Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2015/2016

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Lezioni 1°-2° semestre Oct 1, 2015 Jun 3, 2016
Lezioni 1° semestre Oct 1, 2015 Dec 11, 2015
Lezioni 2° semestre Feb 22, 2016 Jun 3, 2016
Exam sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE STRAORDINARIA RECUPERO DEBITO DIDATTICO Nov 2, 2015 Nov 30, 2015
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A 15/16 Dec 14, 2015 Dec 18, 2015
PROSEGUIMENTO SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A 15/16 Jan 7, 2016 Feb 19, 2016
SESSIONE ESTIVA LAUREANDI A.A. 15/16 Jun 6, 2016 Jul 15, 2016
SESSIONE ESTIVA A.A.15/16 Jun 6, 2016 Jul 29, 2016
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE A.A.15/16 Sep 1, 2016 Sep 28, 2016
Degree sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A.14/15 Mar 7, 2016 Mar 18, 2016
SESSIONE ESTIVA A.A.15/16 Jul 20, 2016 Jul 29, 2016
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE A.A.15/16 Oct 13, 2016 Oct 28, 2016
Holidays
Period From To
FESTA DI OGNISSANTI Nov 1, 2015 Nov 1, 2015
FESTA DELL'IMMACOLATA CONCEZIONE Dec 8, 2015 Dec 8, 2015
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 23, 2015 Jan 6, 2016
VACANZE DI PASQUA Mar 24, 2016 Mar 29, 2016
FESTA DELLA LIBERAZIONE Apr 25, 2016 Apr 25, 2016
FESTA DEI LAVORATORI May 1, 2016 May 1, 2016
FESTA DEL SANTO PATRONO SAN ZENO May 21, 2016 May 21, 2016
FESTA DELLA REPUBBLICA Jun 2, 2016 Jun 2, 2016
Other Periods
Description Period From To
TIROCINIO TIROCINIO Oct 1, 2015 Sep 30, 2016

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G I L M N P R S T V Z

Albanese Massimo

massimo.albanese@univr.it +39 045 812 4251/4024

Bellavite Paolo

paolo.bellavite@univr.it 0458027554

Bertini Giuseppe

giuseppe.bertini@univr.it 045-802-7682

Bertossi Dario

dario.bertossi@univr.it +39 045 812 4096

Busetto Giuseppe

giuseppe.busetto@univr.it +39 0458027290

Chiamulera Cristiano

cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it +39 045 8027277

D'Agostino Antonio

antonio.dagostino@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

De Franceschi Lucia

lucia.defranceschi@univr.it 0458124918

De Leo Domenico

domenico.deleo@univr.it +39 045 812 4942

De Santis Daniele

daniele.desantis@univr.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4097

Fabene Paolo

paolo.fabene@univr.it 0458027267

Fabrizi Gian Maria

gianmaria.fabrizi@univr.it +39 0458124461

Faccioni Fiorenzo

fiorenzo.faccioni@ospedaleuniverona.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4868

Gerosa Roberto

roberto.gerosa@univr.it 0458124863

Girelli Massimo

massimo.girelli@univr.it +39 0458027106

Girolomoni Giampiero

giampiero.girolomoni@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Gisondi Paolo

paolo.gisondi@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Iacono Calogero

calogero.iacono@univr.it +39 045 812 4412

Lleo'Fernandez Maria Del Mar

maria.lleo@univr.it 045 8027194

Lombardo Giorgio

giorgio.lombardo@univr.it +39 045 812 4867

Maffeis Claudio

claudio.maffeis@univr.it +39 045 812 7664

Majori Silvia

silvia.majori@univr.it +39 045 8027653

Malchiodi Luciano

luciano.malchiodi@univr.it +39 045 812 4855

Manfredi Riccardo

riccardo.manfredi@univr.it +39 045 802 74 89

Marchini Giorgio

giorgio.marchini@univr.it +39 045 812 6140

Marchioni Daniele

daniele.marchioni@univr.it +39 045 812 7669

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it

Menegazzi Marta

marta.menegazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7168

Mottes Monica

monica.mottes@univr.it +39 045 8027 184

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Nocini Pier Francesco

pierfrancesco.nocini@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251

Polati Enrico

enrico.polati@univr.it +39 045 812 7430 - 4311

Romanelli Maria

mariagrazia.romanelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7182

Ruggeri Mirella

mirella.ruggeri@univr.it 0458124953

Salvagno Gian Luca

gianluca.salvagno@univr.it 045 8124308-0456449264

Sartoris Silvia

silvia.sartoris@univr.it 045 8126451

Schweiger Vittorio

vittorio.schweiger@univr.it +39 045 812 4311

Tinazzi Michele

michele.tinazzi@univr.it +39 045 8122601

Trevisiol Lorenzo

lorenzo.trevisiol@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Verlato Giuseppe

giuseppe.verlato@univr.it 045 8027628

Zanolin Maria Elisabetta

elisabetta.zanolin@univr.it +39 045 802 7654

Zerman Nicoletta

nicoletta.zerman@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251 - 4857

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S01530

Coordinatore

Monica Mottes

Credits

8

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/13 - EXPERIMENTAL BIOLOGY

Language

Italian

Period

Lezioni 2° semestre dal Feb 22, 2016 al Jun 3, 2016.

Learning outcomes

To offer the basic knowledge of human biology in an evolutionary perspective, underlying the molecular and cellular
processes shared by all living organisms.
To encourage students to critically evaluate experimental data by illustrating prime experiments of the past and
contemporary biology.
To describe the following processes: duplication, transmission, expression of the hereditary information; how changes arise
To describe the hierarchy of master genes involved in tooth development and their interactions.
To offer an updated information about the recombinant DNA technology and its applications to dentistry
To teach the genetic bases of inherited diseases and how to interpret their modes of transmission
To illustrate in particular various genetic conditions affecting dental health

Program

The Darwinian vision of the living world. Unity in the variety of life. The molecular principles of evolution
 Biological macromolecules. Hypotheses on life’s origin
 Evolution of eukaryotic cells. From unicellular to multicellular organisms
 Cell reproduction (Mitosis and Meiosis)
The informational flow: from DNA to RNA to peptides. The regulation of gene expression
 Genomes plasticity and their changes. Mutational mechanisms, mutagens, DNS repair systems
Somatic mutations and cancer; mutations and ageing
 Genetic determination of sex (Y and X chromosomes); normal human karyotype, examples of aneuploidies
Developmental biology; model organisms
Mendel’s laws about genetic transmission of characters; gene association and recombination
Medelian inheritance in men; selected examples of genetic diseases and their modes of inheritance
Post-mendelian genetics
Allelic and genotypic frequencies in populations (HW equilibrium)

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Reece Urry Cain Wasserman Minorsky Jackson Campbell Biologia e Genetica (Edizione 1) Pearson 2015 9788865189320

Examination Methods

Written test (multiple choice quizzes plus open questions) followed by an oral examination

Teaching materials

Free choice courses

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation


Gestione carriere


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.