Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sem. 1A Sep 21, 2020 Oct 31, 2020
Sem. 1B Nov 9, 2020 Jan 9, 2021
Sem. 2A Feb 15, 2021 Apr 1, 2021
Sem. 2B Apr 14, 2021 May 29, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esame invernale Jan 14, 2021 Feb 13, 2021
Sessione d'esame estiva Jun 7, 2021 Jul 24, 2021
Sessione d'esame autunnale Aug 23, 2021 Sep 18, 2021
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 5, 2021 Jul 10, 2021
Sessione di laurea autunnale Nov 8, 2021 Nov 13, 2021
Sessione di laurea invernale Mar 28, 2022 Apr 1, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2020 Nov 1, 2020
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2020 Jan 6, 2021
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 2, 2021 Apr 6, 2021
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2021 Apr 25, 2021
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2021 May 1, 2021
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2021 Jun 2, 2021
Vacanze estive Aug 9, 2021 Aug 15, 2021

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Humanistic Studies Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D E F G L M N O P R S T V Z

Badino Massimiliano

massimiliano.badino@univr.it +39 045 802 8459

Bernini Lorenzo

lorenzo.bernini@univr.it +39 045 8028687

Bonazzi Matteo

matteo.bonazzi@univr.it 045 8028797

Bondì Davide

davide.bondi@univr.it 045 8028389

Burro Roberto

roberto.burro@univr.it +39 045 802 8743

Calabrese Evita

evita.calabrese@univr.it

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Chiurco Carlo

carlo.chiurco@univr.it +390458028159

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Cusinato Guido

guido.cusinato@univr.it 045-802-8150

Dal Toso Paola

paola.daltoso@univr.it 045/8028281

De Silvestri Elena

elena.desilvestri@univr.it

Erle Giorgio

giorgio.erle@univr.it +39 045802 8688

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Fornari Giuseppe

giuseppe.fornari@univr.it 045 8028053

Guaraldo Olivia

olivia.guaraldo@univr.it +39 045802 8066

Leoni Federico

federico.leoni@univr.it 0458028144

Lonardi Cristina

cristina.lonardi@univr.it 045/8028360

Lupi Francesco

francesco.lupi@univr.it

Macor Laura Anna

lauraanna.macor@univr.it 045 802 8686

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Mori Luca

luca.mori@univr.it 045 802 8388

Natale Massimo

massimo.natale@univr.it 045 802 8117

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Panattoni Riccardo

riccardo.panattoni@univr.it +39 045 802 8185

Poggi Davide

davide.poggi@univr.it +39 045802 8361

Porceddu Cilione Pier Alberto

pieralberto.porcedducilione@univr.it; pierre_pordd@yahoo.it 045 8028732

Possenti Ilaria

ilaria.possenti@univr.it +39 045802 8687

Prandi Luisa

luisa.prandi@univr.it +39 045 802 8718

Procuranti Lucia

lucia.procuranti@univr.it 045/8028662

Raccanelli Renata

renata.raccanelli@univr.it 0458028366

Romagnani Gian Paolo

gianpaolo.romagnani@univr.it +39 045802 8377

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Scattolin Paolo

paolo.scattolin@univr.it +39 045 802 8645

Solla Gianluca

gianluca.solla@univr.it 0458028667

Stavru Alessandro

alessandro.stavru@univr.it 045 8028143

Stoffella Marco

marco.stoffella@univr.it +39 045802 8376

Tuppini Tommaso

tommaso.tuppini@univr.it 045 802 8142

Turrini Nicola

nicola.turrini@univr.it

Valbusa Federica

federica.valbusa@univr.it 045 802 8035

Vicini Fabio

fabio.vicini@univr.it +39 045 802 8789

Zamboni Chiara

chiara.zamboni@univr.it +39 045802 8384

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen between the following
1 module to be chosen between the following
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
3 modules to be chosen among the following
6
B
M-FIL/01
1 module to be chosen between the following
12
B
M-FIL/03
Final exam
6
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
A
M-FIL/03
Foreign language CB Test (English, French, German, Spanish, Russian)
6
E
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen between the following
1 module to be chosen between the following

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
3 modules to be chosen among the following
6
B
M-FIL/01
1 module to be chosen between the following
12
B
M-FIL/03
Final exam
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°2 modules to be chosen among the following
12
A
L-ANT/02
12
A
L-FIL-LET/02
12
A
L-FIL-LET/04
12
A
M-STO/01
12
A
L-ANT/03
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 2°- 3°3 modules to be chosen among the following

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S001388

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

M-FIL/02 - LOGIC AND PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE

The teaching is organized as follows:

Lezione

Credits

4

Period

Sem. 2A

Academic staff

Massimiliano Badino

Esercitazione

Credits

2

Period

Sem. 2A

Academic staff

Massimiliano Badino

Learning outcomes

Logic and Philosophy of Science
The course of Logic and Philosophy of Science aims to provide students with the knowledge of scientific thought and methodology of scientific research, in the wider context of Western philosophical tradition and its main conceptual lines, in particular within contemporary philosophical debate. At the end of the course, students will develop the following abilities: logical competences, reasoning, and solution to problems; capacity to comprehend philosophical texts; capacity to autonomously shape critical assessments on the topics taught during the course; capacity to communicate philosophical contents to specialists and non-specialists alike, and to continue their studies at a MA level; learning a correct modality of scientific writing and/or writing their dissertation.

Program

The course of logic and philosophy of science aims at providing an introduction to the epistemological and metaphysical problem of the philosophical tradition with a specific attention to their influence of the present debate. Being impossible to treat all problems, each year the course focuses on a particular topic belonging to logic, mathematics, physics, biology or computer science.

This year the course focuses on the relations between logic, mathematics, epistemology, ontology, and philosophy of mind and it explores the philosophical problems related to human and artificial cognition. The main themes are:

- The foundational crisis in mathematics and the emergence of the theory of computation
- The philosophy of mind and the cognitive sciences
- The epistemological and ethical problems of artificial intelligence

The driving questions of the course are:

- How was modern artificial intelligence born?
- What is the relation between human and artificial cognitive agents?
- What ethical and political problems are generated by the use of algorithms?

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Examination Methods

The final evaluation aims at assessing students’ knowledge as well as their capacity to argue correctly, use properly concepts and tools of philosophy of science, and their creativity. The final grade depends on the active participation to the laboratories, the assignment (2000-5000 words) on a relevant topic to be decided with the instructor, a book report (max 3000 words), and a written exam:


- 25% written exam
- 40% assignment (2000-5000 words)
- 35% book report (max 3000 words)

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Graduation

Attachments

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Cinema e sacrificio Cultures and Cultural Production: Literature, philology, cultural studies, anthropology, study of the arts, philosophy - Metaphysics, philosophical anthropology; aesthetics
Cinema e sacrificio HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Heidegger e la questione della tecnica HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Identità e differenza nel "Commento al Sofista" di Martin Heidegger HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il lavoro come valore: uno sguardo inattuale (Nietzsche e Günther Anders) HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il linguaggio nelle opere di Samuel Beckett HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il problema del divenire nel pensiero di Emanuele Severino HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il tema dell'autenticità in "Essere e tempo" HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
La stanchezza dell'Occidente nel pensiero di Friedrich Nietzsche HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
L'esperienza della relazione tra territorio e città HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Libertà e nichilismo nel pensiero di Emanuele Severino HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Nietzsche e il pensiero marxista della liberazione HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - 19th AND 20th CENTURIES
Il trascendentale nella "Critica della ragion pura" HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - FROM RENAISSANCE TO ENLIGHTENMENT
La felicità in Agostino HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - MIDDLE AGES
La povertà in Bonaventura da Bagnoregio HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - MIDDLE AGES
Origene teologo della salvezza HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - MIDDLE AGES
L'Uomo universale. La realizzazione dell'umano in René Guénon HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY - NON-WESTERN TRADITIONS
Cinema e sacrificio PHILOSOPHY - ETHICS
Il potere della seduzione PHILOSOPHY - ETHICS
Libertà e necessità nel pensiero di Emanuele Severino Philosophy - METAPHYSICS AND ONTOLOGY
Cinema e sacrificio Philosophy - PHILOSOPHY OF ART
L'esperienza della relazione tra territorio e città PHILOSOPHY - SOCIAL AND POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY
Libertà e liberalismo PHILOSOPHY - SOCIAL AND POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY
Anoressia e consumismo Various topics
Ascesi e mistica in Plotino Various topics
Autismo e caring Various topics
Consolazione della filosofia: Platone e Boezio Various topics
Ecologia e responsabilità in Hans Jonas Various topics
Etica della cura e "principio responsabilità" Various topics
I colori e le emozioni dei bambini Various topics
Il Dio negativo nel pensiero filosofico Various topics
La metafora del monte nel pensiero medievale Various topics
Le radici etiche dell'attuale crisi finanziaria Various topics
Medicina narrativa e autismo Various topics
Prendersi cura del mobbing Various topics
Sacro e comunicazione in Georges Bataille Various topics
Taoismo, non-azione, politica. Il "Tao tê Ching", Machiavelli, Nietzsche Various topics

Student mentoring


Linguistic training CLA


Practical information for students


Stage e Tirocini


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti