Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
1° Periodo di lezioni Oct 1, 2013 Dec 13, 2013
Periodo riservato ad eventuali recuperi di lezioni - dicembre 2013 Dec 14, 2013 Dec 17, 2013
2° Periodo di lezioni - febbraio/aprile Feb 11, 2014 Apr 14, 2014
2° Periodo di lezioni - aprile/maggio Apr 23, 2014 May 6, 2014
Periodo riservato ad eventuali recuperi di lezioni - maggio 2014 May 7, 2014 May 9, 2014
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione straordinaria 13/14 - studenti f.c. - dicembre 2013 Dec 18, 2013 Dec 21, 2013
1° appello - Sessione invernale 13/14 Jan 7, 2014 Jan 13, 2014
2° appello - Sessione invernale 13/14 Feb 4, 2014 Feb 10, 2014
Sessione straordinaria 13/14 - studenti f.c. - aprile 2014 Apr 15, 2014 Apr 17, 2014
1° appello - Sessione estiva 13/14 May 12, 2014 May 17, 2014
2° appello - Sessione estiva 13/14 Jun 9, 2014 Jun 14, 2014
3° appello - Sessione estiva 13/14 Jul 7, 2014 Jul 12, 2014
1° appello - Sessione autunnale 13/14 Sep 1, 2014 Sep 6, 2014
2° appello - Sessione autunnale 13/14 Sep 24, 2014 Sep 30, 2014
Degree sessions
Session From To
Termine presentazione tesi di laurea - settembre 2013 Sep 27, 2013 Sep 27, 2013
Sessione autunnale 13/14 Oct 21, 2013 Oct 22, 2013
Termine presentazione tesi di laurea - gennaio 2014 Jan 10, 2014 Jan 10, 2014
Sessione invernale 13/14 Feb 3, 2014 Feb 3, 2014
Termine presentazione tesi di laurea - febbraio 2014 Feb 28, 2014 Feb 28, 2014
Sessione invernale 13/14 - marzo 2014 Mar 24, 2014 Mar 26, 2014
Termine presentazione tesi di laurea - giugno 2014 Jun 9, 2014 Jun 9, 2014
Sessione estiva 13/14 Jul 3, 2014 Jul 4, 2014
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2013 Nov 1, 2013
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2013 Dec 8, 2013
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 22, 2013 Jan 6, 2014
VACANZE DI PASQUA Apr 18, 2014 Apr 22, 2014
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2014 Apr 25, 2014
Festa dei lavoratori May 1, 2014 May 1, 2014
Festa del S. Patrono S. Zeno May 21, 2014 May 21, 2014
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2014 Jun 2, 2014

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Law Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N O P R S T V Z

Alberti Giovanni Battista

giovanni.alberti@univr.it

Baruffi Maria Caterina

mariacaterina.baruffi@univr.it

Bercelli Jacopo

jacopo.bercelli@univr.it +39 045 8028820

Butturini Daniele

daniele.butturini@univr.it +39 045 8028882

Calafà Laura

laura.calafa@univr.it +39 045 8028837

Caprara Andrea

andrea.caprara@univr.it 39 045 8028819

Catalano Stefano

stefano.catalano@univr.it 0458028808

Ciampi Annalisa

annalisa.ciampi@univr.it 045 802 8061

Comotti Giuseppe

giuseppe.comotti@univr.it +39 045 8028834

Cordiano Alessandra

alessandra.cordiano@univr.it +39 045 8028841
foto,  July 23, 2015

Dalla Massara Tommaso

tommaso.dallamassara@univr.it +39 045 8028810

De Leo Domenico

domenico.deleo@univr.it +39 045 812 4942

Duret Paolo

paolo.duret@univr.it 0458028873

Faccioli Mirko

mirko.faccioli@univr.it +39 045 8028879

Ferri Giampietro

giampietro.ferri@univr.it +39 045 8028843

Flor Roberto

roberto.flor@univr.it +39 045 8028899

Fuselli Stefano

stefano.fuselli@univr.it +39 045 8028875

Gottardi Donata

donata.gottardi@univr.it +39 045 8028866

Leardini Chiara

chiara.leardini@univr.it 045 802 8222

Ligugnana Giovanna

giovanna.ligugnana@univr.it +39 045 8028892

Lorenzetto Elisa

elisa.lorenzetto@univr.it +39 045 8028821

Maggi Rita

rita.maggi@univr.it

Menon Martina

martina.menon@univr.it

Meruzzi Giovanni

giovanni.meruzzi@univr.it +39 045 8028815

Messina Sebastiano Maurizio

sebastianomaurizio.messina@univr.it 045 802 8052

Milano Enrico

enrico.milano@univr.it +39 045 8028836

Moro Sergio

sergio.moro@univr.it +39 045 8028857

Nadalet Sylvain Giovanni

sylvain.nadalet@univr.it +39 045 8028848

Nicolini Matteo

matteo.nicolini@univr.it +39 045 8028893

Omodei Sale' Riccardo

riccardo.omodeisale@univr.it 045 802 8855

Onniboni Claudia

claudia.onniboni@univr.it +39 045 8028809

Ortino Matteo

matteo.ortino@univr.it +39 045 8028830
fotoPubblica,  July 17, 2018

Patrono Paolo

paolo.patrono@univr.it +39 045 8028813

Pedrazza Gorlero Cecilia

cecilia.pedrazzagorlero@univr.it +39 045 8028850

Pelloso Carlo

carlo.pelloso@univr.it +39 045 8028826

Peruzzi Marco

marco.peruzzi@univr.it 045 8028838

Picotti Lorenzo

lorenzo.picotti@univr.it +39 045 8028861

Presutti Adonella

adonella.presutti@univr.it +39 045 8028835

Ragno Francesca

francesca.ragno@univr.it +39 045 8028898

Reggio Federico

federico.reggio@univr.it

Roffia Paolo

paolo.roffia@univr.it 045 802 8012

Rossi Giovanni

giovanni.rossi@univr.it +39 045 8028840

Saraceno Melchiorre

melchiorre.saraceno@univr.it 045596088

Spiller Cristina

cristina.spiller@univr.it +39 045 802 8871

Strano Silvana

silvana.stranoligato@univr.it +39 045 8028856

Tedoldi Alberto Maria

alberto.tedoldi@univr.it 3471567494

Tescaro Mauro

mauro.tescaro@univr.it 045 802 8880

Tincani Chiara

chiara.tincani@univr.it +39 045 8028896

Tomazzoli Claudio

claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Torsello Marco

marco.torsello@univr.it +39 045 8028881

Troiano Stefano

stefano.troiano@univr.it +39 045 8028817

Velo Dalbrenta Daniele

daniele.velodalbrenta@univr.it +39 045 8028833

Veronesi Marcella

marcella.veronesi@univr.it 045 802 8025
foto,  February 15, 2016

Zini Francesco

francesco.zini@univr.it +39 045 8028883

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Un insegnamento a scelta tra i seguenti
Un insegnamento a scelta tra i seguenti
6
A
IUS/18
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
B
IUS/12
Un insegnamento a scelta tra i seguenti

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Un insegnamento a scelta tra i seguenti
Un insegnamento a scelta tra i seguenti
6
A
IUS/18

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
IUS/01
6
B
IUS/12
Un insegnamento a scelta tra i seguenti

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S001174

Coordinatore

Lorenzo Picotti

Credits

6

Also offered in courses

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

IUS/17 - CRIMINAL LAW

Period

2° periodo di lezioni - aprile/maggio 2017, 2° periodo di lezioni - febbraio/aprile 2017

Learning outcomes

The course entirely in English aims to provide the conceptual, methodological and cultural basis, necessary to address extremely actual and in constant evolution topics concerning, first of all, “international criminal law” strictu sensu. In particular, the so called “international crimes”, their origin and the different categories (war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide, crime of aggression) will be analyzed in light of the principle of individual criminal responsibility, provided by the Statutes of the International Tribunals and concretely applied. The jurisprudence of the permanent International Criminal Court (ICC), established by the Rome Statute of 1998, as well as the most relevant decisions of the Nuremberg and Tokyo International Military Tribunals (IMT and IMTFE), the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) and the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR), will be the object of a deep analysis.
The course will focus also on matters of “European criminal law”, this being understood as both the areas of criminal jurisdiction explicitly attributed to the European Union (arts. 83, 86 and 325 TFEU), of which some harmonization and cooperation instruments will be considered (in particular in the field of cybercrime and copyright, trafficking in human beings and illegal immigration, child pornography); and the system of the protection of fundamental rights under the European Convention on Human Rights, especially with regard to the obligations of penal protection weighing on the national judicial systems (e.g. prohibition of torture and inhuman and degrading treatment).
Therefore, the aim of the course is that of making the students aware of the supranational dimension of criminal law, whose importance is already in these days fundamental and cannot be in any way underestimate, in particular in the future perspectives.
Last but not least, the use of English allows the students to acquire the ability to use a correct and appropriate language and to access to the relevant legal sources and case law in the original language. English is the language used by the entire international community to communicate.

Program

The course is divided in the following three didactic units:

1. Origin and evolution of international criminal law strictu sensu from the creation of the International Criminal Tribunals of Nuremberg and Tokyo (IMT and IMTFE) to the establishment, with the Rome Statute, of the permanent International Criminal Court (ICC); analysis of the international crimes, with specific regard to the crimes within the jurisdiction of the ICC (war crimes, crimes against humanity, genocide, crime of aggression); analysis of the legal tools and case law on the principle of individual criminal responsibility for international crimes (with particular attention to arts. 25, 28, 30 of the Rome Statute).

2. National criminal law and European criminal law: evolution and process of “Europeanisation” of criminal law; role of the jurisprudence of the European Court of Justice; Lisbon Treaty and the new explicit penal competences of the European Union in the fight against transnational crimes (child pornography, trafficking of human beings, illegal immigration, cybercrime, terrorism, etc.) and in the assurance of effectiveness to the European policies (financial market regulation and environmental protection); penal protection of the European financial interests; establishment of an European Public Prosecutor.

3. The protection of the Fundamental Rights: role of the Council of Europe and function of the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR); relations between ECHR case law and national penal jurisdictions; the obligations of penal protection weighing on the national judicial systems (e.g. the prohibition of torture and inhuman and degrading treatment).


Teaching methods
The teaching methods used for attending and non-attending students are different.
For the students who will attend the course, the didactic methods will consist in lectures given by the professors on the most important and relevant topics of “international criminal law” strictu sensu, “European criminal law” and “the protection of human rights”. During the lessons the students will be provided with the key categories and tools to deeply understand the subject, extremely actual and in constant evolution. The teaching will be integrated by specific workshops using as support the most crucial and actual decisions. Furthermore, specific works, doctrinal articles and judgments will be published and made available on line, through the e-learning platform.
With regards to the students who will not attend the course, the study of the recommended books will be integrated thanks to the support of the professors. They will update the students on specific novelties (case law - legislation) through specific communications available on line. Please note that with online registration also non-attending students may have access to the e-learning platform.
During the entire academic year all the students will have the possibility to contact the professors and to meet them during the specific time dedicated to them and indicated on the Department’s website.

Recommended books
For the students who have attended the course it is sufficient the collection of materials provided by the professors during the course (International Criminal Law - Course materials 2017), available also on the University platform e-learning, which contains a collection of sources of law, legal tools, case law and doctrinal articles on specific topics analyzed during the lessons.

For non-attending students, the recommended books are:

- H. SATZGER, International and European Criminal Law, C. H. Beck, München, 2012 (pages to be arranged with the professors);

or, as an alternative on the first part of the course,

- G. WERLE & F. JESSBERGER, Principles of International Criminal Law, 3rd ed., Oxford University Press, 2014 (pages to be arranged with the professors).

The regular consultation of the legal tools is recommended. In particular, please, consult the texts of the ICC, ICTY and ICTR Statutes, the European treaties, the European convention of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, and the case law in the parts of interest, available on the websites specifically indicated by the professors.

Examination Methods

The exam will be in English. The students who have attended the course and wish to deepen their study on a particular subject, agreed with the professors during the course or workshops, have the possibility to present a short paper on specific topics analyzed during the course, object of the oral interview directed to verify the knowledge achieved. In alternative, the exam will consist of a written test followed by an oral interview.

The exam has the goals to verify the following elements:
-depth and extent of the knowledge achieved;
-language properties;
-ability to connect in a systematic way the knowledge achieved;
-analytical and argumentative skills.

The evaluation runs on a scale from 0 to 30 (successful completion of the examination starts from 18)

Teaching materials

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Student mentoring


Internships

Internships are aimed at enabling students to gain direct knowledge of the world of work and to acquire specific professional skills.

Internships are carried out under the responsibility of an individual lecturer, and can be carried out in professional firms, public administration bodies and companies recognised by the University of Verona.

Any CFU credits gained by doing internships will be recognised and recorded by the University in accordance with the relevant University regulations in force (Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari).

For further information on internships, please go to: https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.


Language skills


Dissertation


Graduation


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti