Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2020/2021

Academic calendar

Il calendario accademico riporta le scadenze, gli adempimenti e i periodi rilevanti per la componente studentesca, personale docente e personale dell'Università. Sono inoltre indicate le festività e le chiusure ufficiali dell'Ateneo.
L’anno accademico inizia il 1° ottobre e termina il 30 settembre dell'anno successivo.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates. For further information, please get in touch with Operational unit: Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
CuCi IA Sep 21, 2020 Oct 31, 2020
CuCi IB Nov 9, 2020 Jan 9, 2021
CuCi IIA Feb 15, 2021 Apr 1, 2021
CuCi IIB Apr 14, 2021 May 29, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
sessione d'esame invernale CuCi Jan 11, 2021 Feb 13, 2021
sessione d'esame estiva CuCi Jun 7, 2021 Jul 24, 2021
sessione d'esame autunnale CuCi Aug 23, 2021 Sep 18, 2021
Degree sessions
Session From To
sessione di laurea invernale 19-20 Apr 7, 2021 Apr 13, 2021
sessione di laurea estiva 20-21 Jul 5, 2021 Jul 10, 2021
Sessione autunnale di laurea a.a. 2020/21 Nov 8, 2021 Nov 13, 2021
Sessione straordinaria di laurea a.a. 2020/21 Mar 28, 2022 Apr 2, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2020 Nov 1, 2020
Chiusura Ateneo ponte Immacolata Dec 7, 2020 Dec 7, 2020
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2020 Jan 6, 2021
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 2, 2021 Apr 6, 2021
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2021 Apr 25, 2021
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2021 May 1, 2021
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Sospensione delle lezioni May 22, 2021 May 22, 2021
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2021 Jun 2, 2021
Vacanze estive Aug 9, 2021 Aug 15, 2021

Exam calendar

The exam roll calls are centrally administered by the operational unit  Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit
Exam Session Calendar and Roll call enrolment sistema ESSE3 .If you forget your password to the online services, please contact the technical office in your Faculty.

Exam calendar

Per dubbi o domande Read the answers to the more serious and frequent questions - F.A.Q. Examination enrolment

Academic staff

A B C D F G K L M P R S T U V Z

Arcangeli Alessandro

alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it +39 045802 8351

Barbierato Federico

federico.barbierato@univr.it 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it 045802 8376

Basso Patrizia

patrizia.basso@univr.it +39 045802 8638

Beghini Giulia

giulia.beghini_01@univr.it/ giuliabeg@libero.it /

Bernini Lorenzo

lorenzo.bernini@univr.it +39 045 8028687

Bigliazzi Silvia

silvia.bigliazzi@univr.it +39 045802 8477

Bognolo Anna

anna.bognolo@univr.it +39 045802 8327

Boni Donatella

donatella.boni@univr.it 045 8028455

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Buonopane Alfredo

alfredo.buonopane@univr.it +39 0458028120

Calabrese Evita

evita.calabrese@univr.it

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Concina Chiara Maria

chiara.concina@univr.it +39 045 802 8325

Cotticelli Paola

paola.cotticelli@univr.it +39 045802 8587

Dalla Valle Marco

marco.dallavalle@univr.it

Dal Pozzolo Enrico

enrico.dalpozzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8569

Danelon Fabio

fabio.danelon@univr.it 045/8028378

De Paolis Paolo

paolo.depaolis@univr.it +39 045 802 8371

Dobreva Diana Sergeeva

dianasergeeva.dobreva@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Ferrarini Edoardo

edoardo.ferrarini@univr.it +39 045802 8112

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Franco Tiziana

tiziana.franco@univr.it +39 045802 8380

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Giusfredi Federico

federico.giusfredi@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Lupi Francesco

francesco.lupi@univr.it

Masotti Lucia

lucia.masotti@univr.it 0458028272

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Melloni Chiara

chiara.melloni@univr.it +39 045802 8119

Migliavacca Mara Gioia

maragioia.migliavacca@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Minozzi Stefano

stefano.minozzi@univr.it +39 045 8028553

Molteni Monica

monica.molteni@univr.it 045 8028021

Paini Anna Maria

anna.paini@univr.it +39 045802 8129

Palma Flavia

flavia.palma@univr.it

Pappalardo Maria

maria.pappalardo@univr.it +39 045802 8391

Pasqualicchio Nicola

nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it 0458028585

Pedrucci Giulia

giulia.pedrucci@univr.it

Pellegrini Paolo

paolo.pellegrini@univr.it +39 045 802 8559

Piovan Dino

dino.piovan@univr.it

Pisaniello Valerio

valerio.pisaniello@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Ponchia Simonetta

simonetta.ponchia@univr.it +39 045802 8365

Prandi Luisa

luisa.prandi@univr.it +39 045 802 8718

Raccanelli Renata

renata.raccanelli@univr.it 0458028366

Rima Matteo

matteo.rima@univr.it 0458028440

Rodighiero Andrea

andrea.rodighiero@univr.it +39 045 802 8643

Romagnani Gian Paolo

gianpaolo.romagnani@univr.it +39 045802 8377

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Sandrini Giuseppe

giuseppe.sandrini@univr.it 045 802 8069

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Scattolin Paolo

paolo.scattolin@univr.it +39 045 802 8645

Sideri Cecilia

cecilia.sideri@univr.it

Soldani Arnaldo

arnaldo.soldani@univr.it 045 - 8028648

Stavru Alessandro

alessandro.stavru@univr.it 045 8028143

Stoffella Marco

marco.stoffella@univr.it +39 045802 8376

Terraroli Valerio

valerio.terraroli@univr.it 0458028441

Turri Luigi

luigi.turri@univr.it +39 045802 8548

Ugolini Gherardo

gherardo.ugolini@univr.it +39 0458028665

Vannini Carlo

carlo.vannini@accademiabelleartiverona.it

Viola Corrado

corrado.viola@univr.it +39 045802 8194

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Zoppi Federica

federica.zoppi@univr.it

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
A
(L-FIL-LET/10)
1 module to be chosen among the following
Foreing language B1 level
3
E
-
TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
2 modules to be chosen among the following
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
B
(L-FIL-LET/05)
6
B
(L-FIL-LET/04)
2 modules to be chosen among the following
12
B
(L-ANT/02)
12
B
(L-ANT/03)
TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(L-FIL-LET/10)
1 module to be chosen among the following
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
C
(L-ANT/03)
Final exam
6
E
-

1° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
A
(L-FIL-LET/10)
1 module to be chosen among the following
Foreing language B1 level
3
E
-

2° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
2 modules to be chosen among the following
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
B
(L-FIL-LET/05)
6
B
(L-FIL-LET/04)
2 modules to be chosen among the following
12
B
(L-ANT/02)
12
B
(L-ANT/03)

3° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(L-FIL-LET/10)
1 module to be chosen among the following
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
C
(L-ANT/03)
Final exam
6
E
-
Teachings Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Other activities
3
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02162

Coordinatore

Paola Cotticelli

Credits

12

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/01 - HISTORICAL AND GENERAL LINGUISTICS

Language of instruction

Italian

Period

CuCi IA, CuCi IB

Learning outcomes

The goal of this course is to have the student acquainted with some basic notions concerning several aspects of human language. The course aims to provide the epistemic and methodological basis for general linguistics and historical linguistics. To reach this goal, some of the key concepts of modern language science will be illustrated, such as the distinction between language and languages and the articulation in analytical levels, and the description of the main phonological, morpho-syntactic and semantic phenomena in the perspective of synchronic analysis and with reference to both Italian and other languages typologically and genealogically distant from one another. The main phenomena of change and linguistic contact in the diachronic key will also be discussed.

Program

The course will cover the following topics:
Fundamentals of general linguistics and historical linguistics.
1) General linguistics (prof. Giusfredi): fundamental characteristics of human language; basic notions of phonetics and phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and pragmatics.
2) Historical linguistics (prof. Cotticelli): history of the discipline, historical-comparative method; notions of language change, linguistic family, Indo-European languages and language families of the world; models of language classification, typological classifications, models for the interpretation of linguistic change (neogrammarian, geolinguistic, sociolinguistic) on the different levels of linguistic analysis, linguistic contact.

MAIN TOPICS OF THE PROGRAM:
1. key concepts of modern science of language
2. distinction between language and languages
3. description of the linguistic system on the different levels of analysis in synchronic perspective
4. main phonological phenomena,
5. main morpho-syntactic phenomena
6. main semantic and lexical phenomena, both in Italian and in other languages typologically and genealogically distant from each other
7. Brief history of the discipline and its investigation methods
8. Linguistic genealogical classification, in particular of the Indo-European family; the language families of the world
9. typological classification of world languages
10. main phenomena of language change on the different levels of linguistic analysis (phonological, morpho-syntactical, semantic)
11. main phenomena of language contact in diachronic and synchronic view.
12. Description of the Italian dialects
13. Elements of sociolinguistics


TEACHING MATERIALS
In addition to the mandatory texts for the written and oral exam (see below), the student can use the following in-depth texts
- scripts by the teachers
- further materials available on the platform
- exercises

1. PART ONE
1a. Scripts on the platform
1b. G. Graffi - S. Scalise, Le lingue e il linguaggio. Introduzione alla linguistica, nuova edizione, Bologna, Il Mulino, 2013 (ch. 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11 and l’Appendice).
Exercises related to all the chapters of the volume, and in particular exercises of phonetic transcription (one of the topic of the examination), are available on the website of the publisher "Il Mulino" (www.mulino.it), registering in the area called "Aulaweb".
2. PART
2.a. Scripts on the platform
2.b. E. Magni, Linguistica storica, Bologna, Patron, 2014.
2.c. G. Graffi - S. Scalise, Le lingue e il linguaggio. Introduzione alla linguistica, nuova edizione, Bologna, Il Mulino, 2013 (capitoli 3, 9, 10).

3) REFERENCES for further information:
3a. Lessico di Linguistica, a cura di Paola Cotticelli Kurras, Edizioni dell’Orso, Alessandria 2007.
3.b. R. Lazzeroni, “Il mutamento linguistico”, in R. Lazzeroni (a cura di) Linguistica storica, 16^ ristampa 2011, Carocci, 14-54.
3.c. R. Gusmani, “Interlinguistica”, in R. Lazzeroni (a cura di) Linguistica storica, 16^ ristampa 2011, Carocci, 87-114.

Examination Methods

The objective of the examination is to verify the level of achievement of the previously indicated objectives of the course. The exam consists of a written test, articulated in two parts, one for the general and one for the historical linguistics, and of an oral examination.
The written test consists in some open and some closed questions. Open questions are in both parts and require the student to describe a linguistic phenomenon, or theories and models learned explained during the course and learned through the exam preparation. The closed questions, on the other hand, allow to apply the acquired knowledge on linguistic change, on phonetic transcription, on the analysis of propositions and morphology (mainly of Italian phenomena or of languages taken into consideration during the course). Examples of written exams are presented during the exercise course.
Structure of the written exam:
- syntactical analysis of a short text
- short phonetic transcription
- some multiple choice tests and
- open-ended questions about all the arguments of the course (both about general and historical linguistics).
The positive overcoming of the written exam gives admission to the oral exam.
Important notice: to pass the written exam, it is necessary to have the knowledge of basic grammatical notions (e.g., to be able to recognize the ‘subject’, the ‘predicate’, the ‘object’, etc., of a clause, to distinguish among the several kinds of subordinate clauses, to correctly classify the different parts of speech). Such notions are available within any good school grammar. Moreover, some special exercises on all the topics of the course will be held during dedicated classes, the related material uploaded on the Moodle platform; essential bibliographical references will be suggested for non-attending students.
The oral examination covers all the topics of the course.

Tipologia di Attività formativa D e F

Academic year
CuCi IA From 9/21/20 To 10/31/20
years Teachings TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Dialogoi. Interdepartmental seminar on the texts of philosophy and ancient literature F Gherardo Ugolini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Fondamenti per introduzione allo studio del linguaggio F Federico Righi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Giornata mondiale della poesia F Arnaldo Soldani (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° The Unesco World Heritage Sites F Silvana Bianchi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il testo en abyme: rappresentazioni della scrittura nell’Europa romantica - Convegno internazionale del CRIER - 5-6 novembre 2020 F Corrado Viola (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratorio di introduzione allo studio del greco antico F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Books and writings of the Greek world F Paolo Scattolin (Coordinatore)
Prima parte del primo semestre From 9/21/20 To 10/31/20
years Teachings TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° The origins of Christianity F Giannattilio Bonifacio (Coordinatore)
CuCi IB From 11/9/20 To 1/9/21
years Teachings TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Convegno su carlo gozzi nel terzo centenario della nascita F Nicola Pasqualicchio (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Dialogoi. Interdepartmental seminar on the texts of philosophy and ancient literature F Gherardo Ugolini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Fondamenti per introduzione allo studio del linguaggio F Federico Righi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratorio di introduzione allo studio del greco antico F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratorio di metrica italiana F Giovanna Zoccarato (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Books and writings of the Greek world F Paolo Scattolin (Coordinatore)
Seconda parte del primo semestre From 11/9/20 To 1/9/21
years Teachings TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° The origins of Christianity F Giannattilio Bonifacio (Coordinatore)
CuCi IIA From 2/15/21 To 4/1/21
years Teachings TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Antifascismo/i, un percorso in quattro profili F Renato Camurri (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Dialogoi. Interdepartmental seminar on the texts of philosophy and ancient literature F Gherardo Ugolini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratorio didattico sulla biblioterapia F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of photo F Carlo Vannini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratorio di introduzione allo studio del greco antico F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on akkadian language F Simonetta Ponchia (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Opera Workshop F Nicola Pasqualicchio (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Language and culture of Ancient Anatolia and the Hittites F Federico Giusfredi (Coordinatore)
CuCi IIB From 4/14/21 To 5/29/21
years Teachings TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Antifascismo/i, un percorso in quattro profili F Renato Camurri (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Cycle of CRIER Conferences for the Napoleon’s Death Bicentenary F Corrado Viola (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° PhD Conference 2021: Margins and Forgotten places F Simona Brunetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° International Study Conference “Scrivere agli altri, scrivere di sé, scrivere per sé” F Fabio Danelon (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Dialogoi. Interdepartmental seminar on the texts of philosophy and ancient literature F Gherardo Ugolini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratorio didattico sulla biblioterapia F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of photo F Carlo Vannini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratorio di introduzione allo studio del greco antico F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on akkadian language F Simonetta Ponchia (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Opera Workshop F Nicola Pasqualicchio (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Language and culture of Ancient Anatolia and the Hittites F Federico Giusfredi (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Teachings TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Attivita' FAI F Monica Molteni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on Latin texts translation - Renata Raccanelli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on Latin texts translation - Renata Raccanelli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Latin Prosody exercises - Paolo De Paolis (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Organizzazione e stesura della tesi triennale su temi letterari - Giuseppe Sandrini (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Avvisi degli insegnamenti e del corso di studio

Per la comunità studentesca

Se sei già iscritta/o a un corso di studio, puoi consultare tutti gli avvisi relativi al tuo corso di studi nella tua area riservata MyUnivr.
In questo portale potrai visualizzare informazioni, risorse e servizi utili che riguardano la tua carriera universitaria (libretto online, gestione della carriera Esse3, corsi e-learning, email istituzionale, modulistica di segreteria, procedure amministrative, ecc.).
Entra in MyUnivr con le tue credenziali GIA.

Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica ENGLISH LANGUAGE - Grammar and Syntax – Grammatik und Syntax
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica GERMANIC LANGUAGE - Dialectology - Dialektologie
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES - HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica Indo-European languages & literatures - Indo-European languages & literatures
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica LINGUISTICS - LINGUISTICS
Stage Research area
Lavorare in archivio Various topics
L'iter del libro in biblioteca Various topics

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.