Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2018/2019

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2018 Jan 31, 2019
II semestre Mar 4, 2019 Jun 14, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2019 Feb 28, 2019
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 17, 2019 Jul 31, 2019
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 2, 2019 Sep 30, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Jul 16, 2019 Jul 16, 2019
Sessione autunnale Nov 19, 2019 Nov 19, 2019
Sessione invernale Mar 11, 2020 Mar 11, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Sospensione attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 19, 2019 Apr 28, 2019
Vacanze estive Aug 5, 2019 Aug 18, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M P R S T U V Z

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Astegno Alessandra

alessandra.astegno@univr.it 045802 7955

Badino Massimiliano

massimiliano.badino@univr.it +39 045 802 8459

Ballottari Matteo

matteo.ballottari@univr.it 045 802 7098

Bassi Roberto

roberto.bassi@univr.it 045 802 7916; Lab: 045 802 7915

Bellin Diana

diana.bellin@univr.it 045 802 7090

Bettinelli Marco Giovanni

marco.bettinelli@univr.it 045 802 7902

Bolzonella David

david.bolzonella@univr.it 045 802 7965

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Cecconi Daniela

daniela.cecconi@univr.it +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

roberto.chignola@univr.it 045 802 7953

Crimi Massimo

massimo.crimi@univr.it 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dall'Osto Luca

luca.dallosto@univr.it +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Di Pierro Alessandra

alessandra.dipierro@univr.it +39 045 802 7971

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

mariapina.donofrio@univr.it 045 802 7801

Frison Nicola

nicola.frison@univr.it 045 802 7965

Furini Antonella

antonella.furini@univr.it 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Guardavaccaro Daniele

daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it +39 045 802 7903

Lampis Silvia

silvia.lampis@univr.it 045 802 7095

Molesini Barbara

barbara.molesini@univr.it 045 802 7550

Pandolfini Tiziana

tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it 045 802 7918

Perduca Massimiliano

massimiliano.perduca@univr.it +39 045 802 7984

Romeo Alessandro

alessandro.romeo@univr.it +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Simonato Barbara

barbara.simonato@univr.it +39 045 802 7832; Lab. 7960

Speghini Adolfo

adolfo.speghini@univr.it +39 045 8027900

Torriani Sandra

sandra.torriani@univr.it 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

stefano.ugel@univr.it 045-8126451
Foto personale,  July 18, 2012

Vallini Giovanni

giovanni.vallini@univr.it 045 802 7098; studio dottorandi: 045 802 7095

Vettori Andrea

andrea.vettori@univr.it 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

nicola.vitulo@univr.it 0458027982

Zapparoli Giacomo

giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it +390458027047

Zipeto Donato

donato.zipeto@univr.it +39 045 802 7204

Zoccatelli Gianni

gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7952

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
Tirocinio
9
F
-
Final exam
3
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S003262

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Matteo Ballottari

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/04 - PLANT PHYSIOLOGY

Language

Italian

The teaching is organized as follows:

teoria

Credits

5

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Matteo Ballottari

laboratorio

Credits

1

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Matteo Ballottari

Learning outcomes

The main objective of the course is to provide students with adequate knowledge on the use of photosynthetic organisms and photosynthetic complexes for industrial application. In particular, the importance of plant organisms in the green economy will be described and how these organisms can be included in numerous production processes. In the first part of the course, in particular, the photosynthetic organisms will be described from an evolutionary point of view, from anoxigenic bacteria to higher plants. Subsequently, the physiological and metabolic characteristics of photosynthetic organisms will be described, focusing in particular on the unicellular ones, whose potentialities will be described as an alternative and complementary solution to traditional agricultural practices for the exploitation of solar energy. Therefore, the possible limitations related to the production of biomass and high value products will be identified and the main recent biotechnological solutions to overcome these limits will be mentioned. The last part of the course will then describe the methods of cultivation of single-celled photosynthetic organisms providing basic concepts on their possible use for specific applications in the agro-industrial, nutraceutical and renewable energy sectors. Finally, the recent potential applications of extra-cellular photosynthesis using nano-bio hybrid compounds will be mentioned. During the laboratory activities foreseen within the course, plant biochemistry experience will be proposed to students such as the preparation and cultivation of algae cultures in model photobioreactors and the extraction and analysis of metabolites and proteins from plant organisms.

KNOWLEDGE
1. knowledge of primary and secondary metabolism of plants and processes of bio-exploitation of solar energy
2. knowledge of laboratory equipment and understanding of the experimental protocols to be applied in the environmental and bioresources fields
3. theoretical knowledge useful for understanding scientific articles and advanced texts concerning the environment and the bioresources

SKILLS
1. Understanding of primary production processes in autotrophic organisms and management of cell cultures for the production of biomolecules and (photo)bioreactor implementation
2. ability to understand scientific articles and texts concerning biotechnological applications in the environmental-industrial field

Program

THEORY:
- Introduction to the course: maximum photosynthetic efficiency and potential of photosynthetic organisms for the production of compounds of interest
- Evolution of photosynthetic organisms from photosynthetic anoxygenic bacteria to cyanobacteria
- Evolution of photosynthetic organisms: primary and secondary endosymbiosis and appearance of photosynthetic eukaryotic cells. Description of the main types of microalgae and macroalgae
- Evolution of photosynthetic organisms: colonization of the emerged lands and development of lower and higher plants
- Physiological, biochemical and metabolic characteristics of cyanobacteria
- Physiological, biochemical and metabolic characteristics of eukaryotic microalgae
- Physiological, biochemical and metabolic characteristics of macroalgae
- Overview of secondary metabolism in photosynthetic organisms for the production of compounds with high added value
- Nutritional needs of unicellular photosynthetic organisms and strategies for obtaining nutrients from the external environment
- Perception of light, photoreceptors and signal transduction
- Current limitations in biomass production through the fixation of CO2 by microalgae and cyanobacteria and possible solutions
- Use of unicellular and multicellular photosynthetic organisms for the production of biomass for food, nutraceutical and cosmetic purposes
- Use of unicellular and multicellular photosynthetic organisms for the production of renewable energy
- Use of higher plants for phytoremediation
- Use of algae and higher plants for molecular farming
- Use of photosynthetic protein complexes in an extracellular environment for the exploitation of solar energy

LABORATORY:
- Preparation of microalgae cultures and characterization of biomass productivity of different algal species
- Extraction and characterization of metabolites produced by algal cultures

DIDACTIC METHODS lectures (with slides), group discussions and lab exercitations

Reference texts:
Teaching material provided by the teacher (available on e-learning platform)

Elements of plant physiology Taiz / Zieger / Moller / Murphy

Examination Methods

The objective of the exam consists in verifying the level of achievement of the previously indicated objectives. The exam consists of a written test with some open questions and some closed questions taken from the teaching material provided. During the lessons, examples of written exams are presented. Immediately after the written test, it is possible to arrange an oral interview (optional) with the teacher.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
teoria Taiz L. Zeiger E. Elementi di Fisiologia Vegetale Piccin 2013
teoria Taiz L. e Zeiger E. Fisiologia Vegetale Piccin-Nuova Libraria   9788829921577
laboratorio Taiz L. Zeiger E. Elementi di Fisiologia Vegetale Piccin 2013

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Gestione carriere


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.