Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2019/2020

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva di laurea Jul 17, 2020 Jul 17, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea Oct 13, 2020 Oct 13, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea - Dicembre Dec 9, 2020 Dec 9, 2020
Sessione invernale di laurea Mar 10, 2021 Mar 10, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N P R S T U V Z

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Astegno Alessandra

alessandra.astegno@univr.it 045802 7955

Badino Massimiliano

massimiliano.badino@univr.it +39 045 802 8459

Ballottari Matteo

matteo.ballottari@univr.it 045 802 7098

Bassi Roberto

roberto.bassi@univr.it 045 802 7916; Lab: 045 802 7915

Bellin Diana

diana.bellin@univr.it 045 802 7090

Bettinelli Marco Giovanni

marco.bettinelli@univr.it 045 802 7902

Bolzonella David

david.bolzonella@univr.it 045 802 7965

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Cecconi Daniela

daniela.cecconi@univr.it +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

roberto.chignola@univr.it 045 802 7953

Crimi Massimo

massimo.crimi@univr.it 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dall'Osto Luca

luca.dallosto@univr.it +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Di Pierro Alessandra

alessandra.dipierro@univr.it +39 045 802 7971

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Frison Nicola

nicola.frison@univr.it 045 802 7965

Furini Antonella

antonella.furini@univr.it 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Guardavaccaro Daniele

daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it +39 045 802 7903

Lampis Silvia

silvia.lampis@univr.it 045 802 7095

Marino Valerio

valerio.marino@univr.it 0458027227

Molesini Barbara

barbara.molesini@univr.it 045 802 7550

Munari Francesca

francesca.munari@univr.it +39 045 802 7906

Nardon Chiara

chiara.nardon@univr.it

Pandolfini Tiziana

tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it 045 802 7918

Romeo Alessandro

alessandro.romeo@univr.it +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Simonato Barbara

barbara.simonato@univr.it +39 045 802 7832; Lab. 7960

Speghini Adolfo

adolfo.speghini@univr.it +39 045 8027900

Torriani Sandra

sandra.torriani@univr.it 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

stefano.ugel@univr.it 045-8126451
Foto personale,  July 18, 2012

Vallini Giovanni

giovanni.vallini@univr.it 045 802 7098; studio dottorandi: 045 802 7095

Vettori Andrea

andrea.vettori@univr.it 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

nicola.vitulo@univr.it 0458027982

Zapparoli Giacomo

giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it +390458027047

Zenoni Sara

sara.zenoni@univr.it 045 802 7941

Zipeto Donato

donato.zipeto@univr.it +39 045 802 7204

Zoccatelli Gianni

gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7952

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(BIO/04)
9
A
(CHIM/06)
6
A
(FIS/07)
English B1
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02696

Credits

12

Coordinatore

Paola Dominici

Also offered in courses

The teaching is organized as follows:

Biochimica e biochimica analitica: biochimica

Credits

8

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

Paola Dominici

Biochimica e biochimica analitica: biochimica analitica

Credits

4

Period

See the unit page

Academic staff

See the unit page

Learning outcomes

Biochemistry is a branch of life sciences which deals with the study of chemical reactions and their organization in living cells and organisms. It takes into account the studies related to the nature of the chemical constituents of living matter, their transformations in biological systems and the energy changes associated with these transformations. Students will be guided through the course to under-stand the relationships between structure and function of macromolecules, and the regulatory strate-gies, with particular focus on metabolic pathways. The experimental activities are aimed at under-standing the rationale behind the basic biochemical protocols developed to investigate the macromol-ecules and their functions.
The course is designed to provide the basic knowledge of the main biochemical methods used in the separation, identification, characterization and analysis of biomolecules, with particular reference to strategies applied to the study of proteins.

Program

------------------------
MM: BIOCHIMICA E BIOCHIMICA ANALITICA: BIOCHIMICA
------------------------
Chemistry of biomolecules with emphasis on the bioenergetics and control of metabolic pathways via regulation of specific enzymes. Specific Coverage: I. Proteins, protein structure and mechanism. II. Enzyme mechanism and Enzyme kinetics III. Metabolism: Carbohydrates, conversion of sugars, anaerobic and aerobic metabolism. Fat catabolism. Amino acid degradation. IV. Anabolic Pathways: Carbohydrates, fats and lipids, amino acids and steroids. V. DNA replication.
Formulas for all metabolic pathways.
------------------------
MM: BIOCHIMICA E BIOCHIMICA ANALITICA: BIOCHIMICA ANALITICA
------------------------
Purificazione delle proteine Proprietà ioniche di amminoacidi e proteine. Punto isoelettrico. Preparazione del campione. Metodi di rottura delle cellule e produzione degli estratti grezzi iniziali. Metodi di solubilizzazione delle proteine. Tamponi salini. Tecniche di frazionamento e precipitazione. Filtrazione, dialisi, concentrazione del campione. Tecniche spettroscopiche. Proprietà della radiazione elettromagnetica. Interazione luce-materia. Stati e processi coinvolti nei fenomeni di assorbimento, emissione e decadimento. Spettroscopia di assorbimento nell’ultravioletto e nel visibile. Aspetti qualitativi e quantitativi dell'assorbimento della luce. Metodi colorimetrici e spettroscopici applicati alla determinazione della concentrazione proteica. Spettrofotometri. Spettroscopia di emissione e fluorescenza. Fluorofori intrinseci ed estrinseci. Proteine fluorescenti (Green fluorescent protein) Spettrofluorimetri. Fluorescence resonance energy transfer (FRET). Dicroismo circolare. Metodi di centrifugazione. Principi fondamentali della sedimentazione. Tipi di centrifuga. Tipi di rotore. Centrifugazione preparativa: differenziale, in gradiente di densità. Applicazioni pratiche della centrifugazione preparativa e frazionamento subcellulare. Centrifugazione analitica e sue applicazioni. Tecniche cromatografiche. Principi della cromatografia. Il cromatogramma. Parametri che determinano le prestazioni cromatografiche. Equazione di Van Deemter. Cromatografia su colonna: scambio ionico, esclusione molecolare, affinità, interazione idrofobica e loro applicazioni. Tecniche elettroforetiche. Principi generali e mobilità elettroforetica. Materiali di supporto. Elettroforesi di acidi nucleici. Elettroforesi di proteine. SDS PAGE. Elettroforesi in condizioni native. Colorazione delle proteine su gel. Blotting delle proteine (western blotting). Isoelettrofocalizzazione. Elettroforesi capillare. Gel elettroforesi bidimensionale. Laboratorio 1. Determinazione della concentrazione di una proteina incognita tramite assorbimento a 280 nm e tramite metodo colorimetrico Bradford. 2. Determinazione dello spettro d’assorbimento del coenzima piridinico NADH (forma ridotta) e determinazione del coefficiente di estinzione molare del NADPH. 3. Determinazione dei parametri cinetici, costante di Michaelis-Menten e numero di turnover, dell’enzima fosfatasi acida utilizzando il metodo di linearizzazione grafica di Lineweaver-Burk. 4. Determinazione del peso molecolare di una proteina incognita mediante cromatografia ad esclusione molecolare. 5. Separazione di proteine mediante elettroforesi in condizioni denaturanti (SDS-PAGE) seguita dalla visualizzazione delle bande mediante colorazione con Blu di Comassie 6. Trasferimento delle proteine su membrana di nitrocellulosa mediante elettroblotting seguita da immunorivelazione delle proteine per l’identificazione di una o più proteina sfruttando la specificità di legame con un anticorpo (WESTERN BLOT).

Examination Methods

------------------------
MM: BIOCHIMICA E BIOCHIMICA ANALITICA: BIOCHIMICA
------------------------
The aim of the exam is to test the level of knowledge and deepening of the topics of the course program and the reasoning skills developed by the student on issues related to biochemistry. The assessment is expressed in thirtieths (minimum grade 18). Students in Biotechnology: oral examination on the main topics of the course. Students in Bioinformatics: The exam is written and consists of 11 open questions on the main topics (i.e protein structure, metabolisms and regulation, etc) of the course. Each response value can score up to 3.
------------------------
MM: BIOCHIMICA E BIOCHIMICA ANALITICA: BIOCHIMICA ANALITICA
------------------------
L’esame finale (scritto) verterà su tutti gli argomenti del programma. Lo studente dovrà dimostrare di aver compreso e di essere in grado di utilizzare i concetti fondamentali di ogni argomento.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
BERG-TYMOCZKO- STRYER BIOCHIMICA (Edizione 7) ZANICHELLI 2012
R.H.Garret; C.M. Grisham BIOCHIMICA (Edizione 5) Piccin 2014
CAMPBELL M.K. FARRELL S.O. MCDOUGAL M. BIOCHIMICA (Edizione 5) EDISES 2019
GARRET- GRISHAM BIOCHIMICA PICCIN 2014
Dean R. Appling - Spencer J. Anthony-Cahill - Christopher K. Mathews Biochimica Molecole e metabolismo - Con Mastering Chemistry™ Pearson ed. 2017
Loredano Pollegioni FONDAMENTI di BIOCHIMICA (Edizione 1) Edises 2021 9788836230358
M. C. Bonaccorsi di Patti, R. Contestabile, M. L. Di Salvo Metodologie Biochimiche (Edizione 2) Zanichelli 2019

Type D and Type F activities

I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
Model organism in biotechnology research D Andrea Vettori (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/2/20 To 6/12/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Gestione carriere


Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.