Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione Estiva. Jul 16, 2020 Jul 16, 2020
Sessione Autunnale. Oct 15, 2020 Oct 15, 2020
Sessione Invernale. Mar 18, 2021 Mar 18, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M O P Q R S V

Baruffi Maria Caterina

mariacaterina.baruffi@univr.it

Belussi Alberto

alberto.belussi@univr.it +39 045 802 7980

Bombieri Nicola

nicola.bombieri@univr.it +39 045 802 7094

Bonacina Maria Paola

mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it +39 045 802 7046

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Busato Federico

federico.busato@univr.it

Calanca Andrea

andrea.calanca@univr.it +39 045 802 7847

Carra Damiano

damiano.carra@univr.it +39 045 802 7059

Castellani Umberto

umberto.castellani@univr.it +39 045 802 7988

Cicalese Ferdinando

ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it +39 045 802 7969

Cristani Matteo

matteo.cristani@univr.it 045 802 7983

Cristani Marco

marco.cristani@univr.it +39 045 802 7841

Cubico Serena

serena.cubico@univr.it 045 802 8132

Dall'Alba Diego

diego.dallalba@univr.it +39 045 802 7074

Dalla Preda Mila

mila.dallapreda@univr.it

Farinelli Alessandro

alessandro.farinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7842

Favretto Giuseppe

giuseppe.favretto@univr.it +39 045 802 8749 - 8748

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Franco Giuditta

giuditta.franco@univr.it +39 045 802 7045

Fummi Franco

franco.fummi@univr.it 045 802 7994

Giachetti Andrea

andrea.giachetti@univr.it +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7995

Maris Bogdan Mihai

bogdan.maris@univr.it +39 045 802 7074

Masini Andrea

andrea.masini@univr.it 045 802 7922

Mastroeni Isabella

isabella.mastroeni@univr.it +39 045 802 7089

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Merro Massimo

massimo.merro@univr.it 045 802 7992

Muradore Riccardo

riccardo.muradore@univr.it +39 045 802 7835

Murino Vittorio

vittorio.murino@univr.it 045 802 7996

Oliboni Barbara

barbara.oliboni@univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Paci Federica Maria Francesca

federicamariafrancesca.paci@univr.it +39 045 802 7909

Pravadelli Graziano

graziano.pravadelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7081

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Rizzi Romeo

romeo.rizzi@univr.it +39 045 8027088

Romeo Alessandro

alessandro.romeo@univr.it +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Segala Roberto

roberto.segala@univr.it 045 802 7997

Villa Tiziano

tiziano.villa@univr.it +39 045 802 7034

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
ING-INF/05
12
B
ING-INF/05
6
B
ING-INF/05
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
ING-INF/05
6
B
INF/01
Other activities
4
F
-
Final exam
24
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
ING-INF/05
12
B
ING-INF/05
6
B
ING-INF/05

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
ING-INF/05
6
B
INF/01
Other activities
4
F
-
Final exam
24
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S001413

Teacher

Romeo Rizzi

Coordinatore

Romeo Rizzi

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

NN - -

Period

II semestre dal Mar 2, 2020 al Jun 12, 2020.

Learning outcomes

Do you like problems and puzzles with a math-algorithmic flavour?
Are you interested to participate to competitions and challanges in problem solving and programming?
Consider the "Programming Challenges" course as a container offering a self-managed space where students can meet, get to know other students with similar interests, organize teams or have a go on a common project.
We are open to all faculties and backgrounds, there are no prerequisites apart curiosity and interest.
If you are curious, come with your proposal for a possible project or challenge.
Together we will find out if it rises the interest of others, see who could participate into it, discuss what could be a resonable and enjoyable attempt.

Program

In our Arena, you can realize bots to fight those of other mates and teams,
on whatever kind of competitions you will agree and invest upon (Hex, draws, Texas Hold'em, ...) but you might also help in managing and engineering the Arena itself.

In our Base Camp we aim at rising up teams participating to external competitions like: ACM contests, GoogleJam, COCI, coding projects and challenes on topCoder, team competitions ...)

We also see the opportunity to propose and pursue challenges where the computer can play an important role in solving open problems, from easy to impossible.

Together with the students who will take care of the managing of the various branches, we will do our best to keep an updated calendar of the meetings and appointments, and a snapshot on the proposals and ongoing activities, on the e-learning page of the course.

The preferential topics for the proposals are:
algorithmics, problem solving, discrete math, games, programming, and maybe even didactics.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Steven S Skiena, Miguel A. Revilla Programming Challenges: The Programming Contest Training Manual (Edizione 2013) Springer New York, 2013 2003 147578970X

Examination Methods

"Programming Challenges" delivers 6 credits.
You will gain these with your active and propositive participation. Try to do and propose things that might interest you, set up and share learning opportunities and enthusiasm, and the scores will easily follow as the natural consequence. You will accumulate points in your GradesWallet, which will also comprise proposals for the gathering of further points. Some options and projects will be fully specified, other will need to be discussed and negotiated. Your propositivity and initiative is welcome also on this table. The scoring system is open.

Bibliography

Type D and Type F activities

1° periodo di lezioni From 9/30/19 To 12/14/19
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° The fashion lab (1 ECTS) D Not yet assigned
I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/2/20 To 6/12/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° CyberPhysical Laboratory D Andrea Calanca (Coordinatore)
1° 2° C++ Programming Language D Federico Busato (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Matlab-Simulink programming D Bogdan Mihai Maris (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° Corso Europrogettazione D Not yet assigned
1° 2° The course provides an introduction to blockchain technology. It focuses on the technology behind Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tendermint and Hotmoka. D Matteo Cristani

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Analisi ed identificazione automatica del tono/volume della voce AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Computing Methodologies - ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE
Sviluppo sistemi di scansione 3D Computing Methodologies - COMPUTER GRAPHICS
Sviluppo sistemi di scansione 3D Computing Methodologies - IMAGE PROCESSING AND COMPUTER VISION
Dati geografici Information Systems - INFORMATION SYSTEMS APPLICATIONS
Analisi ed identificazione automatica del tono/volume della voce Robotics - Robotics
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot Robotics - Robotics
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift Robotics - Robotics
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Logic
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Semantics and reasoning
Proposte di tesi/collaborazione/stage in Intelligenza Artificiale Applicata Various topics
Proposte di Tesi/Stage/Progetto nell'ambito delle basi di dati/sistemi informativi Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti