Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2020 Jan 29, 2021
II semestre Mar 1, 2021 Jun 11, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2021 Feb 26, 2021
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 14, 2021 Jul 30, 2021
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2021 Sep 30, 2021
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva di laurea Jul 16, 2021 Jul 16, 2021
Sessione autunnale di laurea Oct 11, 2021 Oct 11, 2021
Sessione autunnale di laurea - Dicembre Dec 6, 2021 Dec 6, 2021
Sessione invernale di laurea Mar 9, 2022 Mar 9, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Vacanze Natalizie Dec 24, 2020 Jan 3, 2021
Epifania Jan 6, 2021 Jan 6, 2021
Vacanze Pasquali Apr 2, 2021 Apr 5, 2021
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2021 Jun 2, 2021
Vacanze estive Aug 9, 2021 Aug 15, 2021

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrollment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N P R S T U V Z

Andreolli Marco

symbol email marco.andreolli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7873

Artegiani Elisa

symbol email elisa.artegiani@univr.it

Assfalg Michael

symbol email michael.assfalg@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7949

Astegno Alessandra

symbol email alessandra.astegno@univr.it symbol phone-number 045802 7955

Avesani Linda

symbol email linda.avesani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7839

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7823

Bassi Roberto

symbol email roberto.bassi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8027916

Battista Federico

symbol email federico.battista@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027917

Bellin Diana

symbol email diana.bellin@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7090

Brandi Jessica

symbol email jessica.brandi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8027874

Broccanello Chiara

symbol email chiara.broccanello@univr.it

Buffelli Mario Rosario

symbol email mario.buffelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027268

Cazzaniga Stefano

symbol email stefano.cazzaniga@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027075

Cecconi Daniela

symbol email daniela.cecconi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

symbol email roberto.chignola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7953

Chiurco Carlo

symbol email carlo.chiurco@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458028159

Ciulu Marco

symbol email marco.ciulu@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027929

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027985

Commisso Mauro

symbol email mauro.commisso@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027030

Crimi Massimo

symbol email massimo.crimi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dainese Matteo

symbol email matteo.dainese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7858

Dall'Osto Luca

symbol email luca.dallosto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

symbol email mariapina.donofrio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7801

Favretto Filippo

symbol email filippo.favretto@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7865

Felis Giovanna

symbol email giovanna.felis@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458425627

Frison Nicola

symbol email nicola.frison@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7857

Furini Antonella

symbol email antonella.furini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gonzato Guido

symbol email guido.gonzato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8303

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Guardavaccaro Daniele

symbol email daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7903

Guzzo Flavia

symbol email flavia.guzzo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7923

Lampis Silvia

symbol email silvia.lampis@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7095

Malvezzi Campeggi Flaminia

symbol email flaminia.malvezzicampeggi@univr.it

Nardon Chiara

symbol email chiara.nardon@univr.it

Pandolfini Tiziana

symbol email tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7918

Piccinelli Fabio

symbol email fabio.piccinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7097

Polverari Annalisa

symbol email annalisa.polverari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8425629

Romeo Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.romeo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Seggio Mimimorena

symbol email mimimorena.seggio@univr.it

Speghini Adolfo

symbol email adolfo.speghini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027900

Tomazzoli Claudio

symbol email claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Torriani Sandra

symbol email sandra.torriani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

symbol email stefano.ugel@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8126451

Vettori Andrea

symbol email andrea.vettori@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

symbol email nicola.vitulo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027982

Zaccone Claudio

symbol email claudio.zaccone@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027864

Zapparoli Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027047

Zenoni Sara

symbol email sara.zenoni@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7941

Zipeto Donato

symbol email donato.zipeto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7204

Zivcovich Franco

symbol email franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Zoccatelli Gianni

symbol email gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7952

Zorzi Margherita

symbol email margherita.zorzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University.
Please select your Study Plan based on your enrollment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
BIO/04
6
A
FIS/07
English B1 level
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S008190

Credits

12

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

AGR/07 - AGRICULTURAL GENETICS

The teaching is organized as follows:

laboratorio [1° turno]

Credits

6

Period

Semester 1, Semester 2

laboratorio [2° turno]

Credits

6

Period

Semester 1, Semester 2

teoria

Credits

6

Period

Semester 1, Semester 2

Learning objectives

The course aims to provide basic knowledge of recombinant DNA technologies and methodologies applied to molecular genetic and genomic analysis. Frontal lessons will be introductory to traditional genetic methodologies and to the most advanced ones to analyze genes and their functions. Laboratory lessons will apply the background from frontal lessons by using the most common methodologies of molecular genetics used for prokaryotes and eukaryotes. At the end of the course the student will know the principal techniques related to the extraction, analysis and manipulation of nucleic acids; protein expression in heterologous systems; the techniques used for genetic transformation of animal and plant organisms; the methods for gene expression analysis and for studying protein-protein interactions. The acquired knowledge will enable the students to understand the methodological approaches used in scientific research in molecular genetics and to use molecular technologies for specific laboratory experiments.

Prerequisites and basic notions

The student must have taken the Molecular Biology exam.

Program

------------------------
MM: teoria
------------------------
1) Cloning: - Plasmid vectors, selection markers and reporter genes (e.g. GFP); - E. coli transformation - Selection of recombinants - Methods of cloning: (i) Vectors based on restriction enzymes; (ii) PCR amplification and cloning of DNA fragments through T/A cloning: pGEM vectors; (iii) Cloning mediated by DNA topoisomerase, TOPO Cloning; (iv) Cloning by recombination: Gateway and Golden Gate Assembly systems; 2) Genetic transformation of plants (leaf disks and protoplasts) and animals (Prof. Furini). 3) Bacteriophage λ, Cosmids, BAC, YAC, genomic libraries and cDNA libraries, transformation of yeast cells; 4) Genomic DNA extraction, plasmid DNA extraction, phage DNA extraction; 5) DNA and genome analysis by hybridization (Southern blotting) and amplification, molecular markers; 6) Sanger DNA sequencing, NGS sequencing and third generation sequencing; genome sequencing and genomics; 7) Random and site specific mutagenesis; 8) Genome editing, CRISPR/Cas9; 9) Forward and reverse genetics to study gene function, gene silencing (Prof. Bellin). 10) RNA extraction and gene expression analysis by Northern blotting, RT-PCR and Real Time RT-PCR; 11) Large-scale expression analysis, transcriptomic platforms based on microarray and RNA-Seq; 12) Reporter genes and their use for functional studies and gene expression analysis; 13) DNA-protein interaction in the regulation of gene expression: chromatin immunoprecipitation (ChIP), shift assay, luciferase assay (Prof. Zenoni) 14) Sub-cellular targeting for recombinant protein production in heterologous systems (comparison between prokaryotic and eukaryotic systems); 15) Description of the systems used to study the sub-cellular localization of a protein; 16) Factors that influence the stability of a protein and its evaluation; 17) Techniques used for the quantification of solubilized proteins (western blot, ELISA, enzymatic assays (Prof. ssa Avesani).
------------------------
MM: laboratorio
------------------------
Preparation of constructs for plant and yeast transformation. Students will clone the GFP gene in a TOPO-cloning vector and subsequently into a Gateway vector by recombination: The gene of interest will be amplified by PCR and cloned in a vector thanks to the activity of the DNA isomerase I. From this construct (entry clone), the gene of interest will be transferred by recombination in two different Gateway vectors (destination vectors), for the expression in plant and yeast. During the procedure, recombinant constructs will be amplified in E. coli and purified by miniprep procedure. Final constructs will be utilized for genetic transformation of plants (Prof. Furini) and yeast in following experience.
Site-specific mutagenesis: planning of the mutagenesis, primer design for mutagenesis, PCR amplification and phosphorylation, ligation and digestion with DpnI for mutagenized plasmid enrichment, transformation of competent cells, recovery and screening of mutant plasmids and validation by evaluation of activity of the expressed protein (Prof. ssa Bellin).
Genomic DNA analysis: genomic DNA extraction. Evaluation of DNA yield and quality based on spectrophotometric analysis and evaluation on agarose gel. Genomic DNA analysis for the presence of trans gene by PCR (Prof.ssa Furini).
Gene expression analysis in a transgenic organism by real-time RT-PCR: Extraction of RNA from the transgenic organism and from the wild type. Evaluation of the quality and quantity of the extracted RNA, treatment with DNAse, reverse transcription and real-time RT-PCR reaction. Evaluation of the different levels of expression of the transgene in the wild type and in the transgenic organism by calculating the deltadeltaCt. Cell isolation from tissue and visualization of protein encoded by reporter gene though optical microscopy.
Total Soluble Protein extraction from leaf tissue and from yeast and quantification. Evaluation of the yields of GFP production in plant systems and in yeast by ELISA and by fluorimetric analysis. (Prof. ssa Broccanello).

Didactic methods

Lectures will be delivered in-person only, without the use of video lectures and online teaching. Those who, due to Covid cannot attend in person (to be demonstrated by presenting the appropriate certificate), will be able to take advantage of the recorded video lectures. To take the examination students are required to attend at least 50% of laboratory lessons.

Learning assessment procedures

The final evaluation will be performed by a written exam, including open and multiple-choice questions concerning both the theory and practical activities. The positive evaluation of the exam concerning the parts given in the first term will be mandatory for assessing the exam of the second term.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Evaluation criteria

Completeness of the content;
competence in the use of the specialized lexicon;
grade of of thirty.

Criteria for the composition of the final grade

The final score will be calculated from the weighted averages of each part, including the evaluation of the laboratory reports.

Exam language

italiano

Type D and Type F activities

Le attività formative in ambito D o F comprendono gli insegnamenti impartiti presso l'Università di Verona o periodi di stage/tirocinio professionale.
Nella scelta delle attività di tipo D, gli studenti dovranno tener presente che in sede di approvazione si terrà conto della coerenza delle loro scelte con il progetto formativo del loro piano di studio e dell'adeguatezza delle motivazioni eventualmente fornite.

 

I semestre From 10/1/20 To 1/29/21
years Modules TAF Teacher
Model organism in biotechnology research D Andrea Vettori (Coordinator)
II semestre From 3/1/21 To 6/11/21
years Modules TAF Teacher
Python programming language D Vittoria Cozza (Coordinator)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
Subject requirements: chemistry and biology D Not yet assigned
Subject requirements: basic mathematics and physics D Not yet assigned
LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinator)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and also via the Univr app.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of thesis proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Il problema della donazione degli organi Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Attendance

As stated in the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2022/2023, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
 


Career management


Student login and resources


Erasmus+ and other experiences abroad