942 (VI) 045 802 8492 (VR)

Sommacal Alessandro

alessandro.sommacal@univr.it 045 802 8716

Sproviero Alice Francesca

alicefrancesca.sproviero@univr.it 045 802 8216

Zago Angelo

angelo.zago@univr.it 045 802 8414

Zoli Claudio

claudio.zoli@univr.it 045 802 8479

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
B
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
9
A
SECS-S/06
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
IUS/07
9
B
SECS-P/02
9
C
SECS-P/12
Prova finale
3
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
B
IUS/09
9
A
SECS-P/01
9
A
SECS-S/06

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/04
9
B
SECS-P/01
9
B
SECS-P/03
9
B
SECS-S/01

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
IUS/07
9
B
SECS-P/02
9
C
SECS-P/12
Prova finale
3
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00393

Coordinatore

Roberto Renò

Credits

9

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

SECS-S/06 - MATHEMATICAL METHODS OF ECONOMICS, FINANCE AND ACTUARIAL SCIENCES

Period

primo semestre lauree triennali dal Sep 17, 2018 al Jan 11, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The objectives of the course are the introduction of the pillars of financial contracts and the quantitative method for their management, to be developed to the foundations of fixed income and portfolio management. The course will introduce the basic jargon in finance, as well as the main concepts underlying asset valuation and assessment of risk. At the same time, the course will develop quantitative methods which will be useful for advanced courses in finance.

At the end of the course, the student is expected to be able to perform operations involving the financial instruments explained in class, and to understand the theoretical ideas illustrated in the course.

Basic knowledge of mathematics and statistics is strongly recommended.

Program

1. Financial contracts under certainty

1.1. Basic concepts.
1.2. General theory of financial laws.
1.3. Interest rates and inflation.
1.4. Annuities, mortgages and other financial contracts.
1.5. Evaluation of financial cash flows.

2. Bond markets

2.1. Perfect Markets. Absence of Arbitrage.
2.2. The term structure of interest rates.
2.3. Fixed rate bonds. Spot and forward contracts.
2.4. Interest rate risk.
2.5. Floating rate bonds.

3. Stock markets

3.1. Risk and return.
3.2. Investment in two assets.
3.3. Portfolio allocation.
3.4. Stock valuation: Capital Allocation Line and Capital Market Line.

Suggested Book: (in italian)
G. Castellani, M. De Felice, F. Moriconi, Manuale di Finanza. I. Tassi d’interesse. Mutui e obbligazioni, Società editrice il Mulino, Bologna 2005.

Additional material will be available online.

The course is composed of 72 hours of traditional class teaching, plus 20 hours with a tutor for practice.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Castellani, De Felice, Moriconi Manuale di Finanza I. (Edizione 1) Il Mulino 2005 978-88-15-10702-2

Examination Methods

The purpose of the final exam is to evaluate the ability of the students to perform operations with the tools discussed in the course, and to evaluate their independent ability to critically explain the theoretical concepts of the course.

The exam consists in a written exam, plus a mandatory oral exam if the result of the written exam is between 15/30 and 19/30. If the result of the written exam is greater or equal than 20/30, the oral exam is optional for the student. If the result of the written exam is less than 15/30, the exam is failed.

An intermediate exam will be taken in the middle of the course and graded. The intermediate exam is consideres successful with a grade equal or greater than 15/30. In this case, the student is entitled to pass only the second part of the exam in the first two sessions after the end of the course. It is not possible to take the second part in a different session. If the global result is not sufficient, it is not possible to re-take the second part. It is possible to ask, optionally, for an additional oral exam, with all total grades greater or equal than 15/30 (of course, this is the only chance to pass the exam if the grade in the two written exams is lower than 18/30). In the case in which the student does not want to use the intermediate exam after this is graded, he should communicate this to the Professor.

During the exam the student can use a special sheet with formulas prepared on purpose, and a calculator. It is strictly forbidden to use any other material, including computing tools such as smartphones, tablets and laptops.

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Tesi di laurea - Il credit scoring Statistics - Foundational and philosophical topics
La performance delle imprese che adottano politiche di Corporate Social responsibility Various topics
La previsione della qualita' dei vini: Il caso dell'Amarone Various topics
Proposte di tesi Various topics
Tesi in Macroeconomia Various topics
tesi triennali Various topics

Internships


Student mentoring


Linguistic training CLA


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti