Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sem. 1A Sep 21, 2020 Oct 31, 2020
Sem. 1B Nov 9, 2020 Jan 9, 2021
Sem. 2A Feb 15, 2021 Apr 1, 2021
Sem. 2B Apr 14, 2021 May 29, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esame invernale Jan 14, 2021 Feb 13, 2021
Sessione d'esame estiva Jun 7, 2021 Jul 24, 2021
Sessione d'esame autunnale Aug 23, 2021 Sep 18, 2021
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 5, 2021 Jul 10, 2021
Sessione di laurea autunnale Nov 8, 2021 Nov 13, 2021
Sessione di laurea invernale Mar 28, 2022 Apr 1, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2020 Nov 1, 2020
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2020 Jan 6, 2021
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 2, 2021 Apr 6, 2021
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2021 Apr 25, 2021
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2021 May 1, 2021
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2021 Jun 2, 2021
Vacanze estive Aug 9, 2021 Aug 15, 2021

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Humanistic Studies Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C E F G L M N O P R S T V Z

Badino Massimiliano

massimiliano.badino@univr.it +39 045 802 8459

Bernini Lorenzo

lorenzo.bernini@univr.it +39 045 8028687

Bonazzi Matteo

matteo.bonazzi@univr.it 045 8028797

Burro Roberto

roberto.burro@univr.it +39 045 802 8743

Calabrese Evita

evita.calabrese@univr.it

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Chiurco Carlo

carlo.chiurco@univr.it +390458028159

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Cusinato Guido

guido.cusinato@univr.it 045-802-8150

Erle Giorgio

giorgio.erle@univr.it +39 045802 8688

Fornari Giuseppe

giuseppe.fornari@univr.it 045 8028053

Leoni Federico

federico.leoni@univr.it 0458028144

Lupi Francesco

francesco.lupi@univr.it

Macor Laura Anna

lauraanna.macor@univr.it 045 802 8686

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Mori Luca

luca.mori@univr.it 045 802 8388

Napolitano Linda

linda.napolitano@univr.it

Natale Massimo

massimo.natale@univr.it 045 802 8117

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Panattoni Riccardo

riccardo.panattoni@univr.it +39 045 802 8185

Poggi Davide

davide.poggi@univr.it +39 045802 8361

Porceddu Cilione Pier Alberto

pieralberto.porcedducilione@univr.it; pierre_pordd@yahoo.it 045 8028732

Possenti Ilaria

ilaria.possenti@univr.it +39 045802 8687

Prandi Luisa

luisa.prandi@univr.it +39 045 802 8718

Procuranti Lucia

lucia.procuranti@univr.it 045/8028662

Raccanelli Renata

renata.raccanelli@univr.it 0458028366

Rodighiero Andrea

andrea.rodighiero@univr.it +39 045 802 8643

Romagnani Gian Paolo

gianpaolo.romagnani@univr.it +39 045802 8377

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Scattolin Paolo

paolo.scattolin@univr.it +39 045 802 8645

Solla Gianluca

gianluca.solla@univr.it 0458028667

Stavru Alessandro

alessandro.stavru@univr.it 045 8028143

Stoffella Marco

marco.stoffella@univr.it +39 045802 8376

Tuppini Tommaso

tommaso.tuppini@univr.it 045 802 8142

Turrini Nicola

nicola.turrini@univr.it

Valbusa Federica

federica.valbusa@univr.it 045 802 8035

Vantini Lucia

lucia.vantini@univr.it

Vicini Fabio

fabio.vicini@univr.it +39 045 802 8789

Zamboni Chiara

chiara.zamboni@univr.it +39 045802 8384

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen between the following
1 module to be chosen between the following
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
3 modules to be chosen among the following
6
B
M-FIL/01
1 module to be chosen between the following
12
B
M-FIL/03
Final exam
6
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
A
M-FIL/03
Foreign language CB Test (English, French, German, Spanish, Russian)
6
E
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen between the following
1 module to be chosen between the following

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
3 modules to be chosen among the following
6
B
M-FIL/01
1 module to be chosen between the following
12
B
M-FIL/03
Final exam
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°2 modules to be chosen among the following
12
A
L-ANT/02
12
A
L-FIL-LET/02
12
A
L-FIL-LET/04
12
A
M-STO/01
12
A
L-ANT/03
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 2°- 3°3 modules to be chosen among the following

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

The teaching is organized as follows:

Modulo 2

Credits

6

Period

Sem. 1B

Academic staff

Attilio Mastrocinque

Modulo 1

Credits

6

Period

Sem. 1A

Academic staff

Attilio Mastrocinque

Learning outcomes

I MODULE
Aims of the course are an improvement of the knowledge of the Roman civic culture during the Imparial Age, of the extention of the Roman citizenship to Italy and then to the Roman Empire, and the understanding of the fundamental principles which the Roman society and its relationships with foreigners were based on. The study takes into account documents referring to the changes of the rights of Italian and provincial cities. Students will be encouraged to study documentary sources being either archaeological, literay or epigraphic. Their analysis will enable students to understand and distinguish the features pertaining to different kinds of documents and make a comparison between them. Students will single out the principles of the social cohesion of the Romans, their ability to integrate non-Romans into their society and politics, and their most important political enactements such as the Constitutio Antoniniana which deeply modified the social life and principles. Moreover, students will understand the reason why principles of the social life underwent crises during the 3rd century.
Students will learn how to evaluate autonomously documents of the Roman history by means of a comparison between different authors or between authors and different kind of sources, and deem their reliability. Students will improve their communication skill, will express their opinions and even their doubts concerning problems arising from the course and will receive answers and also directions on how to shape their exposition. Their learning skill will be improved and at the end of the course they should demonstrate to be able to analyse critically at least the sources and iconographies taken into account, to present in a logical sequence their discourses, clearly and on the basis of the most important documents.

II MODULE
The aim of the course is that of improving the knowledge of the relationships between politics and religion during the Imperial Age and of the basic principles which the Roman society and religion were based on. The study will take into account texts referring to the persecution and the triumph of Christianity. Students will be encouraged to study documentary sources being either archaeological, literay or epigraphic. Their analysis will enable students to understand and distinguish the features pertaining to different kinds of documents and make a comparison between them. Students will single out the principles of the social cohesion of the Romans, their attitude in their relationship with non-Roman cultures, the repression or approval of these latters during the 2nd to the 4rd century. Students will learn how to evaluate autonomously documents of the Roman history by means of a comparison between different authors or between authors and different kind of sources, and deem their reliability. Students will improve their communication skill, will express their opinions and even their doubts concerning problems arising from the course and will receive answers and also directions on how to shape their exposition. Their learning skill will be improved, as well, and at the end of the course they should demonstrate to be able to analyse critically at least the sources and iconographies taken into account, to present in a logical sequence their discourses, clearly and on the basis of the most important documents.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Cassio Dione Storia Romana, volume IV Rizzoli 1996 978-88-17-17099-4
Cassio Dione Storia Romana. Volume V Rizzoli 1998
Sordi, Marta I rapporti romano-ceriti e l'origine della civitas sine suffragio L'Erma di Bretschneider 1960
Momigliano, Arnaldo Manuale di storia romana UTET 2016
Harris, William V. Rome in Etruria and Umbria Clarendon Press 1971
Torelli, Mario Storia degli Etruschi, Laterza 1990
Tito Livio Storia di Roma dalla sua fondazione Rizzoli 1982

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

Attachments

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Cinema e sacrificio Cultures and Cultural Production: Literature, philology, cultural studies, anthropology, study of the arts, philosophy - Metaphysics, philosophical anthropology; aesthetics
Cinema e sacrificio HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Heidegger e la questione della tecnica HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Identità e differenza nel "Commento al Sofista" di Martin Heidegger HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il lavoro come valore: uno sguardo inattuale (Nietzsche e Günther Anders) HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il linguaggio nelle opere di Samuel Beckett HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il problema del divenire nel pensiero di Emanuele Severino HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il tema dell'autenticità in "Essere e tempo" HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
La stanchezza dell'Occidente nel pensiero di Friedrich Nietzsche HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
L'esperienza della relazione tra territorio e città HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Libertà e nichilismo nel pensiero di Emanuele Severino HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Nietzsche e il pensiero marxista della liberazione HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il trascendentale nella "Critica della ragion pura" HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - FROM RENAISSANCE TO ENLIGHTENMENT
La felicità in Agostino HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - MIDDLE AGES
La povertà in Bonaventura da Bagnoregio HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - MIDDLE AGES
Origene teologo della salvezza HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - MIDDLE AGES
L'Uomo universale. La realizzazione dell'umano in René Guénon HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - NON-WESTERN TRADITIONS
Cinema e sacrificio PHILOSOPHY - ETHICS
Il potere della seduzione PHILOSOPHY - ETHICS
Libertà e necessità nel pensiero di Emanuele Severino Philosophy - METAPHYSICS AND ONTOLOGY
Cinema e sacrificio Philosophy - PHILOSOPHY OF ART
L'esperienza della relazione tra territorio e città PHILOSOPHY - SOCIAL AND POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY
Libertà e liberalismo PHILOSOPHY - SOCIAL AND POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY
Anoressia e consumismo Various topics
Ascesi e mistica in Plotino Various topics
Autismo e caring Various topics
Consolazione della filosofia: Platone e Boezio Various topics
Ecologia e responsabilità in Hans Jonas Various topics
Etica della cura e "principio responsabilità" Various topics
I colori e le emozioni dei bambini Various topics
Il Dio negativo nel pensiero filosofico Various topics
La metafora del monte nel pensiero medievale Various topics
Le radici etiche dell'attuale crisi finanziaria Various topics
Medicina narrativa e autismo Various topics
Prendersi cura del mobbing Various topics
Sacro e comunicazione in Georges Bataille Various topics
Taoismo, non-azione, politica. Il "Tao tê Ching", Machiavelli, Nietzsche Various topics

Student mentoring


Linguistic training CLA


Practical information for students


Stage e Tirocini


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti